We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment facilities, but poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amalfi Holiday Resort
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We (2 adults, 2 children aged 9 and 12) spent 3 nights here. The apartments and the resort grounds are beautiful, and it is a fairly short walk to the town centre. The swimming pool was picturesque and very clean. The apartments are tastefully decorated and spacious.

However, the resort did not appear to us to be well managed. We would have given it a 5/excellent rating but for this.

I made our reservation via booking.com and arrived at the resort at the time we had indicated via booking.com when we made the reservation. There is no reception, all you get to is a green gate at the top of a set of stairs. The gate was locked. There was a buzzer, which I rang, but to no avail. I pleaded with the shopkeeper opposite for help and he managed to push the gate open (with quite a bit of force!). I entered the resort and spoke to some of the guests, but there was no sign of the owners/managers. There was no way of checking in. My family was still in the car which was parked in the midst of a very narrow pedestrianized road.

So we went to lunch down by the port and I managed, with the help of a very kind waiter, to call the owner on her mobile (one of the guests at the resort had given me her number when I broke in). I arranged to meet her in 20 minutes at the front gate of the resort but when I arrived there was nobody there - again!!!

In despair (and with my family parked in the pedestrianized road - again!) , I walked down the street and met Salvatore, the lovely man who manages the car park that the resort uses. He is a great guy. He took our car into the garage where we had prearranged parking (I dread to think of what happens if you haven't prearranged this....). He then took us into the resort and let us into our apartment. That guy deserves a raise - or maybe he should be paid to run the resort as well as the car park.

The owners did eventually turn up later that day, to get our passports and payment.

So in summary this is a really good place to say, well located, and beautiful, but if you do decide to stay here make sure that you have a mobile phone that works in Amalfi, as well as the mobile phone numbers of the managers. As I said above, were it not for this issue I would have rated the resort as a 5.

Also, as a final note, you will need to bring or buy your own soap, there is none provided. And a couple of rolls of toilet paper if you are likely to exhaust the one provided.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here last minute as the hotel we had booked apparently hadn't been booked, doh!

They thankfully were extremely helpful as everyone in southern Italy seems to be and by the time we had walked up the steps to reception had booked us in with these guys just 20 meters away for the same price we were due to pay.

This is more of a place where you stay for more than a few days as the rooms are apartments equipped with kitchens and living rooms. Tastefully decorated and very clean. The pool is a bonus as these are hard to come by in Amalfi.

Suzy and Lino were wonderfully receiving and extremely helpful.

Can't fault it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdAstra80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 4 days in Amalfi attending a family wedding! Apartments perfect for us! 2 family groups. Suzy gave us a lovely welcome. Apartments were spacious, well equipped, cool, central location but not noisy! Swimming pool and outside area topped it off for us. Great to sit with family on terrace areas and boys loved the pool. Would also recommend salvatores taxi service, who collected 9 of us from and to Naples airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grasshoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We chose the Resort as our "rest" end to a three week train jaunt across Europe and were very pleased with the choice.
Most key points have been mentioned. The pool is great, the apartment well equipped and the location fantastic at the top of the main Amalfi street. A welcome bottle of wine was a nice extra touch as was letting us use a spare room to shower after we had formally checked out of ours.
While not the cheapest place to stay, we will certainly consider again if we return to Amalfi.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markadlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had read mixed reviews about the place so were a bit unsure about what we would experience at this resort. It was fantastic with everything working really smoothly. The apartment we had was large, spacious, well appointed and importantly for August had great air conditioning. The swimming pool was a 10 metre walk from our apartment and whilst small provided a great place to cool off when the need arose.

Our initial arrival was a bit messy with noone being there to greet us and us having to leave a message before the lovely Suzy turned up to give us our keys. This was a minor inconvenience in the scheme of things and was forgotten within 10 min of getting into our apartment!

The highlight for us (and this may sound very unusual) was the place we parked our car. It was a garage 30 metres from the apartment and the owner Salvatore was fantastic! He helped us with our luggage when we arrived and during our four day stay was a friendly face to talk to whenever we needed local advice. Salvatore spoke perfect English (10 years in USA) and so was THE person to turn to for any advice (who needs the local tourism office...)

We found Amalfi to be a great location and the resort was located in just the right place away from the major hustle and bustle of the town yet only a 7 min walk to the beach. Driving through the narrow street with pedestrians walking all around to get to the resort was something we will remember also for a long time.

Happily recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing break. We wished we could have stayed longer. We will be returning in the future.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank GaryLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

It was like an oasis in the middle of the Amalfi madness! Granted, you do have to be brave to drive through the pedestrian zone up a narrow street to find the hotel but it's all well worth it when you get there. Make a phone call when you get to the door and the lovely staff will come to greet you. Our 2 bedroom apartment was perfect, fresh and nicely decorated. The master bedroom bed was without question the best I slept on in Italy... and the pool was gorgeous. Just a short walk to all the restaurants and wifi that worked without a hitch. Bravo! I will definately be telling my friends about this resort.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Tazi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We booked this Apartment as we wanted somewhere with a pool and also somewhere with kitchen facilities as it was in the middle of our 10 day stay on the coast. It seemed like a great place for a bit of relaxation away from all the driving and excursions.

When we arrived we parked our car at the underground car park and left it with Salvatore, the lovely owner of the car park, who would look after it for 20EURO a night, good value in my opinion.

We were greeted by Suzi, who was very friendly and showed us to our room. This was lovely, a good size and very clean. There was everything you would need in the kitchen area and a large and immaculate bathroom. We then recieved a knock at the door and the owner (he didnt give us his name) informed us that we had to pay the bill...before we had even unpacked our bags! Compared to other hosts, this was very odd and a bit unwelcoming. He didnt really smile and no small talk was made, he just took the money and left!

After this we had a little explore of the apartment gounds and the pool area which was lovely, with plenty of sunloungers both in the shade and in the sun.

The apartment is perfectly situated just on the edge of Amalfi town, no more that a 3 minute walk into the centre, but just far enough to be quiet at night.

We paid a visit to the little butcher opposite the apartment and got pancetta for breakfast, and mountains of parma ham and mozzarella. He also gave us wine, water and bread for a tiny amount of money, and it was all delicious!

The stay here was lovely, but it was let down by the lack of warmth from the hosts.This may sound odd, but they treated it like a business whereas at the other 3 B&Bs we stayed, we were treated like members of the family. In an area with so many hotels and B&Bs, the little things make all the difference, and this place lacked the little things.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
741 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#23 of 29 in Amalfi
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Holiday Resort

Address: Via M. del Giudice, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Amalfi
Price Range: £65 - £451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amalfi Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amalfi Holiday Resort is the result of the restoration of an old, characteristic Paper Mill in a central position in Amalfi, just a short distance from the Cathedral and the beginning of the Valle delle Ferriere. The Residence has bright, well equipped furnished apartments with pool. They all have air conditioning, TVSAT, ensuite bathrooms with a bath or shower and a Kitchenette, and have been decorated to high quality. Our resort also has exclusive junior suites with esuite bathrooms which come with either a jacuzzi or a shower. The apartments have original beamed ceilings and great care has been taken to preserve original features. The exclusive position right in the heart of Amalfi, guarantees tranquillity and privacy whilst giving you the opportunity to discover the Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amalfi Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing