We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptionally good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2008

My wife and I had four very enjoyable days at the Luna Convento in Sept 2008. From the moment we arrived we found friendly and efficient staff, especially in the dining room. The food was so good that we ate in every evening, something that we normally would not do. The location was ideal, with wonderful views from our terrace and the dining room, and only a short walk into Amalfi. The pool was accessed across the road, and down a lot of steps.

But apart from that, we have nothing but praise for the Luna Convento. And the Amalfi coast is certainly one of the most beautiful areas we have visited (in all six continents!)

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2008

From it's various descriptions we expected this hotel to be gorgeous. It wasn't and was a disappointment. The lady on the reception when we arrived was unfriendly and unhelpful. As we had arrived early and could not go to our rooms we were told to leave our bags and come back when it was 2 pm. We sort of sat around for a bit, and then went down to the town. We wondered if we had made a terrible mistake with our choice of hotel. It would have been better if she had given us the information about the hotel and it's facilities at that point. Throughout our week's stay we found her unhelpful and gave us basic information to any questions we had, and in the end we decided not to ask any more. The room itself was clean with lovely white linen on the bed, but the bathroom had seen better days. It felt basic to us for a 4 star hotel.

On a good note the service in the restaurant was excellent, as was the food, it was better than a 4 star hotel. Staff very attentive, every day I looked forward to what would be on the menu that evening.

The furnishings in the bar and the restaurant were tired and needed replacing. In fact when we were in the town looking back at the hotel it seemed that it was the only one that hadnt been painted recently and looked run down.

Whilst the food would be a draw I dont think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docholiday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We have just returned from this hotel which was the last stop at the end of our tour of Italy. We wanted to use this time to chill out after seeing the sites and waiting in the queues in some of the major cities. The hotel is in an excellent location (amazing views over Amalfi) and the staff are really friendly and helpful. However, I am a light sleeper and when we arrived we were put in a room just above the road on a bend. The noise from the road was pretty bad and it was difficult to chill out. This was no normal background noise but cars, bikes and buses negotiating the bend and tooting their horns etc till about 3 in the morning. (All that said my partner slept like a baby). I complained and we were eventually moved after 4 nights to a fab room with a huge balcony and because it was higher up and away from the bend it was fairly quiet. I do thoroughly recommend the hotel but just make sure you ask for a room with a balcony as these are the ones higher up. A drink in the cloisters is lovely but pretty expensive at 9 euros for a G n T. Italy is mega expensive anyway and Amalfi is no exception so take plenty spendies.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank snajers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

This was the second part of my 60th birthday holiday as a gift from my husband. Possibly, no definitely, we shouldn't have stayed first for 8 nights at the Grand Hotel, Gardonne Riviera, Lake Garda. This absolutely spoiled us as Amalfi's Luna Convento was only for well-heeled Americans - very well-heeled Americans - demanding Japanese (both of whom the Head Waiter couldn't wait to fawn over) or, in our case, Dame Edna Everage on speed!
The room was very disappointing after our suite in Lake Garda and I could NOT recommend this hotel in any way at all and would definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidLancashire_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We were married in Amalfi in early October 2006 and spent 3 nights at the Luna Convento. The service was tremendous, the views spectacular, and the hotel simply amazing. It was only the two of us staying at the hotel for our wedding, and yet although we arrived in the late afternoon, the hotel staff gladly arranged for our very well traveled suit and wedding dress to be pressed and returned by the next morning in time for our wedding ceremony. And when we returned from our ceremony, the hotel surprised us with a congratulatory bottle of prosecco. We had a deluxe room, not overly large but far from small, and very comfortable. The balcony was quite large and overlooked Amalfi and the bay, with views that were simply incredible, especially into the evening and night. The hotel pool with its location down close to the sea, with only a few steps down to the water was memorable, and the pool served the best mozzarella sandwiches ever. All in all, the views, the hotel history and charm, and the service we received during our stay all together made such a wonderful impression on us that we will surely be staying there again when we return for our anniversary trip sometime.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aglianico06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Spent 2 nights at the Luna Convento in early June. Located 5 minutes from the centre of Amalfi on busy coast road. We arrived by boat from Naples (the best way to travel to Amalfi!). Even though the hotel was visible from the port, it is uphill on the narrrow main road without a pavement, so we got a taxi. This cost 10 euros and we were only in transit for a couple of minutes. However, worth it to not drag our luggage up the hill in the heat etc.
Interior of the hotel is spectacular- an old convent, tastefully refurbished into an hotel. The cloister is used as an open air bar (weather permitting) and is a delightful place to sit with an aperitif! Rooms are individual, with tiled floors, sofa, air con, mini bar and views over the bay. Even though we were above the busy coast road, we were not disturbed by too much traffic noise. Breakfast included in the price was excellent- lots of choice- hot and cold. Even good old English breakfast tea available! We had dinner in the restaurant 1 evening. Sat on the terrace, overlooking Amalfi- very romantic. Good choice of food and wine.
All staff very attentive but unobtrusive. Lots of steps in the hotel, although there is a lift to the hotel entrance. However, this is Amalfi, so you expect LOTS of steps in this region!
Swimming pool is across the road on headland, down lots of steps. Very quite when we were there. Pool towels provided. Becomes shaded in the later afternoon. Toilet and cold water shower available, but no bar or refreshments evident.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

We stayed at the Luna Convento in September of 2007 on the recommendation of a friend who lives nearby.

Though quite old, and in need of some repair, the hotel is overall quite charming, and the location and views are breathtaking. The hotel is a converted convent, so my understanding is that all of the rooms are quite unique.

We received a room that was a bit smallish, with a very tiny balcony. Should we decide to visit again, we will certainly try to book one of the rooms overlooking the restaurant, as they have a much larger balcony and window, allowing guests to fully appreciate and take in the spectacular views.

Despite the smallish room and tiny window, we spent most of our time outside of the room or making use of the private swimming area in the Mediterranean Sea. The private swimming area was by far the highlight of the hotel and is a great spot to escape all of the crowds in the city with a quiet, relatively private area to relax. This area alone is enough to make us seriously consider returning for another stay.

We chose to dine in the restaurant one evening, and the friendly wait staff obliged us with a very private corner table overlooking the city and coastline. Spectacular ambiance; I don't even remember what the food tasted like!

For those looking for an alternative to the Santa Caterina, the Luna Convento, while not cheap, is relatively good value for the money. For those looking for absolute luxury and who are willing to sacrifice price and location, the Santa Caterina may be appealing. We stumbled into the Santa Caterina on accident, and we are fairly price-insensitive travelers - we would still choose the Luna Convento. The Luna is just a remodel away from being a truly elite hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank euwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
742 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
609 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £128 - £604 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing