We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Delightful location just 5 min stroll from Amalfi town centre. Great views of Amalfi bay. Staff very attentive. Breakfast on the terrace is very good. We ate in Amalfi town which has plenty of good restaurants to chose from. Hotel pool is great added facility with choice of swimming in the pool or sea with plenty of sun beds. There are a few steps down to the pool. Crazy driving but manageable and adventurous . Ravello near by was a worthwhile trip to villa Cimbrone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a fantastic hotel. very charming and with a long, fascinating history.
The hotel has a magnificent ocean view, which can also be enjoyed in the restaurant. What I liked best about the hotel:
Very sympathetic staff all over. The restaurant is superb, very good food. Nice breakfast buffet, especially with all the different delicious italian cheeses. The same waiters night and day, doing a very good job, with their charming Giovanni in lead.
All other staff with Alfonso, Salvatore and all the others constantly eager to please.
The hotel has a pool area also with access to sea. I loved that. Pepe is in charge of the pool area and made us all feel welcome and taken good care of.

Room Tip: I suppose all the rooms have ocean view, but some better than others. We had room number 20 which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vivi-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our third visit to Amalfi and the hotel Luna Convento. The luna is a very old hotel with cloistered charm that commands perhaps the best view of the bay of amalfi . The view from the restaurant is simply stunning and should not be missed. The staff are superb and always helpful and friendly with a special mention for Roberto the bar/restaurant who is a credit to the hotel. However and here s the rub the old dame is looking very tired and I don't think anything has been spent on this hotel in the 9 year span of our 3 visits. Only 4 or 5 tables were being used by guests in the restaurant in the evening whereas before it was packed. This gives a very bad impression and puts off guests from using it in my opinion which is a shame as the food is very good and good value too. The worst aspects however are the bedrooms and bathrooms which need a major overhaul. All guests we spoke to felt the same and told us they would not return which is a shame as we love the hotel. I feel unless they address this and other issues the old dame will sink a little further in the water which would be a great pity. Would we go back ? we don't know. With all the competition out there that's a tough question but if they spent a little money on some make up and surgery then yes !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank shaun t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and very much at home. Our room had gorgeous views and was very comfortable. The walk into town is not as long or dangerous or as previous reviewers have made it sound, a few hundred metres of road only, not a problem at all.

The breakfast requires special mention. Eating pastries and cereal with lovely hot coffee on a big balcony overlooking the bay: just bliss. The staff were impeccable and the spread is generous and delicious. If only more hotels did a breakfast as stylish as this.

Special mention also to Signore Pepe at the pool, who looked after us, and the pool itself which is beautiful. It was wonderful to escape the Amalfi crowds and relax in peace by the pool.

My only word of warning would be to avoid the restaurant across the road (above the pool) the view is lovely but the food and wine are overpriced and nowhere near the quality of other local restaurants. Head to Donna Stella for pizza or Lido delle Sirena for seafood pasta, or head around to da Teresa for a truly special Amalfi meal.

Do not hesitate to book into Luna, it's a precious gem of a hotel, in one of the most beautiful parts of Italy. We loved it!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If you are looking for new and modern, this is not the hotel for you. if you are looking for old world charm with GREAT sea views, this is the best place to stay in Amalfi. Yes, the rooms are a bit expensive (and might need a little work) by American standards but are comparable by Italian standards. The vast majority of the rooms have a veranda overlooking the sea. All of the rooms have a sea view. The staff is impeccible and will gladly see to your every need. Cudos to Salvatori, Aldo, Giovanni and Roberto, and of course the manager, Andrea Vozza. Your day will start with the buffet breakfast that has a good selection of everything. I think it is one of the best in Italy - if only because it is serves CRISP (rather than limp and raw) bacon. A visit to the pool is a must. A great place to veg out and just enjoy the magnificent view. Enjoy your favorite cocktail or wine in the cloister before dinner. Although you might be tempted to walk to town for dinner, the restaurant at the hotel (not the one across the street) serves fabulous food with 5 star service. Although I don't want to give away the best travel secrets, if you are there for a romantic stay, Room 24 (a suite) is the best with two levels, two balconies, one overlooking the cloister and one overlooking the sea and a whirlpool bathtub that would comfortably seat 4! However, if you are tall you might not appreciate the rain shower head.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Luna is one of our favourite places in the world. This was our third visit, and it did not disappoint. Let me start from the bottom up.
The pool is a fantastic place to spend the day in privacy.There is a lovely pool and direct access to the sea.Peppe is the pool guy and he is a wonderful person who can sort most things out. he took me snorkelling and we were lucky to catch two octopus (straight to his freezer for later on).
The Restaurant in the tower is the most incredible place for lunch, with views to day for, and really good food and wine....we ate there six times, so got to know the menu pretty well.
Upstairs the courtyard is a magical place to have a pre dinner drink in the cool shade. If you get the chance to persuade them to show you the little church it is beautiful.
The main restaurant has such a beautiful view and this makes breakfast such a good experience.
However this is the one area the hotel needs to think about. The room probably needs some money spent on it, and the evening offer seems quite formal and stuffy. I think people are looking for great food but don't need the formality anymore. Also when you come back late at night, it seems like hey want to close down early, sometimes by about 11am. That said the staff are very attentive and Roberto looked after us really well.
The rooms are good, it is modern and minimalist, it is a converted convent after all. The key is to get a room with a nice balcony, we were fortunate to have one, and has the sun moves behind the hills late afternoon, it gave us a nice hour or so late in the day.
We have a strong emotional connection to Amalfi, and would recommend to anyone to stay in the Luna, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saints2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel Luna Convento is more than an hotel : it is an art of living, having a rest in the cloister, looking endlessly at the sea, visiting the chapel, walking in the different rooms, admiring the paintings and the furnitures, feeling home with the wonderful welcome of Antonella and her team, meeting Andrea, the director, having everyone looking after your comfort and pleasure. And only five minutes from Amalfi's cathedral and the beaches. Breakfast on the terrasse are wonderful, every moment is an enchantment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank diselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
832 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,029 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £144 - £632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing