We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza Margherita!”

Trattoria San Giuseppe
Ranked #80 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pizza Margherita!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

the best pizza - Pizza Margherita - on the planet. enjoy the pizza and Italian wine. nice family establishment. simple, inexpensive, Italian staple dishes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    59
    27
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big disappointment!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were looking for some simple but authentic Italian dishes. We'd had a terrific lunch elsewhere so an antipasto and a good pizza in what we'd read was a restaurant frequented by locals was what we'd hoped for. Sadly, it was not what we got: shabby surroundings, no local diners, canned antipasti and soggy-dough and tasteless pizzas is what we DID get. Coupled with house wine akin to vinegar and minimalist service. We were also subjected for almost an hour to the discordant sounds of a drunk and his guitar, who was nevertheless allowed to remain in situ despite the obvious displeasure of all diners. To have had to pay 60Euros soured the wine even more!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and great food”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Truly a family-run place, I came here twice. The veal in lemon sauce was delicious. Pizza is great too. The second time I ate here, my waiter and his friends (maybe family?) started a jam session, complete with accordion, tambourine, guitar, and this hilarious homemade instrument that made a sound like a tuba when you moved a wet sponge against a stick. I think they were trying to entice people to eat at the restaurant but eventually just played for the fun of it. They played for a good hour and it was an extra special end to my week in Amalfi. You'll notice family and friends stopping by during dinner; it really felt like an authentic and local establishment that didn't exist purely to feed tourist mouths. Come here for a laid-back atmosphere and good food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Went there on a quiet Sunday in October.
A nice quiet spot away from the tourist throng. The food was good and the service very friendly and helpful. Prices were very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank GeoffT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An excellent spot”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is the second time I have eaten at this restaurant and I was again impressed with the quality of the food and the ambiance. It is located in a little courtyard formed by the junction of two little lanes and the tables are arranged outside. The service is quick and efficient and prices are reasonable. You could be paying a lot more for the same quality on the main strip of the town. There were 12 of us in our group and many classed this meal as one of the best we had eaten throughout the week!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannibal_biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria San Giuseppe also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing