We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cant wait to return to this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“cant wait to return to this hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived and were astounded by the beauty of the hotel.
Service-Perfect
Food-Perfect
Ambiance-perfect
10 out of 10 for this Hotel and its Location

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    180
    46
    25
    16
See reviews for
98
353
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

A hotel living on past glory. The bedroom was ok but the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly for some time. The food was poor quality!

Room Tip: We had to get the shower re-cleaned before we would use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beard26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The hotel was perfect. Location was great, easy access to center of Amalfi and buses. The private swimming pool and ocean swim deck were beautiful and great fun for the boys. Hopefully, we'll return and would definitely stay at the Luna Convento again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
134 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Upon seing the hotel our first reaction was- "let's change the reservation and leave"- but when we actually left the hotel we were sorry we couldn't stay longer; I guess this says it all: Luna Convento is past its glory days and needs renovations dearly, but it's surroundings, unbeatable location (gorgeous views from the restaurant and our room's terrace), direct access to water (an expensive endevour on amalfi coast), friendly staff and historic charm make it all worthwhile. It's a pitty the hotel is not in better shape, because it has great potential; the paint was chipping off the pool, the pool chairs were stained, the furniture dated, we didn't see many guests (July should be peak season); with some investment this property could be like one of those pousadas in portugal or paradores in spain: a great historic hotel. hopefully it will change, or else they'll lose the luster completely!

Room Tip: ask for a room with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Hotel is historic and in splendid sorroundings. The staff and management takes advantage of the beauty of the place and charge 5 star price for 2 star quality of service! Breakfast is awful, care to detail minimal. Restaurant is overpriced. Because the place is so famous they think that they can get away with a very lausy quality of service.
Very bad advertisement for Italian turism.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank osolemio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed here for four days in March 2011. We arrived in Amalfi by bus nad it was really easy to find from the bus terminal. The location is superbas it's situated on a cliff that offers amazing views but is still easily accessible by foot. Only two minutes walk to the main road in Amalfi.
The receptionists were friendly and helpful with information about loacal bus services etc. The rooms were nice with comfortable beds. Two slight niggles. There are no English-speaking TV channels at all and in the bath the water is flowing very slowly, it tkaes ages to fill up the bath. The shower is fine.
The breakfast is nice, again with a wonderful view from the restaurant over the coastline.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PracticallyPerfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We looked forward to our stay in Amalfi, but were disappointed in the service from the hotel staff. The breakfasts were plentiful, but guests were encouraged to order room service instead of eating in the dining room - that was odd, we felt. We never could find the BBC or English CNN channels, and though we asked the reception desk for assistance, no one ever showed up to help us figure it out. Our shower didn't drain and we had to cut our showers short or risk flooding the bathroom. Also, the latch on the shower door was broken and the doors wouldn't shut. I know we stayed here in the off-season, but they shouldn't have rented the room (#6) if it's not been properly maintained. There was no lack of available rooms either. On our first night I only saw two other guests. The ancient monastery church was closed to visitors (no mention of this on the web site) and seeing the church was the major reason I selected this hotel. If I ever return to the Amalfi Coast, I will select a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingcouple1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing