We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luna Convento
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$757
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Lara(Amalfi)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Residence Amalfi
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel la Bussola(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amalfi(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
381
195
48
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
195
48
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaracen towercentral courtyardamalfi coastconverted conventpool manprivate poolsteeped in historyunique hotelthe cliffbusy roadshort walkour honeymoonoverlooking the seapainted ceilingsitting areasea wateramazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I fell in love with the photos taken of the hotel and booked it to stay for 7 nights stay in September.
It was late September when we went on this trip and we did not realize how hot it still was in Amalfi.
So... it was essential that our room be comfortable as it can and that was the part I was disappointed about this hotel. It is a very old building so I do expect some discomfort, but for the price I had to pay for the rooms I was rather disappointed. I stayed in standard double room as well as the deluxe double room and although later had bigger room and bathroom, I was not very impressed with it. Air conditions were not very effective and because of mosquito problems we could not leave the windows open ( The rooms would have been quite cool if we could leave it open during the night) Bathrooms were rather old and it did not appear too clean... Ventilation in the bathrooms were bad. I felt I could not comfortably leave my shoes off in the bathroom because the floor did not seem clean...
Having said that I was more than happy with the staff at the hotel. They were all very friendly and helpful. Deluxe double room had a fantastic view which is the selling point of this hotel I am sure....Had a great buffet breakfast in a terrace that offered a view that is hard to match with anything I had ever seen.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midoriko N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We loved our stay at Luna Convento (room 40). Our room was very spacious and clean, with THE MOST AMAZING VIEW, out over the water and back towards Amalfi. We had fantastic weather, so swam every day in the sea, though the pool was also available. Breakfast (and the breakfast room) was lovely and catered to every taste and inclination, with excellent coffee and old-fashioned service. That said, we wouldn't recommend dinner in their "tower restaurant". It was massively overpriced and the bread was stale. It also attracts a certain type of 'mature', well-heeled and well-hairsprayed traveller - but don't let that put you off booking here. It is very close to the centre of town and there are plenty of other places to eat - in all price brackets.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Serafina_Waimea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was our first stay in Italy and we were spoilt from the start. We had the amazing penthouse room, which you enter from a winding staircase up a narrow corridor, through the door, and then up again through another winding corridor. You walk into the room to the most amazing view from the window beside the huge bed. The view from the first of our decks was staggering, over the rest of the building and then down the coast to the south. Upstairs to our second deck, the view even outdid the first. A complete view up and down the coast, the whole town of Amalfi laid out before us. Even looking at the other buildings surrounding us was interesting. All a bit mind-blowing really, even wondering who else has stayed in this room. Is this where JFK stayed with Jackie???
The history of the building is a story in itself. Make sure you are shown the original chapel established by St Francis. The story of some of the other guests over the years brings all sorts of things to mind. Mussolini running the war, various Popes, JFK all make intriguing visions.
The staff and service were all first class. Breakfast on the balcony is magnificent , with a great array of fruits, pastries, coffee etc.
Make sure you walk down to the pool across the road and down the steps beside the Saracen Fort. We tried the pool, but the sea was too enticing and we spent ages floating around the rocks.
Amalfi itself is a beautiful town. Ancient buildings rolling down to the sea. Ancient laneways running everywhere, creating a maze that is wonderful for getting lost in. Steps everywhere, so make sure your heart is up to it.
All round a magnificent introduction to Italy.

Room Tip: All are good, but ours was very special. Friends also had a room in the Fort across the road. That was very special.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed here over Easter 2012 for 5 nights and LOVED every minute of it. Perched on the cliffs overlooking the sea it is a wonderful hotel full of character. The weather was not on our side during this stay and the pool was not yet open but there is so much to do in this part of Italy that we were always happy, this included day trips to Capri and Pompeii.
The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, especially the valet parking team. The parking for the hotel is a few minutes walk away so you leave your car outside the front of the hotel and a member of staff will take care of it from there. The breakfasts were wonderful especially when the sun did shine and you could sit outside on the terrace. There was a huge assortment of fresh cakes, pastries, coffee was freshly brewed and all meals were served on linen tablecloths with linen napkins and proper glasses (no plastic)
I gained 5 lbs in 5 days as the food was so good in Amalfi. Breakfast was the only meal we ate in the hotel as Amalfi offers a huge array of restaurants catering for all budgets and we were intent on trying them all.
While we waited for the rain to subside we did have a glass of wine in the Luna Convento bar one evening which was so nice we stayed for another.
All in all a very peaceful, relaxing hotel, with quirky architecture and a real sense of history. I will return again some day hopefully.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen180176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This is a peaceful and comfortable hotel with old fashioned service. Our luggage was taken to the room while we were offered a drink in the courtyard. The room had a balcony with a view that would be hard to match anywhere in the world. Breakfast was one of the best I have had on the continant and taken in a terrace restaurant with a view of the Amalfi coastline and the town. Parking is difficult everywhere on this coastline so get a bus/train to Amalfi and walk between the towns as the trekking routes are stunning, (but there are LOTS of steps). One of the highlights was watching a tremendous thunderstorm out to sea whilst sipping Limoncello on our balcony at midnight. It is not cheap but then again nothing is in this part of the world. Well worth a night or two here.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms with balcony are a must.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nigelsmithHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews