We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat off the beaten path”
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Ranked #19 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Westland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real treat off the beaten path”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Thanks to an encounter on the beach in Amalfi my friends and I found La Capannina -- in the hills above the village -- and enjoyed a truly wonderful meal.

Chef Carlo offered no menus but created a feast that was served family style. The courses included a plate of ham, salami and bacon, mozzarella and other cheeses, along with honey and jam, and vegetables. We were treated to an assortment of grilled meat.

Our dessert — a regional confection known as baba, small rum-soaked pear-shaped cakes, was unforgettable. We also had cheesecake with pears.

Eating here felt like we were eating at someone's home - comforting food and company.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    79
    22
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Here you find the best food in Amalfi”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A group of us came here for a lunch during the vespa tour with “NapolinVespa” and were very impressed. It is a beautiful panoramic place, somewhat hidden away with a great selection of food and fresh ingredients. The staff was very attentive and seemed to know our meeting was important and did not rush us or bother us anymore than necessary. There is also a great wine selection. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had really good pizzas here. A lot of choices on the menu and we ate really well. Everyone enjoyed their food. Plus an amazing view across to Ravello.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hhhefft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my new husband visited this restaurant 3 times in our 5 day stop in Amalfi. We were staying down the road at the Grand Hotel Exelsior in which the food was a bit bland and boring. This place is a amazing! For one, I have coeliacs so am usually on a fish and salad diet in the holidays - but they catered for me fabulously providing gluten free pasta with beautiful home made sauces - and gluten free pizza! Me and my husband shared mussels for starter which were simply beautiful and tucked into amazing cheese and jams for dessert. Don't miss it :-)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We love visiting Capannina each year because the food is especially good. Add that to warm and kinowledgable hospitality, and a wonderful view and you have a very pleasant evening indeed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing