We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, wonderful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband and I honeymooned here and loved it. The hotel is a little confusing to figure out (we had to take 3 elevators in different areas to get to our room on the 7th floor) but worth it! The hotel is mostly white and beautifully decorated. We loved the walk outside amidst the lemon trees, and the endless pool overlooking the sea.

Everyone was very helpful and friendly and the food was very good. We loved the free breakfast and cappucinos! One of the concierges directed us to the restaurant on the water (basically right under the hotel--can't remember the name), but it was terrible. My fish had way too much oil and was not seasoned at all. It was also the most expensive dining we did in Italy. Use tripadvisor or the guidebooks for restaurants instead.

Otherwise, Amalfi is beautiful but you don't want to drive there. Hire a driver, take a cab or bus!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniellieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
There are newer reviews for NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Il Convento the last week of April. I have heard stories of harrowing drives along the Amalfi coast so we took the concierge's advice to take a taxi from Salerno. The concierge's advice was spot on! While it was an expensive taxi fare (~90EUR), it was worth it! If you can time the ferry schedule right, you could also take the ferry from Salerno to Amalfi which is much less expensive and the views are stunning. The hotel is, if I remember correctly, a converted 13th C monastery. The basic white-washed decor, pale color palette and old pictures of the monastery adorning the walls gives the hotel an austere, relaxing feel. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. The views from our room (401), the Monk's Walk/Terrace and pool were amazing. There were 2 ways to get into Amalfi - a) a walk down ~100 steps from the main entrance and along the marina/ocean or b) a less steep walk along a footpath from the hotel. (The Amalfi coast is not conducive to people with mobility difficulties.) We found that Amalfi was a perfect base for exploring the coast - as a guide book said "Amalfi could be a real town on it's own without tourists". You can walk up to Ravello, get ferries to Positano, Sorrento, and Capri or take buses to any of the other smaller towns. The only recommendation we could make would be a covered section of the terrace/Monk's Walk to allow for outside seating during rain or extreme sun/heat. It rained one of the days we were there and sitting outside under cover with views of the ocean would have been great. GH Convento was a wonderful, relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lkestel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

From the minute we walked in until the time we left, our stay at this hotel was perfect. The views from everywhere in the hotel are breathtaking. The staff was so accomodating and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

If you go to Amalfi, you HAVE to stay here!

It is so incredibly beautiful. It is a perfect mix of history and modern elegance. My wife and I were treated like royalty. Every one of the staff went above and beyond to make our experience there the experience of a life time. And they succeeded.

The food is euphoric. The chef is a genius. It was some of the best food I've had in my life. Easily the best rib steak I've ever had. And the breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip through Italy.

The grounds are so beautiful. Lemon trees everywhere and beautiful lilacs cover almost all of the walkways. And this has to be one of the best views of Amalfi as the entire town spreads out away from you with the sea stretching as far as the eye can see.

I can't say enough good things about our experience there. It was absolutely Heaven on Earth.

Our sincerest thanks to everyone at Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi.

Perfetto. Veramente romatic.The migliori in assoluto!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WayneKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This beautifully restored hotel now has a very modern, clean look with predominately white interiors, fixtures and fittings. Taking advantage of it's breathtaking position on the edge of cliffs overlooking the Amalfi marina and township, the breakfast in the courtyard is simply magical. An enormous spread including fresh fruits, home made cakes, pastries, bruschetta, cheeses, proscuito, yogurts, cereals and freshly squeezed juices can be enjoyed while overlooking the sunrise over the coast. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the town centre and the presence of an outdoor pool (albeit not heated) makes the hotel a suitable choice for families, although the overall feel is more adult oriented.
I loved my stay here and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinCadence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed here with my husband for a week in May on our honeymoon. The first thing that struck me about the place was not the amazing views, the stunning hotel, but the friendliness of the staff.
The hotel itself was totally flawless with epic views over Amalfi and the hotel is in a perfect position to travel to Ravello, Positano, day trip to Capri etc. The food and breakfast are unbeatable. The hotel itself is a museum.
But, I cannot say enough about the staff. Fulvia, the manager, was just a wonderful person and gave the hotel a homely feeling. Roberto the bar manager was wonderful with his recommendations and surprised us night after night with hi cocktail genius. But all the staff were wonderful. They made us feel like we were special and were in a special place at all times.
While you're in Amalfi, you simply MUST eat at da Gemma.
This is a special hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavieP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

After staying in some of the best hotels in the world including supposedly the best in Dubai I can truly say that the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi far surpasses all expectations. It is a truly beautiful building, having encapsulated its spirit whilst providing every guest with superb luxury but, what makes this the best is the Manageress and her fantastic staff. We have stayed in the Santa Christina a few hundred yards along the road (which is supposed to be the best hotel in Amalfi indeed the entire Amalfi coast) and do not find the Convento expensive in comparison indeed, it certainly gives the Santa Christina a run for its money! The Convento's location is much closer to the town and gives you freedom to go out whenever you feel like it. We visit Italy about 3 to 4 times a year, normally to Rome as my son is a professional singer - we will certainly be making the 2 hour journey from Rome to Amalfi to stay at the Convento again next year! All of us cannot rate this hotel highly enough. IT IS A MUST!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozzamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: £185 - £1,616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing