We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, historic hotel, full of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely, historic hotel, full of character”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for a week in July 2010 and returned again in July 2011. The hotel is a five minute walk from the beautiful town of Amalfi itself, with pretty cobbled streets and enticing boutique shops. Once inside the hotel, you appreciate the true history and character of the building, particularly the Cloister which is a lovely place to sit with a glass of home-made lemonade and admire the architecture of the converted convent. Mario, the bartender, will mix any drink that you can imagine and entertain you at the same time. The rooms are not so special but attractive, clean and made up for by the sea view from every window in the hotel. Breakfasts were simply continental with a few hot options and served on the roof terrace restaurant, high up, overlooking the sea, stunning; what a way to start the day. Evening meals were of the typical and traditional Italian style and quality; delicious, surprisingly quick and plenty to choose from, all freshly cooked to order. The pool and sea are accessed by crossing the road and descending a few flights of steps, not an issue in the slightest. The pool was very clean with steps down into the sea and rocks of varying heights to jump off into the blue water; a great way to spend a few hours. Beppe, the pool attendant, was a joy to meet. He kept us supplied with towels, drinks, snorkels and anything else that we asked for. He also arranged for us to hire a powerboat for the day, for around £150 plus fuel, one of the best days we have spent as a family, cruising the ocean and crashing over the waves at thirty knots was great fun. I would definitely recommend hiring a boat, you can explore the islands and coastline, anchoring anywhere you like for a quick dip. On a quiet afternoon, Beppe took me diving for ‘Pulpa’ (small octopus). After we didn’t find any, we returned to the pool later to find he had managed to catch one after I had gone which he proceeded to prepare with lemon juice for us to try. Let’s just say that delicacies can sometimes be disappointing!! In any case, he certainly deserves a good tip at the end of your stay. It is important to bear in mind that Amalfi has no sandy beaches which saves you getting covered in sand and you can swim for miles. We visited the Isle of Capri and took the chairlift to Anacapri, recommended for its view alone but you may also enjoy an open topped taxi ride around the island. Hopefully next time we will visit the Isle of Ischia for a spa treatment or two. I would say that a week in Amalfi isn’t long enough to appreciate everything about it, definitely consider extending your holiday to ten days unless you are planning to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jab_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    181
    46
    25
    16
See reviews for
98
354
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinshasa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Staying at this hotel was the highlight of our trip to Italy. The beautifully restored rooms, the stunning courtyard and the excellent service combine to make this one of the most special hotels of the region.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmart100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Everyone at the hotel was extremely hospitable , especially our multi-linguistic waiter. Our room with sea-view (wonderful to hear the waves at night) and balcony was well kept and very clean. The breakfast was generous and well-sorted with good service. We did eat dinner once at the hotel and were quite satisfied with the quality of food and the friendliness of our very experienced waiter. This charming hotel has one drawback being located at the curve of a well-traveled street; however, the hotel is very close to the waterfront making for a great view ......it´s worth it ,though a bit expensive...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We really loved the character and history of this hotel.
Fantastic location- really a special place- the rooms were lovely.
Also the food was delicious in the hotel restuarant- we recommend the fish!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel on line due to the character portrayed on their website. We have not been disappointed it is truly a gem amongst mediocrity? The staff are friendly, helpful and lovely to deal with, free wi-fi was an added bonus.

The sites are truly amazing and the rooms are more than expected. Large in size, great views over the bay ad ocean, who could want for more? Only wish we had more time here and a balcony, but maybe we should have asked for one.

Would definitely stay again, food is outstanding.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We chose this hotel to have a reunion of friends who have not seen each other for over 20 years. We have been planning this trip for nearly three years. What a hotel, it is an old monastery and it is stunning, so far the experience has been amazing, the views, are unsurpassed, I am so surprised it is so quiet and it smells so good, the lemons are all in blossom we have another week here and all of my friends are yet to arrive, but I am having such a good time soaking it all up, I may be here forever.

Room Tip: Room 29 has two terraces you can literally lie in your bed and look at the passing parade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

After looking at multiple hotels around Positano and Amalfi, me and my girlfriend finally stumbled upon the Luna Convento. We were happily surprised.

While most of the hotels in the area lack personality, the Luna Convento is absolutely unique.
The hotel is in an old monastery built directly into the cliffs overlooking the sea. They have completely redone the entire thing so that the interesting aspects of the monastery remain, but it doesn't feel like it is falling apart. (I have stayed in actual monasteries in Italy where you can really feel the age of the place.) The courtyard is incredible. The views could hardly be better. It has the potential, if the furniture and design were redone, to be a truly epic place.

Additionally, it was inexpensive relative to anything of similar quality on the rest of the coast. We parked for free, had a room with a terrace overlooking the ocean, and had complimentary breakfast for around 120 euros. Great value.

Two small complaints: The heat didn't work in the room, and it got cold at night. Also, the hot water in the bath was a bit hit or miss.

Overall, a great find. My favorite hotel on the Amalfi coast so far. I would recommend it, though I do wish it were a bit more polished.

P.S. If you are going for something special like a honeymoon, or anniversary, ask about their tower suite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerestoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing