We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a peaceful and comfortable hotel with old fashioned service. Our luggage was taken to the room while we were offered a drink in the courtyard. The room had a balcony with a view that would be hard to match anywhere in the world. Breakfast was one of the best I have had on the continant and taken in a terrace restaurant with a view of the Amalfi coastline and the town. Parking is difficult everywhere on this coastline so get a bus/train to Amalfi and walk between the towns as the trekking routes are stunning, (but there are LOTS of steps). One of the highlights was watching a tremendous thunderstorm out to sea whilst sipping Limoncello on our balcony at midnight. It is not cheap but then again nothing is in this part of the world. Well worth a night or two here.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with balcony are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelsmithHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    186
    46
    25
    16
See reviews for
101
366
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked our hotel reservation through an agency for the first time and unfortunately upon arrival we were given room 8 for three adults. Room 8 is not an unique historical room knowing monks slept there, even if Lincoln slept there I would find it insulting for the amount of money paid to stay in room 8. It had three beds crammed in with a desk and chair and a small 70's table with tiny TV. Two other upholstered chairs were in there but looked like they were found at a flea market and never cleaned. The bath was huge but dangerous for anyone stumbling about in the middle of the night to use it. There was a toilet right next to steep stairs leading to a shower area and the toilet was 5 inches from the very steep, slippery stairs. The shower area was just a lot of nozzles misting you and most of them could not be adjusted and because of calcium build up they just dribbled at best. There was a bathtub with a low shower hose and we ended up using this but not very comfortable. The bidet and sink were OK. I think the bath would be really nice if they make construction adjustments for functionality and safety. The balcony was a gopher hole, where you popped your head over the tiles to see the view and look at the numerous dirty socks stuck on the edge. You could not sit down in the little balcony hole and look out. The view was beautiful though for two standing people to look out. We strongly suggest to you dear reader that you insist on having one of the rooms they show on their web page because room number 8 is not there except in a hostel in Asia. It was an outrage to spend 400 euros a night for that nonsense. Please request a suite as you will most likely get one of the rooms shown on their site listed under rooms and not suites. However, once we complained about this, the last night we were there they placed us in the junior suite. It was acceptable. Everything else about this hotel is positive. We loved the garden plaza in the center where we ordered drinks and snacks and worked on our computers. There are turtles and goldfish in the monks' well, something for the children to see. Our server in the monastery enclosure for our snacks and drinks was Mauricio (sorry if I spelled your name incorrectly). He talks to you and finds out how he can make your stay more charming and memorable. He has a wonderful demeanor about him that puts you right at ease and makes you feel at home.
I will say the food is over priced at the restaurant tower and average. Their hotel staff is helpful and dressed to receive.
If you arrive by car from the north the hotel is easy to see, if you arrive from the south you may pass the entrance to the hotel because it is on a curve, but continue into Amalfi and there is a round about where you can safely turn around. Most often you can squeeze your car into the parking at the very front of the hotel or across the street at the tower right on the cliff down to the pool and water. The incredible attraction to this hotel beside the monastery history is the wonderful salt pool and the areas to sun bath among the cliff rocks. The gentleman who handles the pool and your needs at the rocky cliffs is extremely helpful and cheerful. AND... you can dive off the cliffs into the water and one of the dives is quite a challenge. You will love the rush and everyone gets up to see a new person taking the plunge or walking down again saying they will perhaps try again another day. Take your snorkeling gear or buy some in Italy, there are plenty of colorful fish to see around the rocks. If you swim to the right (if you are facing the ocean) there is a public beach where you can swim and touch the ocean bottom in case you want to do some laps. The pool is really lovely and warm.
We will stay at this hotel again, but never in room 8 and I will have more control and handle our bookings myself. I will talk directly to the hotel next time and book one of the suites. If we had not complained and at least had one night in the junior suite we would have never returned and just looked for another hotel in the area, but now we look forward to returning. Take my advice and really make sure of the type of room and the price for what room you will actually get and that you are satisfied with the arrangement.

Room Tip: Do not get room 8 unless you are a student and can get a good deal for you and your friends to crash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My fiance and I visited the Luna Convento in August 2012 on our honeymoon. I'd requested a regular room, but when we arrived, we asked if it was possible if there were any other rooms available. The staff were so professional and kind. They found a room that was amazing and beautiful, even if it was only available for one night. When we returned that afternoon from visiting Amalfi, we found our bags moved to the new room, with a bottle of champagne on ice next to the balcony overlooking the bay! It was a very kind gesture, and all of our other interactions with them were great. Although we stayed at a series of hotels, this made our stay at the Luna Convento very special, and probably the highlight of our trip.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank W F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

One of the best hotels i've stayed. Surely it has some minor faults but considering the age of the builing the staff are doing fine job to keep it up. The views are stunning from rooms and restaurant. Breakfast is good too, even hot food is served which is rare on the continent.
There is even a small chapel in the hotel with stunning private function room making it ideal wedding venue.
All the staff we incountered were helpfull and knowlagable of the area. We were advised a day trip to Ravello few miles up the mountains - didnt disappoint, a magical place.
It'd definately return to this place, many happy memories.

Room Tip: try to get a room with sea view balcony - amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizzeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We certainly have decided to go the Amalfi for a short break. There were not much choice of hotels, as well as there were not good deals such as a high season( August),so we booked this hotel even we felt that the price was a little bit expensive.
The location of the hotel is very good; it is ten minutes’ walk from the centre .it means that it is easy to access restaurants, shops, buses and sea-jets stations, and away from noisy atmospheres.
All rooms have ‘Sea- view’ but only half of them have with a balcony. The room we booked a ’standard double’ have no balcony, so if you would have the room with balcony, you make sure which room you will get it. The ‘standard double’ was very small however a high ceiling and a big window did benefit for the room to become light and airy. The Small screen of TV was hanged the wall which was no good signal reception but we did not bother it. The bathtub was little bit narrow width otherwise there was very good a shower power. The tiled floor was little bit slip if the floor is wet.
There were Good selection of buffet breakfast and always three to four waiting staffs were available for the services but missing a fresh squeezed orange juice.
Alongside of the swimming pool with the lock beach has divided three areas, half of them will become a shade after 16:00. If you would stay in the swimming pool a whole of day and need a sun, you need to be choosing a south east position of the rock. The sundeck and the position are first come and first serve. Also, there were many steps to go down and up to the Poole, and you need across the blind corner of the road, you must be very carefully.
Member of staffs are very kind and cheerful, most of them speak Good English as well as short sentences of other languages which is very good hospitality attitude.
Overall we satisfied the hotel and we definitely choose this hotel for next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satomi-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel is very quaint. Good location (in Amalfi). The room itself is "tired".

It's pretty small, which is probably neither here nor there as you don't really spend that much time there. But there was some serious water damage in the bathroom which is somewhat disconcerting. I'm not a big fan of mould and mildew and plaster falling off the wall (albeit small parts).

But the rest of the hotel is find. Am sitting in the cloister as I write this (this used to be a convent). and it is quite becoming. We have not had dinner here, but the breakfast buffet is much better than we expected.

It is expensive - 300 Euros per night - but that seems to be the norm for this area.

The overall impression is positive.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We were walking around Amalfi at around sunset, and we were drawn toward the tower by its romantic twinkling lights that appeared like fireflies on the horizon. We were pleased to find that this 500-year old tower was a restaurant with a terrace that affords breathtaking views of the water and coastline. While the views were memorable, so were the cuisine and service! This is definitely a special ocassion restaurant, tucked away from the bustle of the main piazzas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellWornPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing