We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They take you for a ride.....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Luna Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“They take you for a ride.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Hotel is historic and in splendid sorroundings. The staff and management takes advantage of the beauty of the place and charge 5 star price for 2 star quality of service! Breakfast is awful, care to detail minimal. Restaurant is overpriced. Because the place is so famous they think that they can get away with a very lausy quality of service.
Very bad advertisement for Italian turism.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank osolemio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    175
    44
    25
    15
See reviews for
96
343
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed here for four days in March 2011. We arrived in Amalfi by bus nad it was really easy to find from the bus terminal. The location is superbas it's situated on a cliff that offers amazing views but is still easily accessible by foot. Only two minutes walk to the main road in Amalfi.
The receptionists were friendly and helpful with information about loacal bus services etc. The rooms were nice with comfortable beds. Two slight niggles. There are no English-speaking TV channels at all and in the bath the water is flowing very slowly, it tkaes ages to fill up the bath. The shower is fine.
The breakfast is nice, again with a wonderful view from the restaurant over the coastline.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PracticallyPerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We looked forward to our stay in Amalfi, but were disappointed in the service from the hotel staff. The breakfasts were plentiful, but guests were encouraged to order room service instead of eating in the dining room - that was odd, we felt. We never could find the BBC or English CNN channels, and though we asked the reception desk for assistance, no one ever showed up to help us figure it out. Our shower didn't drain and we had to cut our showers short or risk flooding the bathroom. Also, the latch on the shower door was broken and the doors wouldn't shut. I know we stayed here in the off-season, but they shouldn't have rented the room (#6) if it's not been properly maintained. There was no lack of available rooms either. On our first night I only saw two other guests. The ancient monastery church was closed to visitors (no mention of this on the web site) and seeing the church was the major reason I selected this hotel. If I ever return to the Amalfi Coast, I will select a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingcouple1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

My husband and I traveled to the Amalfi coast in December for a holiday, and we definitely made the right decision in staying at the Hotel Luna Convento. Our room was superior - two terraces, one that looked upon the village of Amalfi - all views of the sea from every window. The service was superb, as was the food. The staff were absolutely awesome!!! Everything about the hotel was wonderful, and we were even able to tour the property that remarkably dates back to the 13th century. Few resort venues combine such rich cultural history, pristine geography, and breathtaking topography as does the Luna Convento. If you are looking for something different yet up-scale, you should strongly consider this unique hotel. We are planning our next return visit!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Boden_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

The quaint Hotel Luna Convento was the ideal location for our Amalfi Coast holiday. It is situated on a bluff overlooking the sea, and the view from our balcony was breathtaking. Our room (#31) as very spacious and clean, and the colorful tile in the bathroom added lots of character to the white-washed walls of the bedroom.

We arrived by SITA bus after our first leg of travel by train from Rome to Salerno. We didn't know there was a bus stop at the hotel entrance, and even if we had known, we may not have signaled the driver in time to stop. So, we had to walk back up the hill from the central bus stop with our luggage a hundred yards or so on the extremely narrow seaside street---not a huge problem for us. It was very convenient to catch the SITA to/from Positano and Ravello once we had a bus schedule.

The desk manager helped us register for a guided tour of Pompeii, and the next morning a chartered bus picked us up at the hotel entrance and dropped us off at the same spot that evening. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept us on path for an efficient walk through the highlights of the expansive ruins.

The breakfast buffet was tasty and offered a nice variety of fruits, meats, and pastries, but the best part was the view of the sunlight dancing on the Tyrrhenian Sea . We did not have dinner at the restaurant nor did we see anyone in the cozy bar lounge, but there were drinks served in the afternoon in the cloister courtyard.

The only downside was the street noise-- "beep beep" from the buses, cars, and motorcycles approaching the sharp curve that followed the line of the cliff. However, I would still recommend Luna Convento over any hotel in the Amalfi center. There would be less "beep beep", but more foot traffic and the buzz of tourists.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Luna Convento, and we hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuzz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We went to Hotel Luna out of season so it was pretty quiet and lifeless in the lounge and restaurant but the location is excellent. Views are outstanding even from the cheapest room - we had 3 windows looking straight out onto the tower and the sea, with Amalfi laid out to the right. Room & bathroom were spacious and really attractive. Breakfast was good - a wide ranging buffet.
This isn't a hotel setting out to be the best on service. Requests at reception were met with perfunctory responses, and no real attempt to go beyond the very specific request or to *offer* help or advice, or to be particularly welcoming or warm. There seemed to be staff endlessly sweeping odd bits of corridor - yet no-one around when we wanted a drink in the bar.
To note: the photos of the swimming pool are pretty cleverly taken! It's small, not much seating around it and down a load of steps opposite the main entrance. We went late October, so it was too chilly and windy to sit down there - might be nicely refreshing in full summer of course.
Agree with the previous reviewer - it's a nice place which is definitely not at its best in late season (in fact Amalfi as a whole pretty much shut down on November 1st, and it was cold and stormy too - go in summer!)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thisarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. This hotel is delightful, we were charmed by everything from our room (what a view!) to the wonderful courtyard which is perfect for a pre-dinner Prosecco or a morning coffee. Even the bathroom had an amazing view. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were very attentive. Other reviews have mentioned the road but we didn't find it a problem. Wherever you stay in Amalfi you have to deal with the roads. The location of this hotel is perfect, a short enjoyable walk (10 minutes maximum at a slow pace) and the views are amazing. We visited a few other hotels during our visit and we agreed that none of them had the charm or the personal touch of the Luna Convento. You're missing a treat if you don't go.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineOB_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing