We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Honeymoon”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This was the perfect hotel to have a relaxing break after our big day.

To start with the check-in was very smooth. We arrived and was greeted to a glass of Prosecco on the terrace so we could take in the amazing view.

The hotel staff were very friendly and it felt like they really wanted to help you experience the most of what the hotel had to offer. A number of our friends would agree with this as they had contacted the hotel before we arrived to organise boats trips and Prosecco to the room as a surprise. The staff sorted this out with ease and presented us with the gifts shortly after we arrived.

The hotel also arranged the private taxi to and from the airport which I would recommend doing.

The main aim of our holiday was to have a relaxing week in the sun and eat some amazing food. We were not disappointed. We ate at amazing restaurants whilst in Amalfi, but I have to say the evening meal we ate in the hotel was up there with one of the best. Worth a try!

Breakfast on the terrace is a perfect way to start the day. I recommend asking for the poached eggs.

I recommend staying here and we'll hopefully be back next year to stay a night or two.

Room Tip: We'll book a room with a balcony next time we stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    135
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
120
660
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Wow! A beautiful, white-washed, historic, charming place to stay in Amalfi. Our room (306) had a nice patio on which to sit a admire the full view of the sea. The staff was very welcoming and helpful.

The concierge assisted us in selecting our boat for a day trip to Capri (Gian-Carlo and his 28' Blue Skies provided us with one of our most memorable days in the Amalfi region).

Pull up to the front of the hotel and stop...even though you are blocking the traffic lane...that's the way you do it in Amalfi...the assistant will comes out to help you park your car and then unload luggage. An elevator takes you within the hillside up to the hotel where another elevator takes you to reception on the 5th floor. A welcome cocktail with your first cliff side view of the sea awaits! Simply fantastic, romantic, and all of the other superlative adjectives.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We spent our 25th wedding anniversary here over May 21st. We spent five nights at this exceptional hotel. The location was perfect in that it was midway up the hill so the views of the bay were amazing. It was a relatively easy walk to the town where we found truly exquisite restaurants. The breakfast buffet was delicious including made to order omelettes and whole wheat croissants. The general manager and her staff could not have been more helpful. The wait staff was also willing to go above and beyond. Overall, we were so happy to choose this hotel. The history of the monastery leading to this hotel made the rooms and hotel even more attractive.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

On arrival our luggage was taken to our room. We were shown around the hotel by friendly and helpful staff.

The rooms were perfectly sized with lovely bathrooms and incredible maid service.

Eating an exquisite buffet breakfast outside on the terrace was a great way to wake up.

Booking tables, excursions and taxis was easily done through the concierge. The pool was beautiful with nice sun beds and great staff.

Our best meal of the week was at the hotel restaurant and while it may be expensive, the stress free service made a truly relaxing and memorable holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel-Air CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

When we booked our 3rd annual vacation to Amalfi there was no doubt where we would return to spend our two week celebration of our wedding anniversary.

The Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi is quite simply a slice of Amalfi perfection and to us no other hotel could provide in the way only the Convento is able to day in and day out.

You see, it’s not just about the incredibly serene surroundings, history and impeccable taste one feels when staying here. What it is really about is the personality of the most beautiful people of Amalfi and in particular who staff the Convento and make you feel so very special and can’t wait to be of assistance to make your stay memorable in every way.

When you make vacation plans to spend two weeks in one hotel, you’d better know exactly what to expect as changing your plans once you travel half way round the world will be complicated if you can do so and especially when you’re headed to the quaint, serene , remote and beautiful Italian coastal town of Amalfi.

Peace of mind is something you can’t put a price tag on. We’re creatures of habit and one of the few pleasures in life is being able to experience true happiness and be able know exactly what to expect.

The assurance of this excellence is surrounded by the serenity of the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi where the perfection and attention to every detail begins with management , headed up by the extraordinary hotel director, Ms.Fulvia Clapier. Your happiness is goal number one.

The Front Desk Staff - The best of the best who will ensure all you need to have a marvelous stay at the Convento are - Antonio, Antonella Flora, Delfina who will provide you with all you need and always with the best attitude and friendly attention to your every wish.

Dining at the Convento - The outstanding Italian gastronomical fare all begins with chef Alberto and his brilliant culinary staff which is unmatched anywhere and can only be complimented by his Maitre` d' Massimo along with the best dining service staff anywhere. Be sure to visit with them all (Alfonso, Paolo, Francesco, Roberto, Giuseppe, Gaetano, Alessandra, Valentina, Federica, Antonio, Christian ) as THEY will make your experience more memorable in every way.

Excellence is a term used today by many in their marketing and promotion, and one that many fall short of performing from the beginning. This could not be further from the case at the Convento where every employee performs beyond expectation! From the marvelous breakfast buffet every day to the most creative dinners to just a Panini by the pool…you won’t be disappointed!

Rooms: The unique serenity of rooms in this historically restored monastery provides the kind of peace and quiet one could only imagine. Clean, simple and contemporary. The views to the sea and the harbor are magnificent. It provided a perfect base for us to venture out and retreat to each evening. Peaceful and tranquil in every way.

Director Fluvia Clapier and her extraordinary staff created an amazing ambiance which we did not think could be improved upon – however, it has and on every level. The dining/service environment at breakfast, lunch and dinner, to the front desk, room attendants, and shuttle/parking attendants-- each and every one demonstrated a level of competence, excellence, dedication and courtesy rare in today’s machine-driven world.

And all with a marvelous attitude! We cannot wait to return and are already are making plans. In short. If you miss this experience and it is an experience you will have missed something very special.
Five Stars? YOU BET!!! We’ll be back again and again.

Amore to all at the Convento! YOU ARE THE BEST!

Room Tip: Speak with the front desk...they are outstandingly helpful in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveinBel-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great hotel, Great location, Great Service and a Great Stay. We will come back when we can stay longer;-) If you want a hotel with an AWESOME view from your room, this is the hotel to stay in. Loved it




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Doc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I have no words to describe my experience - fabulous. Starting from the lobby and reception. Delfina was there to answer any question we had. The boat she recommended for a day tour of Capri and positano was a great choice. The rooms are clean, charming with modern touch and unparalleled views! The bar was great with great views and ocean breeze. Will come back definitely !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
972 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, NHHotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing