We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Father's Monastery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Not Your Father's Monastery”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We were blown away by super-chic Grand Hotel Il Convento. This real-life 13th century monastery had been an important fixture in the history of Amalfi for hundreds of years and then run as a grand hotel for more than a century, until new owners and management came in and gave this historic site a bottom-to-top 21st century makeover. Now, the white-washed walls of the historic building are complimented by all-white furnishings and flax-colored linen accents, from the street level entry all the way up to the top floor dining room and right through to the cliff-hugging guest rooms. The hotel looks like it could walk down a Milan runway and certainly could serve as the backdrop for any fashion shoot!

How many hotels boast their own cloister, vine-clad arbor and functioning church? Add in the spectacular cliffside views of Amalfi from every angle and you’ll be hard pressed to want to leave.

We had a very interesting suite, consisting of three rooms (probably each originally a monk’s cell) on three levels, each separated by only a couple of steps – a living room, a bedroom and a killer bathroom with a huge white ceramic free-standing bathtub and a gigantic walk-in shower with a window looking out to the sea. As noted, the white-and-flax color scheme continued in the guest rooms. Rather than looking bland or austere, it was really quite hip – SoBe meets Amalfi.

The staff of the hotel could not be nicer or more helpful, with excellent dinner and touring suggestions. They even gave us a private tour of the hotel church (which is kept locked for preservation purposes). The hotel offers a shuttle into town on the hour, but we quickly realized that we could walk into town on the main road (not recommended according to the doorman because of traffic) or down a flight of public stairs from street level to the marina and then a mere three blocks to the center of town. The stairs were not difficult at all (in either direction) and became our preferred way to have the freedom to come and go as we pleased without having to rely on the shuttle. But for those not so inclined, it is nice that the service is offered.

But there were also some glitches, especially the Internet. There seems to be a regional problem with the speed of the Internet because of interference from the mountains that surround the Amalfi Coast. But the hotel also requires going to the front desk to get new codes and signing back in every 24 hours and if you’re in the middle of work (as I was one day) when that 24-hour mark is reached, you are thrown out, you of course lose all your work and, in my case, a very important Skype call was dropped. That issue is separate from whether the Internet is slow and the hotel really needs to improve this part of its Internet service. Additionally, on the last morning, for some reason, the hotel (or at least the guest rooms) had no hot water. We thought the front desk’s reaction to the inconvenience was just a bit indifferent, which stood in stark contrast to the attentiveness to everything else. When one is paying over 700 Euros a night, something needs to be done when you can't shave, shower or wash. I'd also note that the spa treatments were not particularly good, with a massage that I could not wait to end.

Notwithstanding those issues, in the big picture, this hotel is fantastic. We are glad that the “great” hotels in Positano were booked because otherwise we would not have had a chance to stay at this “back-up” hotel. It will never be just a “back up” again!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are sea-view but it is essential and worth the already high prices to pay extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    135
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
120
656
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bel-Air CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have recently returned from our second annual vacation to the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi. We returned to this jewel of Amalfi, an intimate World Class hotel and now consider it our new home-away-from-home!

Our return to the Convento was once again to celebrate our anniversary, and our second visit was every bit as special and memorable as our first Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi encounter and impression!

In fact, and in many ways, an even better Convento! We were always greeted with the “can do” attitude, beaming smiles and warm welcomes from morning to evening. The extraordinary courtesies extended by all is the “it factor” that will have us returning once again in 2014. Our expectations were exceeded on virtually every lever, from the preparation for our arrival, to our arrival, our two-week stay through to our depararture.

Every member of the staff at the Convento went beyond the call of duty with regard to each and every aspect of our stay. They know Amalfi and the surrounding areas better than anyone and provide the best recommendations for sites, restuarants ( although Chef Alberto at the Convento is one of the best and deserving of a Michelin!) as well as all the ins and outs of Amalfi either by boat, car or bus. The front desk staff of Antonio, Antonella Flora, Delfina will provide you with all you need.

The dining experiences at the Convento, whether inside the main dining room, outside patio or by the pool you can expect the exacting service we have come to appreciate. The culinary experiences by Chef Alberto are among the best we experience on the Amalfi Coast bar none!

The dining room staff headed by Maitre` d' Massimo along with the best Waiters anywhere, Be sure to visit with them all (Alfonso, Paolo, Francesco, Roberto, Giuseppe, Gaetano, Alessandra, Valentina, Federica, Antonio, Christian ) as THEY will make your experience memorable.

Excellence is a term used today by many in their marketing and promotion, and one that many fall short of performing from the beginning. This could not be further from the case at the Convento where every employee performed beyond expectation! Excellence Unparalleled!

We attribute all of these high standards of excellence by all of the Convento team which begins and ends with the exceptional Ms. Fulvia Clapier, the director of the Convento, where excellence has been defined, not an act, but a habit. Without exception, Director Fluvia Clapier and her extraordinary staff created an amazing ambiance which we did not think could be improved upon – however, it has and on every level.

The dining/service environment at breakfast, lunch and dinner, to the front desk, room attendants, and shuttle/parking attendants-- each and every one demonstrated a level of competence, excellence, dedication and courtesy rare in today’s machine-driven world.

And all with a marvelous attitude!

We can not wait to return and are already are making plans.

In short. If you miss this experience and it is an experience you will have missed something very special.

Room Tip: With regard to selection of a room, be sure to discuss all your preferences well prior to making you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveinBel-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

A converted monastery, perched on the cliffs of Amalfi - just a beautiful location! We were married in the chapel and enjoyed our stay in the honeymoon suite where we had a huge balcony to enjoy the Meditteranean coast and views from all of Amalfi. We loved the hotel, the staff was amazing and service was perfect. You can walk to the city area in minutes and get an exquisite view the entire way. I can't say enough about the hotel and Amalfi - we will return some day. We saw other hotels but this was by far my favorite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rania_ucf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
392 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This hotel is a converted monastery (despite the name "Convento") build into the cliffs of Amalfi. Very Ian Schrager-esque in that it is all white simplicity to help you concentrate on the beauty of the surroundings. The public rooms are decorated all white with huge white chandeliers throughout the property. There are bougainvilla covered patios, one of which they set for breakfast. The hotel is on a cliff but you can walk into town in about 5 minutes using stairs. We think the only reason we didn't gain that much weight on this trip is because we also used the stairs back up after dinner in town! Our guestroom had a sitting area, a bedroom (with balcony) with full view of the coast and a bathroom I wanted to take home with me. There is an ancient church on site but it is locked. They will show it to you if you ask (see photos). The staff was incredible, they just couldn't do enough for you. The only issue I had was the internet which you needed a code for every 24 hours (very tedious) and was slow. We heard that this is a problem along the coast but this is an issue the hotel should address. Other than that I give this hotel an A+ and if I ever reincarnate as a monk, I hope it is here.

Room Tip: We had a great room with great views. I read some other reviews and they complained of a noisy room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this hotel and it was amazing! The hotel is very beautiful, well decorated and quiet. The views are amazing! You can walk to the main city in 5 minutes. The staff was very helpful and breakfast was great! The only problem we had was the shower in our bathroom that was very bad. I did tell them to please get that fixed before we left. Apart from that, everything was perfect! Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simoniinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed last May 2012 for our honeymoon. The property was amazing, the staff was amazing, the location was amazing. We still talk 1 year later about how we can't wait to go back to the Grand Covento. We had a lovely room with a balcony that over looked the water. We loved having amazing breakfast everyday under the lemon trees. The pool that overlooked the cliffs was spectacular. We did many day trips to capri, ravello, positano etc. The hotel was great with helping us make all our arrangements. Every time I would show people pictures they thought they were postcards. It was a magical view!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed for three nights in a room overlooking the sea. It was beautiful. The room was comfortable, the bathroom huge, and the ambiance excellent.
Breakfast as fantastic, and eating on the porch overlooking the sea was ever memorable.
Most of all was the staff. Warm, friendly, helpful. Would easily stay here again and again if ever we return to Amalfi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shrink2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, NHHotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing