We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 visits & not 1 complaint.”

Locanda del Marinaio
Ranked #26 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Price range: US$23 - US$76
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At 7 in the evening on 07/07/07 the doors to the Locanda del Marinaio were opened for the first time, the start of a new adventure and a dream come true.A project planned by a family from Amalfi with broad experience in the catering business. The idea of three brothers whose goal was to create a modern and original restaurant, completely different to those already in Amalfi.La Locanda is the ideal place to spend time with your friends, for a business meeting or a romantic dinner. You will be welcomed with the warmth traditional to Amalfi and with the attentive service of our staff who aim to create a pleasant atmosphere.Come and experience tradition with a modern taste.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“9 visits & not 1 complaint.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We love this restaurant.We have had 9 meals at this restaurant (some this summer & some last summer)& none of them disappointed.We have spent many hours in this restaurant & never saw one meal get sent back..(eyes like a hawk).All the staff were very attentive & friendly & nothing was too much trouble,even when they were absolutely packed out which was every night when we were either eating there or just passing by.If it's packed out you can expect to be staying there a little longer...same in most restaurants...some people just need to chill & back off these hard-working restaurant staff who work in a very stressful environment.Will be going back here next holiday to Amalfi.We love all you guys at this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    267
    107
    66
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rye Brook, New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We went here based on TA reviews. Two of us ordered from the regular menu, and two of us ordered off the 4 course menu (but different items). Some of the food was good, some okay, and some not good at all. None of it was spectacular. Not sure why this place gets so many positive reviews.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank robyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD AUS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ate dinner here twice”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Loved this restaurant. I sat outside and listened to the church bells ring in the square. Great location

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jazzylostoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Took forever to get the bill”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

I know Italians are known for relaxing after the meal and not rushing out, but we had to ask for our bill three times. We went for a late dinner while in Amalfi and at the end of the night, it was us and one other table. The staff were cleaning up the tables, re-setting everything, bringing tables in from outside, so you'd think they'd give us the bill so we could let them go. That being said, the dinner was pretty good. The pizza and bruschetta appetizer was awesome, definitely recommend it. I got carbonara pasta, required an extra 20 minutes to make, which wasn't a big deal because we ordered an app.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Stale food, rude staff - Z Grade restaurant”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We selected this restaurant based on tripadvisor comments and could not have been more disappointed with both the quality of meals and the service (or lack thereof)
From the outset the staff were rude and we should have taken note before we ordered meals as the table beside us had half their meals miso redrew and/or undelivered
The male staff members were totally disrespectful and essentially throw meals onto the table and walk away
Additionally Do NOT order Chicken Caesar Salad in this restaurant as it is only old lettuce, a smattering of chicken pieces and some grated old cheese.
This is the worst meal that we have ever had in Italy. How these people make money is a mystery as it is not the quality of the food or the service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 373RESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Locanda del Marinaio also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Locanda del Marinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing