We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, service and hosts!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Carcara

La Carcara
Ranked #24 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Nice time for couples and groups of friends. Fresh fish of the day and good meat. Wood oven pizza. Outdoor dining.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food, service and hosts!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a really nice time at this restaurant. We did the cooking experience with fish and learn't how to fillet sea bass, make fresh pasta and how to make lemoncello cakes. We were so pleased with the food and the friendliness of the entire staff that we went the following evening for dinner. We had pizza's which were delicious! I had the vesuvius pizza which was a delight as it came out looking like a mountain which puffed steam as you cut into it to discover the hidden ingredients inside. We would definately recommend this restaurant for any occasion, especially if you are staying at the Grand Excelsior as it is only a short stumble down the hill after the delicious wine and lemoncello!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    73
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Bravo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a cookery class at this restaurant while staying at the nearby Grand Hotel Excelsior. It was fabulous - Gino and Luisa were wonderful hosts and we learned to make 4 delicious Italian dishes, which we ate after for lunch. Fantastic value and a brilliant thing to do if you are staying in Amalfi or nearby.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SparrowhawkSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local food served authentically with love!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Gino and Lucia's family owned and operated business is tucked away in Pogerola just around the corner from the main square. The locals know where to eat and you will find them enjoying the freshest food based on seasonal local ingredients. The Cooking school is such good value and you will want to cook the recipes over and over again. I loved it. Will come back again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip! Fantastic food and family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The cooking class from La Carcara came highly recommended the first day we arrived in Amalfi. We were not disappointed! Gino picked us up at our hotel and took us to his charming spot up the hill. He, his wife Lucia, and son Umberto welcomed us into their kitchen and showed us how to make a 4 course Italian meal. Lucia and Umberto walked us through the recipes and translated for us. The food was wonderful! We dined on fresh pasta, shrimp tempura skewers, smoked mozzarella in lemon leaves, pork, fresh fish, lemon cakes and limoncello. As excellent as the food was, we were even more charmed by the family. They truly made us feel welcome and the experience was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

We enjoyed ourselves so much at the cooking class, we made a second trip back for lunch. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the family and treated to another wonderful meal. This time we sat on the patio, soaking up the view and enjoying their fresh made focaccia bread and homemade gnocchi.

We loved our stay and visit in Amalfi and to the towns along that coast, but it was a real treat to escape the crowds and tourists in the bigger towns and find this lovely family restaurant run by people who took such pride in their cooking and made such an effort to welcome us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mlpns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced and confusing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited here to try their food. Although the food was nice I felt the waitress bombarded us with things we did not order. Asking us to try the desert and try the limoncello - which were perfectly okay. BUT when we were initially making our order she just did not understand what we wanted. For example my partner ordered a dish of pasta with fish: she brought him pasta with no fish, then brought him a separate fish main? We shared a starter, had a bottle of wine for 11 euros, had a main each or so we thought, ordered no deserts or coffees and the price was 61 euro.
She charged us for 3 mains! So be careful what you order as it all got lost in translation and we felt RIPPED OFF. I duly complained and she suddenly reduced the bill to 44 euros!
We may not speak Italian but we are not stupid and know the value of food when it comes to eating out. Interestingly there were other places to eat very nearby whose food was as good or better and whose prices were more appropriate.
If you're going to try this restaurant be on your guard if you are on a budget break.
The whole experience spoilt our evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank forgotten1merseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carcara also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Carcara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing