We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel, breathtaking views, fabulous staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, breathtaking views, fabulous staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Husband and I spent 5 nights here in late April and had a wonderful time. Staff (and general manager in particular) are friendly and helpful, proximity to town (Amalfi) just 5-10 min walk and the views of the cliffs, ocean and town are spectacular.

Rooms are clean but small, spa services good but not great, breakfasts exquisite! Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Some bathrooms are VERY small (door hits toilet when open) but there are other bathrooms (within sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank world_spirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    124
    37
    20
    11
See reviews for
104
604
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just come back from 5 nights at Convento di Amalfi with mixed feelings. First, the location is stunning, set above the village of Amalfi with fabulous views over the harbour and coast.

We ate there the first night and the food was good, as was the service. Breakfast was good, but repetitive after the first three days, but then breakfast buffets always are.

What was disappointing was that the hotel lacked any ambience. We went out every night (bar the first) because there was no where we felt comfortable just to read or play Scrabble after dinner. There are two reading rooms, but both just feel sterile, which is pretty hard considering the history that the building has.

The furniture in our room was plain tacky; like something out of IKEA, not at all suited to a 5* hotel. The room was clean, but the floor was covered in scuff marks from heels and suitcases; again not what you expect. The A/C was off and I was told that it couldn't be turned on as it was still set to heating. This was unfortunate as the room got very hot and muggy during the day, which meant we had to sleep with the balcony door open to get some air circulating and were bitten by something one night.

As for the staff, the waiters and bar staff were excellent, but the front desk need promptly to forget the rubbish they must have been taught on some American hotel course and behave as themselves. I bit my tongue and did not get annoyed when told, having arrived at the ferry dock and phoned to ask directions, that we'd just missed the shuttle bus and that the next wouldn't be for two hours. That's not what you expect from a hotel of any quality, especially when its literally two minutes drive away. I was also more that a trifle put off by having a NH hotels loyalty programme thrust at me as soon as we checked in. No chance of me staying with that chain again if I can help it; anywhere.

Our feeling is that Convento di Amalfi has spent too much effort doing everything that ticks the boxes to get an American hospitality diamond award (there are three on the wall), and in doing some has forgotten (or been forced to set aside) the spontaneous hospitality that the Italians offer without thinking.

So, go for the comfort and location - it's very handy for Amalfi itself - but realise that you're not going to an Italian hotel, you're going to an American transplant. You'll love the place if that's what you're use to/ looking for, but it's not for everyone.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms (at least those with a private patio) have flat roofs as seem to heat up very quickl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaiusScotius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location is breathtaking to the senses.... All the staff were friendly and smiled but for close to $1000 CDN per night I would like a fresh bar of soap each day and both bathrooms cleaned daily. I had to ask 4 times to get a new bar of soap :( On my last request I said, "what do I need to do to get a bar of soap around here?" Such small things like can ruin the experience... Daily cleaning of the room was below average...

We stayed 4 nights, had one dinner there it was excellent :) but we were one of two couples dining that late and of the three waiters that were there...they were un attentive :(

Breakfast was good the first time, ok the second time, redundant the third time and lost its appeal the fourth time

Would I go back... Maybe after trying one of the other 5 star hotels in the area

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CANADIANOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

All excellent. Room 29 has 2 balconies..constant vista. Best location..downhill to Amalfi..downhill to Atrano.Breakfast nice. Dinner at restaurant was superb. Excellent staff hotel and restaurant.
Avoid Capri..take bus to Ravello for better view then hike down to Atrani

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon. The setting is beautiful and you cannot beat the views from the terrace over breakfast (which is incredible). We had a really fantastic meal in the restaurant - the food was exquisite - and the service probably the best we had in Italy.

Our room was quite compact, but it was stylishly decorated and had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. The shower temperature was a bit irregular and it did leak over the floor unless it was carefully directed. For me the most disappointing thing was the fact we were on honeymoon was completely unacknowledged (even though we made a note on the booking) - a congratulations would have been nice!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We loved Amalfi and this hotel was the highlight of our honeymoon. This beautifully decorated hotel had amazing views and so much history! It was built in the 13th Century and was originally a monastery. We had also visited Capri and Praiano but Amalfi was our favorite. The service was excellent. We also loved the Turkish Bath at their Spa and they had an amazing shower in our room. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon, in one of the superior rooms with a balcony overlooking the stunning Amalfi coastline. As it was our honeymoon, the hotel supplied a complimentary bottle of Prosecco upon arrival.

I'd recommend this hotel to anybody looking for high class surroundings in a tastefully renovated hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.5 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing