We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

What an amazing hotel, great views over the amalfi coast, fantastic service, the staff were great even offered an upgrade although my error when booking, kid friendly, awesome pool and views to die for. Truly an amazing hotel, loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    124
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
104
604
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a really nice time at this hotel. It's in a wonderful location...you can walk down to the town area within about 5-10 minutes, yet it's perched up high enough to get coastal views and remain quiet and out of the way from the touristic downtown areas. We booked a Junior suite (#711) which had a huge terrace, but it looked like it was in need of some TLC and a facelift. Would have expected more from a Jr. Suite, but it wasn't bad. We had a huge walk in closet which was nice. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and breakfast was ok. The view from the hotel is incredible and in my opinion it's probably the nicest 5 star hotel that is close to town. The rest of them seemed a bit too far to walk. All in all it was a good stay, but I'd try something else next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We loved the Grant Hotel Convento in Amalfi. Perched high on the hilltop with spectacular views - it was a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Amalfi Coast. Minimalist white decor in keeping with the history of a monastery, peaceful cloisters to explore, the monk's walk with pergola and lemon trees along with fabulous food and the infinity pool with views to the horizon and Amalfi harbour below.
As is the case throughout the Amalfi Coast, there was a climb to reach the hotel from the town centre of Amalfi -either along the road to the lift or the more strenuous route which involved many steps and a spectacular cliff side path all the way to the hotel.
The staff were extremely professional and welcoming.
We would definitely recommend this hotel - a touch of class on the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeeTee260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in May 2012 on our Hooneymoon and booked the Junior Suite which was totally under whelming and we upgraded to a Suite room as a result. The Suite was nice but due to the fact that this is not a purpose built hotel it is very noisy and I did not get a decent nights sleep on the first night and first thing in the morning I was asking for a refund and was planning on moving hotels. To their credit they came up with another Suite which has a glass door between the bedroom and the front door to the room and was quiet as a result. The balcony on the second room was also semi private as compared to the first Suite room we stayed in which was in full view of the adjoining rooms balcony.
They rate this hotel as a 5 star which it is not. The breakfast is average at best and as a result we never had dinner there and it appeared that most people that were staying there did the same. It is very close to Amalfi and nicely renovated but there are a number of issues die to the fact that is was never designed to be a hotel including having to change lifts from the road level to the main hotel area, a number of levels with stairs within the hotel and is very noisey due to the fact it has floor tiles and concrete walls everywhere.

Room Tip: If you book a Suite get the one on the end with the glass door between the door to the room and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjs_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Love this hotel. Upgraded to a lovely room with small sitting area and phillipe stark tub. Great location, great concierge in antonella and cool location on the hill. Breakfast was nice, the cloister's are cool, the welcome was enjoyable. Would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Everything was great about this hotel. The staff were very helpful & friendly, the food was excellent - sadly no-one seemed to know about it so we ate on our own. The room was great with plenty of space, a comfortable bed & amazing views of Amalfi (which is the best place to stay on the coast). The hotel is quite austere but is very calming & it has a private walkway directly into Amalfi piazza just a 5 min walk through winding alleyways. It was like a second honeymoon & we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in the very old part of the building & are small so chose a room on the 5t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

This old convent hotel sits on the top of Amalfi with marvellous views of the ocean and lovely terraces. The staff are helpful and friendly. The inside of the hotel also has a lot of character. The rooms are classy and cozy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banerjee_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing