We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luna Convento
Nearby Hotels
Villa Lara(Amalfi)
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
US$445
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$418
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Residence Amalfi
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$757
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$708
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$835
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$797
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pergola Hotel(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Antica Repubblica(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
381
195
48
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
195
48
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssaracen towercentral courtyardamalfi coastconverted conventpool manprivate poolsteeped in historyunique hotelthe cliffbusy roadshort walkour honeymoonoverlooking the seapainted ceilingsitting areasea wateramazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

During our stay Luna Convento offered us an unforgettable week: magnificent setting in an old monastery, unmatched views on Amalfi. Very friendly and warm staff made our stay perfect.
Especially Alfonso who is very professional. Alfonso was always there when we needed something and made us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnelienW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful stay. The hotel is in an amayzing position overlooking this wonderful coastline. We had a great room with spectacular views.
The main thing about this hotel is the warmth and care from the staff, it's almost like being with family.
A special mention needs to go to Mauritzio, what he doesn't know about wine or customer care isn't worth knowing. Make sure you ask him for local restaurant advise - especially the amayzing Teresa restaurant.
The only feedback to the owners would be to get a new uniform for the staff - shorts and an elegant open neck t shirt would look SO much better especially in the searing Summer heat !!
All in all a joy. Go book, and have a fabulous experience. We shall be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SotoPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A caution to travellers, this hotel is not ‘rustic and charming’, it is run down, in need of a makeover and terrible value for money.

We arrived at the hotel, expecting comfortable and picturesque accommodation, in accordance with the reviews we had read online, and indulgence in line with the high rates. Unfortunately we were severely disappointed.

The rooms (which are appropriately described within the hotels own literature as ‘cells’) are dated, drab, small and uncomfortable. We booked a ‘superior’ room which offered a lovely vista over Amalfi and a large balcony, but not much else. There was not art on the walls to distract us from the basic furnishings. The shower leaked over the bathroom floor and water spilt into the bedroom. How they can justify the 300.00€ per night rate is a mystery.

The communal courtyard and pool area are definitely the stand out features of this hotel. The staff weren’t particularly friendly, although I did appreciate their old fashioned white waiters blazers and bow ties.

Having endured 1 night at Luna Convento, we checked out the next morning, cancelling our second night’s stay. We ventured back to hotel Palazzo Murat where we had stayed the preceding nights. We were thrilled and very lucky that the gorgeous Murat had a room available for us.

I’m sorry to have written such a scathing review, but I feel that the owners either need to pour some money back into this hotel, or reduce their rates drastically.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annie-lou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is not a slick hotel and has its glitches. However with two balconies positioned with views across the bay and the town many sins could be forgiven. The bed was comfortable and the AC worked and was quiet. It is close to Amalfi town and the staff are very helpful. Did not get to the pool as it was down steps and a bit removed.
The old cloister courtyard is lovely and the whole place was founded by St Francis in 1222 so it has a special spirit.
Two main improvements required:
1. the breakfast is not at the level one expects for this sort of property. Too many sweet processed cereals and breads. Needs more natural and healthful options.
2. We went out on the balcony around 11pm to take in the view shutting the sliding door to keep the AC on. To our horror we could not get back in as the door did not open from outside! There was no warning. After imagining a night spent on the tiles amongst the mosquitoes I noticed a neighbour on her balcony and called out. She was kind enough to call the hotel who eventually came to rescue us. Needless to say this is very dangerous and could be so easily avoided by putting a handle on the door from outside.

Room Tip: ask for the suites with views. room 30 was good but watch the sliding door does not close!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Luna Convento is a superb hotel, the staff are very helpful, room was lovely, spotless clean with a beautiful view of the coast and town. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served on the balcony each morning..great way to start your day! The town center is a 5 minute walk downhill, where there are plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liane19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews