We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ah Almafi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ah Almafi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

A truly unique and pleasurable stay at this hotel. Through our travel agent and the hotel a private transfer was arranged to collect and return us to the Salerno Train Station, highly recommended. The room allocated to us had an ocean view and was in a quiet part of the hotel. The reception staff were friendly and no question was too difficult to answer. The hotel has a private salt water pool across the road which has a beautiful view of the coast line and plenty of deck chairs available, nice to relax at the end of the day. The room was nice and clean and comfortable for us. It only takes a few minutes to walk to the town ship of Almafi which is blessed with fine restaurants and of course plenty of places to get gelati, we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spooku2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    178
    45
    25
    16
See reviews for
97
347
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I wish I could give this hotel a higher rating. The location is perfect and the views are amazing.

My sister and I just spent two weeks in Italy and at first glance we thought this would be the best out of the four hotels we stayed in. The location was perfect, views amazing and room beautiful. It also provided the best air conditioning which was tough to be satisfied with in any of the other hotels we chose - all in the same category.

Unfortunately, the room #41 which we were given was located right below the main dining room/ restaurant and the two bathrooms for the dining room were located each on the opposite ends of our three room hallway. To get to them patrons and staff had to climb up and down marble stairs. Day 1 we were woken at 7:15A from moving tables and stair climbing but we planned an early start and didn't complain. When we got back later that day we could not even hear ourselves think as the dining room was being prepped for a holiday dinner. The front desk was rude and could care less about the situation - they obviously must hear the complaints all of the time. Day 2 we were woken up at 6:30A and Day 3 5:58A. We did not have the patience to deal with switching rooms but were appalled by the lack of apology or empathy by the staff. At no point did they offer assistance or some sort of compensation or goodwill.

One last note, when we arrived at the hotel were were not welcomed ... not a Buon Giorno, Hello or consideration. We arrived earlier than check in and the small older woman at the front desk was like a sergeant and in a curt manner asked who we are and what we wanted. The front desk staff was horrible.

If you are considering this hotel make sure you are not given rooms 40, 41 or 42!!

Room Tip: Do not let them give you rooms 40-42!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mickee114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a gorgeous family run hotel,with fantastic staff,Antonella at reception was so helpful when advising us of places to visit in the Amalfi area.The setting is perfect,fabulous views and only a 2 minute walk down to the town.The restaurant manager encouraged everyone at breakfast one morning to join in that evenings entertainment,which was live music outside in the beautiful Cloisters,followed by a feast in the dining room,we all sat at tables on the balcony and it really was a magical evening!The Pool is across the road and down some steps and you can swim in the sea from platforms there too.I would highly recommend this hotel and Amalfi town for a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher will have less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

You cannot pick a better location in Amalfi than this hotel. We were just a 2 minute walk to the square, where all the restaurants, bars and happenings can be found. But the reason I booked this hotel was for the pool and direct access to the sea. It was simply picturesque. I was traveling with my two teenage nephews, so they needed activities and not-so fancy food. The staff at Luna Convento were very attentive. Salvatore, the front desk mgr gave us tips every day to ensure a fabulous holiday. Roberto made the best margarita in Italy. And Giovanni ensured us the best table & view when we stay at the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: It is Italy...everything is old and small, but upgrading to a two bedroom apartment gave us the luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spacious hotel with so many amazing features. Open courtyard with lemon trees, birds, fountain - great place to have a drink, read a book. Large salon with amazing views and bar. Beautiful white rooms with terraces for sunning and viewing the sea. Excellent dining room, breakfast buffet is great and so is the cappuccino. Steeped in history, you can feel the amazing energy in this place. Attached to the original Amalfi road. We love it here.
Best feature for me is the view from our balcony- it feels like you are on the sea. Amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Delightful location just 5 min stroll from Amalfi town centre. Great views of Amalfi bay. Staff very attentive. Breakfast on the terrace is very good. We ate in Amalfi town which has plenty of good restaurants to chose from. Hotel pool is great added facility with choice of swimming in the pool or sea with plenty of sun beds. There are a few steps down to the pool. Crazy driving but manageable and adventurous . Ravello near by was a worthwhile trip to villa Cimbrone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a fantastic hotel. very charming and with a long, fascinating history.
The hotel has a magnificent ocean view, which can also be enjoyed in the restaurant. What I liked best about the hotel:
Very sympathetic staff all over. The restaurant is superb, very good food. Nice breakfast buffet, especially with all the different delicious italian cheeses. The same waiters night and day, doing a very good job, with their charming Giovanni in lead.
All other staff with Alfonso, Salvatore and all the others constantly eager to please.
The hotel has a pool area also with access to sea. I loved that. Pepe is in charge of the pool area and made us all feel welcome and taken good care of.

Room Tip: I suppose all the rooms have ocean view, but some better than others. We had room number 20 which ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing