We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
Review of Taverna Buonvicino

Taverna Buonvicino
Ranked #10 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Only a few steps away from the cathedral, hidden in the alleyways of Amalfi in one of the most ancient and peaceful squares of the town, is the Taverna Buonvicino. In the authentic tradition of the Amalfi Coast, our guests will enjoy an a la carte menu and a food and wine tasting menu, strictly serving only products in season, to give them a taste of the places and culture of our territory. Our food is not ready made, but the shoert wait respects the sincerity of preparation and cooking times, far from today's much and ready's culture. For those who want to discover the Hidden Amalfi we suggest a journey that starts at the table and leads towards the colours and tastes of our territory where you can discover new places of belonging. Finally, a hidden corner to propose to those guests of ours who love small surprises. We look forward to seeing you here in this hidden corner because 'The true taste of Amalfi is hidden in the alleyways'
Brlgrade
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent food, with typical south Italian taste. The atmosphere is also great, romantic and isolated. I would defiantly recommend not to miss this place when visiting Amalfi!

Helpful?
Thank Vidaaaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    224
    57
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, awesome location!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Staff is excellent, food is great, and it's located in a quiet small cozy square. It has been a great experience, and it's not expensive at all!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antoalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Quite location and perfect food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Location:8
Food: 9
Service: 8

The Taverna is between two churches, in a quite and lovely square.
Candles and piano make a romantic and relaxing atmosphere.
We waited 1 hour to get our starters (mixed antipasto), but I could wait even 2 for that amazing food! Every thing was Extremely fresh and natural!!!
Mr Gaetano Kindly explained to us the interesting history of Amalfi and the Taverna.
Suggested.

Helpful?
Thank Lucia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth every cent!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The food here was a culinary delight in a unique setting.

We found the restaurant by wandering through the maze of backstreets trying to escape the strip. We stumbled upon a courtyard outside a church and we're greeted with such a warm welcome by Alex (the waiter) that we decided to spend a bit more than usual and eat here.

Alex recommended some dishes and really knew the food and he was right, it was incredible.

The setting adds to the meal as whilst we are we watched the locals make their way into the church, heard them sing hymns from our table then watched as the whiles away the hours on a bench gossiping.

You will not regret eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great way to spend an evening in Amalfi”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We saw the reviews here on Tripadvisor, and thought "we have to go there" and so do you. Great place, nice and clever waiters, really good food and excellent housewine, what's not to like? If you wan't some really good amalfian dishes and really good service, this is the place. Of course the prices are a bit above mainstream in Amalfi, and it's worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivivfromdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Buonvicino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Taverna Buonvicino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing