We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Nearby Hotels
US$417
US$302
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Lara(Amalfi)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$339
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
US$449
US$423
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel la Bussola(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
US$322
US$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$249
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
US$255
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$838
US$786
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sharon House(Amalfi)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveller rating
829
148
43
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
829
148
43
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolour honeymoonconverted monasterywelcome drinkamazing viewsstunning hotelthe clifffive star hotelperched highterrace overlookingstreet levelwalk into townevery hourthe hotel offersjunior suitepastriessea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
492 - 497 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The views from the hotel room are great and overlook the Amalfi coast. The location is great. Its just a short walk to the ocean and to the center part of the Amalfi center. And there are buses and boats that leave from Amalfi to all over Italy. Great place to use to explore all the surrounding areas. The breakfast in the morning is great and can be enjoyed inside or on a balcony overseeing the Amalfi coast. The hotel itself is really big and given that it used to be a Convent it is very rustic and minimalist in nature. At night the hallways can be empty and a little scary. The rooms are kept clean, good size and very modern. Its a bit pricey per night for what you get, but overall its a solid hotel to stay at for a couple of days to explore the area. The local restaurant La Trattoria Gemma serves some amazing food. Cheers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Husband and I spent 5 nights here in late April and had a wonderful time. Staff (and general manager in particular) are friendly and helpful, proximity to town (Amalfi) just 5-10 min walk and the views of the cliffs, ocean and town are spectacular.

Rooms are clean but small, spa services good but not great, breakfasts exquisite! Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Some bathrooms are VERY small (door hits toilet when open) but there are other bathrooms (within same price range) that are larger. Request that.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_spirit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We have just come back from 5 nights at Convento di Amalfi with mixed feelings. First, the location is stunning, set above the village of Amalfi with fabulous views over the harbour and coast.

We ate there the first night and the food was good, as was the service. Breakfast was good, but repetitive after the first three days, but then breakfast buffets always are.

What was disappointing was that the hotel lacked any ambience. We went out every night (bar the first) because there was no where we felt comfortable just to read or play Scrabble after dinner. There are two reading rooms, but both just feel sterile, which is pretty hard considering the history that the building has.

The furniture in our room was plain tacky; like something out of IKEA, not at all suited to a 5* hotel. The room was clean, but the floor was covered in scuff marks from heels and suitcases; again not what you expect. The A/C was off and I was told that it couldn't be turned on as it was still set to heating. This was unfortunate as the room got very hot and muggy during the day, which meant we had to sleep with the balcony door open to get some air circulating and were bitten by something one night.

As for the staff, the waiters and bar staff were excellent, but the front desk need promptly to forget the rubbish they must have been taught on some American hotel course and behave as themselves. I bit my tongue and did not get annoyed when told, having arrived at the ferry dock and phoned to ask directions, that we'd just missed the shuttle bus and that the next wouldn't be for two hours. That's not what you expect from a hotel of any quality, especially when its literally two minutes drive away. I was also more that a trifle put off by having a NH hotels loyalty programme thrust at me as soon as we checked in. No chance of me staying with that chain again if I can help it; anywhere.

Our feeling is that Convento di Amalfi has spent too much effort doing everything that ticks the boxes to get an American hospitality diamond award (there are three on the wall), and in doing some has forgotten (or been forced to set aside) the spontaneous hospitality that the Italians offer without thinking.

So, go for the comfort and location - it's very handy for Amalfi itself - but realise that you're not going to an Italian hotel, you're going to an American transplant. You'll love the place if that's what you're use to/ looking for, but it's not for everyone.

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms (at least those with a private patio) have flat roofs as seem to heat up very quickly.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaiusScotius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location is breathtaking to the senses.... All the staff were friendly and smiled but for close to $1000 CDN per night I would like a fresh bar of soap each day and both bathrooms cleaned daily. I had to ask 4 times to get a new bar of soap :( On my last request I said, "what do I need to do to get a bar of soap around here?" Such small things like can ruin the experience... Daily cleaning of the room was below average...

We stayed 4 nights, had one dinner there it was excellent :) but we were one of two couples dining that late and of the three waiters that were there...they were un attentive :(

Breakfast was good the first time, ok the second time, redundant the third time and lost its appeal the fourth time

Would I go back... Maybe after trying one of the other 5 star hotels in the area

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANADIANOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

All excellent. Room 29 has 2 balconies..constant vista. Best location..downhill to Amalfi..downhill to Atrano.Breakfast nice. Dinner at restaurant was superb. Excellent staff hotel and restaurant.
Avoid Capri..take bus to Ravello for better view then hike down to Atrani

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews