We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi Coast Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Amalfi Coast Jewel”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is a converted monastery (despite the name "Convento") build into the cliffs of Amalfi. Very Ian Schrager-esque in that it is all white simplicity to help you concentrate on the beauty of the surroundings. The public rooms are decorated all white with huge white chandeliers throughout the property. There are bougainvilla covered patios, one of which they set for breakfast. The hotel is on a cliff but you can walk into town in about 5 minutes using stairs. We think the only reason we didn't gain that much weight on this trip is because we also used the stairs back up after dinner in town! Our guestroom had a sitting area, a bedroom (with balcony) with full view of the coast and a bathroom I wanted to take home with me. There is an ancient church on site but it is locked. They will show it to you if you ask (see photos). The staff was incredible, they just couldn't do enough for you. The only issue I had was the internet which you needed a code for every 24 hours (very tedious) and was slow. We heard that this is a problem along the coast but this is an issue the hotel should address. Other than that I give this hotel an A+ and if I ever reincarnate as a monk, I hope it is here.

Room Tip: We had a great room with great views. I read some other reviews and they complained of a noisy room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    129
    38
    20
    11
See reviews for
113
640
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this hotel and it was amazing! The hotel is very beautiful, well decorated and quiet. The views are amazing! You can walk to the main city in 5 minutes. The staff was very helpful and breakfast was great! The only problem we had was the shower in our bathroom that was very bad. I did tell them to please get that fixed before we left. Apart from that, everything was perfect! Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed last May 2012 for our honeymoon. The property was amazing, the staff was amazing, the location was amazing. We still talk 1 year later about how we can't wait to go back to the Grand Covento. We had a lovely room with a balcony that over looked the water. We loved having amazing breakfast everyday under the lemon trees. The pool that overlooked the cliffs was spectacular. We did many day trips to capri, ravello, positano etc. The hotel was great with helping us make all our arrangements. Every time I would show people pictures they thought they were postcards. It was a magical view!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for three nights in a room overlooking the sea. It was beautiful. The room was comfortable, the bathroom huge, and the ambiance excellent.
Breakfast as fantastic, and eating on the porch overlooking the sea was ever memorable.
Most of all was the staff. Warm, friendly, helpful. Would easily stay here again and again if ever we return to Amalfi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrink2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

A simply beautiful hotel with very helpful staff and great breakfast. Sitting on the balcony eating in the sunlight looking over the ocean was breath taking. Staff were happy to organise activities and transfers without any issues. Would stay there again and again! We visited all the towns along the coast and Capri but thought Amalfi was still the best pick. Easy walk to the town for dinner and good service at the beach club.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with a balcony but it was alittle on the small side. The hotel showed me other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

What an amazing hotel, great views over the amalfi coast, fantastic service, the staff were great even offered an upgrade although my error when booking, kid friendly, awesome pool and views to die for. Truly an amazing hotel, loved it!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a really nice time at this hotel. It's in a wonderful location...you can walk down to the town area within about 5-10 minutes, yet it's perched up high enough to get coastal views and remain quiet and out of the way from the touristic downtown areas. We booked a Junior suite (#711) which had a huge terrace, but it looked like it was in need of some TLC and a facelift. Would have expected more from a Jr. Suite, but it wasn't bad. We had a huge walk in closet which was nice. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and breakfast was ok. The view from the hotel is incredible and in my opinion it's probably the nicest 5 star hotel that is close to town. The rest of them seemed a bit too far to walk. All in all it was a good stay, but I'd try something else next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfgirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , NHHotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing