We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world - this is the BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 November 2010

After staying in some of the best hotels in the world including supposedly the best in Dubai I can truly say that the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi far surpasses all expectations. It is a truly beautiful building, having encapsulated its spirit whilst providing every guest with superb luxury but, what makes this the best is the Manageress and her fantastic staff. We have stayed in the Santa Christina a few hundred yards along the road (which is supposed to be the best hotel in Amalfi indeed the entire Amalfi coast) and do not find the Convento expensive in comparison indeed, it certainly gives the Santa Christina a run for its money! The Convento's location is much closer to the town and gives you freedom to go out whenever you feel like it. We visit Italy about 3 to 4 times a year, normally to Rome as my son is a professional singer - we will certainly be making the 2 hour journey from Rome to Amalfi to stay at the Convento again next year! All of us cannot rate this hotel highly enough. IT IS A MUST!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozzamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in, and also the most expensive! The views are stunning although, at that price, I would have expected the balconies to have more privacy. Apart from that, the gorgeous flowers, lemon trees, stylish decor and classy fixture and fittings will live long in my memory.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank Gem1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

amazing view, great atmosphere, the building itself is truly beautiful and very luxurious. The only downsides were that it's quite expensive and for that kind of price we were expecting flawless service and cleanliness which was not the case (we had ants in the room, found some hair, and a maid entered the room while we were inside). However overall I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I was at the Grand Convento for 4 nights and it was wonderful. The staff were extremely helpful and service good without being overbearing for a 5*. The rooms were pretty, simple and clean. The bathroom was very nice as well. The stunning view of Amalfi from both the rooms and the terrace were incredible and the infinity pool (albeit small) an added plus. The only downside to staying here is that since the hotel is not located on the Sea side there was no immediate access to the beach. Other than that it was great. Drinks and food were definately on the expensive side but that is to be expected.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank Grrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed for 3 nights as part of honeymoon. Room very clean and comfortable with views of Amalfi and the bay. Hotel unique and well maintained. It is a wonderful refuge from the busy hectic roads below. Lots of places to sit and relax and enjoy the views. Pool area also lovely. The food and drink is expensive here but so is the rest of Amalfi. Breakfast was very good as was the level of service. All staff were helpful and friendly.
For information, parking at hotel costs 25 euros per day.
We had a very enjoyable stay here and would recommend the hotel, particularly as a special treat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholiday95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This is a beautiful former C13th convent-turned hotel-now renovated hotel by the NH group perched high on the hill overlooking Amalfi's bay and harbour.
We spent five nights in room 201 which was at one end of the hotel with great views across the bay from a small balcony. The room was comfortable but not super luxe. For this star rating and the high price I would expect a more consistent level of service and touches like bedside floor mats that a lot of Italian hotels provide on tiled floors. Cushions on the balcony seats were provided next door but not on our chairs. The twice daily maid service was a little erratic in terms of timing and what they did or didn't do everyday. The first night I found the bottle of mineral water left in the room had already been opened and the water tasted strange - when I metioned this to the receptionist, asking for a replacement, she insisted I fill in a complaint form as this sort of thing 'never happens'. What the point of the exercise was I don't know as the bottle remained where it was in the room until I removed it and we didn't receive replacement bottles the last couple of days. The turn-down service just seemed to entail moving large cushions from the head to the foot of the bed which we then threw off.
The breakfasts were very good: fresh juice, good coffee, excellent cold meats and cheese, one of the best buffets I've seen, plus an omlette service on request. The waiters were universally charming. And on our late arrival made sure we had everything we needed before clocking off and leaving us to enjoy the night air and lights across the bay from the terrace.
The pool area is compact but again the views are splendid. The Monks' Walk and gardens are very pretty with seculded spots from which to sit and stare at the scenery.
You need to be fairly fit to stay here. There are lifts down to road level, but to reach town you need to climb down a steep set of poorly lit, badly maintained stairs to the beach road, which the hotel recommends as the best way to walk to the centre. There's another steep but better kept staircase through the little park to the right, but it closes at dusk. Turn immediate left out of the roadside entrance and go up the hidden stairs and along the pathway into the centre of town for a change of route. A buggy service for ferrying luggage to the dock or the less able into town would be a great idea.
The hotel has a section of beach on the other side of the bay which we used a couple of times which was fun and the staff there were very friendly and accomodating.
Overall, it's a remarkable building in a splendid, singular setting, a charming refuge from the bustle of tourist-packed Amalfi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passportticketmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truffie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
832 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: £309 - £712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, NHHotels, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing