We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bellisimo and best breakfast ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bellisimo and best breakfast ever!”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This beautifully restored hotel now has a very modern, clean look with predominately white interiors, fixtures and fittings. Taking advantage of it's breathtaking position on the edge of cliffs overlooking the Amalfi marina and township, the breakfast in the courtyard is simply magical. An enormous spread including fresh fruits, home made cakes, pastries, bruschetta, cheeses, proscuito, yogurts, cereals and freshly squeezed juices can be enjoyed while overlooking the sunrise over the coast. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the town centre and the presence of an outdoor pool (albeit not heated) makes the hotel a suitable choice for families, although the overall feel is more adult oriented.
I loved my stay here and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinCadence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    135
    40
    21
    11
See reviews for
120
656
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed here with my husband for a week in May on our honeymoon. The first thing that struck me about the place was not the amazing views, the stunning hotel, but the friendliness of the staff.
The hotel itself was totally flawless with epic views over Amalfi and the hotel is in a perfect position to travel to Ravello, Positano, day trip to Capri etc. The food and breakfast are unbeatable. The hotel itself is a museum.
But, I cannot say enough about the staff. Fulvia, the manager, was just a wonderful person and gave the hotel a homely feeling. Roberto the bar manager was wonderful with his recommendations and surprised us night after night with hi cocktail genius. But all the staff were wonderful. They made us feel like we were special and were in a special place at all times.
While you're in Amalfi, you simply MUST eat at da Gemma.
This is a special hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavieP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

After staying in some of the best hotels in the world including supposedly the best in Dubai I can truly say that the Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi far surpasses all expectations. It is a truly beautiful building, having encapsulated its spirit whilst providing every guest with superb luxury but, what makes this the best is the Manageress and her fantastic staff. We have stayed in the Santa Christina a few hundred yards along the road (which is supposed to be the best hotel in Amalfi indeed the entire Amalfi coast) and do not find the Convento expensive in comparison indeed, it certainly gives the Santa Christina a run for its money! The Convento's location is much closer to the town and gives you freedom to go out whenever you feel like it. We visit Italy about 3 to 4 times a year, normally to Rome as my son is a professional singer - we will certainly be making the 2 hour journey from Rome to Amalfi to stay at the Convento again next year! All of us cannot rate this hotel highly enough. IT IS A MUST!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This is one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed in, and also the most expensive! The views are stunning although, at that price, I would have expected the balconies to have more privacy. Apart from that, the gorgeous flowers, lemon trees, stylish decor and classy fixture and fittings will live long in my memory.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gem1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

amazing view, great atmosphere, the building itself is truly beautiful and very luxurious. The only downsides were that it's quite expensive and for that kind of price we were expecting flawless service and cleanliness which was not the case (we had ants in the room, found some hair, and a maid entered the room while we were inside). However overall I would still recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notmeplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I was at the Grand Convento for 4 nights and it was wonderful. The staff were extremely helpful and service good without being overbearing for a 5*. The rooms were pretty, simple and clean. The bathroom was very nice as well. The stunning view of Amalfi from both the rooms and the terrace were incredible and the infinity pool (albeit small) an added plus. The only downside to staying here is that since the hotel is not located on the Sea side there was no immediate access to the beach. Other than that it was great. Drinks and food were definately on the expensive side but that is to be expected.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Grrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Stayed for 3 nights as part of honeymoon. Room very clean and comfortable with views of Amalfi and the bay. Hotel unique and well maintained. It is a wonderful refuge from the busy hectic roads below. Lots of places to sit and relax and enjoy the views. Pool area also lovely. The food and drink is expensive here but so is the rest of Amalfi. Breakfast was very good as was the level of service. All staff were helpful and friendly.
For information, parking at hotel costs 25 euros per day.
We had a very enjoyable stay here and would recommend the hotel, particularly as a special treat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyholiday95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
774 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi

Property: NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Address: Via Annunziatella, 46 | Amalfi Coast, City Centre, 84011, Amalfi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi has been and continues to be one of the most significant monuments of the entire Amalfi Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing