We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique honeymoon experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Luna Convento
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Tipperary
1 review
“Unique honeymoon experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed in this lovely hotel for four nights as part of our honeymoon. The outside of the hotel is deceiving as it is in need of a good coat of paint however it probably is in keeping with the authentic look. We booked a deluxe room as we wanted to be sure of a decent room with a view. I can safely say that I think we got one of the best rooms on the second floor, rm 35 is a great size with a large balcony over looking the sea/town. Service was excellent, room was v clean. Breakfast was a very good warm buffet served on the balcony. We would have no hesitation in returning to this location/hotel. Amalfi is a great town with amazing character. Very safe and friendly.Our only regret is that we did not allow a few more days here. Outdoor pool accross the road is fantastic with sea access to swim. Peppe the supervisor is great craic (fun).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cashel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    178
    45
    25
    16
See reviews for
97
347
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberaeron Cymru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

My partner & I stayed here for a week to explore the Amalfi coast. The staff are pleasant and friendly particularly the lady who serviced our room and the hotels location cannot be faulted as its five minutes walk into town, albeit along a very narrow and busy road.
We stayed half board which was a mistake as I'm always disappointed when eating out to know i could outperform the chef and I'm no gourmet by any stretch.The menu was huge and nothing appeared to have been freshly prepared on the day, with the exception of the whiting in lemon leaves..The uninspired breakfast includes the stale pastries left over from the previous evening and when they ask you if you want coffee ,don't agree because you'll get a pot of instant ! Ask for cappuchino or double expresso with hot milk instead .
All in all this is the Abigails Party of hotels,stuck with a 1970's interpretation of luxury.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelwellstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Luna in Amalfi before and after our wedding in Ravello and we were absolutely delighted with it. It's in a great spot visible from all sorts of other places, with a restaurant and swimming pool built into the rocks on the sea, just across an admittedly hair-raising hairpin bend of a road. Amalfi itself is a busy and popular little town with lots of traffic but the Luna offers complete tranquility and escape from the madness outside. It is a beautiful building, especially around the charming courtyard - my mum and sister stayed in a room next to the reception and it was amazing, all vaulted and tiled beautifully, particularly in the bathroom, and lovely traditional furniture. The room my husband and I stayed in was in the more modern part of the building but was big with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea, and Amalfi to the right. I would struggle to fault anything about this hotel - the food in the hotel restaurant and the restaurant across the road was exquisite, the local wines that we asked the waiters to recommend to us were delicious, the service was attentive and considerate throughout our stay, the breakfast was fresh and plentiful...all in all an amazing experience. I suppose the only downsides for some might be it's location in terms of the road outside which you have to walk on to get to Amalfi itself - along with a fair number of fast-moving vehicles! Also maybe the price - it is quite expensive and it is not a high end hotel but then Italian hotels do tend to be on the pricey side. As a general rule I'd say you'll pay a star above the star rating of the hotel you're staying in and 5 star hotels can be astronomical. That aside, I highly recommend the Luna - it is unique.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveller7793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

Unique hotel since it is located at an old convent. Location is excellent, only 5 minutes walking to Amalfi. Rooms are very nice, clean and have excellent view over the sea. Very nice and helpful staff.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TvT-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2008

My family and I took two rooms in late November as part of our visit to see our youngest, who is studying in Rome. We got a good rate for two rooms (Euro 480) which included a (fair, not great) continental breakfast. The views, ocean sounds, and location to the village of Amalfi are all superb. The room were clean and fresh, and the service quite good. The hotel restaurant was closed as was the facility across the road (which includes a bar, steps down to the water and a pool), and at first we were disappointed in that. But there were wonderful restaurants open in Amalfi (Lido Azzura, and Da Gemma, to name two) and it was pleasant to stroll the town without being swamped by tourists. N.B. there is some traffic noise in the morning, since the hotel sits at the apex of a point, and the traffic must maneuver around tthe sharp curve on a narrow road, so there are sounds of engines and horns, but the sounds of the ocean waves crashing against the bluffs directly under our windows throughout the night in my mind more than compensated. We took the train to Salerno and negotiated with a cabbie at the train station to take us to the hotel for the metered fare, which turned out to be about Euro 70 (which was far better than the transfer offered by the hotel at Euro 120). Going back we did the same thing with a local cabbie we liked, although the (supposedly) differing tariff rates caused the meter to read Euro 87 for the trip back to Salerno. Still better than the hotel's deal. Don't miss a trip to Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, and if you're a walker there are paths galore up into the hills and to adjacent villages. Shop around for gelati cones; the prices varied from 1.50 to 3.50 on the same block. There is a wonderful pottery shop on the right of the main street. I would definitely go back.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — off season closings, limited internet access
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NYLawyer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2008

What a fabulous hotel. Beautiful position in one of the most scenic areas of Italy, with excellent staff, great food and top service. After checking in we were astonished when shown to our room and finding it to be spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the town, the marina, the beach and of course the most fantastic view up the coast towards Positano. The bathroom had a fully opening window onto the balcony - you could step through if you wished - and (pardon me) sitting on the toilet gave you exactly the same view down the coastline. Wow !! Best toilet I have ever used. Our tariff included breakfast but when we checked in we were advised that it also included dinner. We dined in every night and loved the food. Breakfast was also great with a wide range from which to choose including eggs cooked to order. This was a memorable experience and one that we thoroughly recommend to anyone proposing a visit to the Amalfi Coast. Do not miss an opportunity to stay at this hotel.
.

  • Liked — Our room was great & the views were fantastic
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 132012k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2008

Right on the coast - small swimming pool on other side of main road - could in theory swim in sea, but no beach just a jetty to climb down from, used sometimes by boats, so we didn't attempt.

Hotel itself is an old convent, with cloisters and an enclosed courtyard. Room above average, wifi available not in room (walls too thick I suspect) but ok in the cloisters area. Good restaurant.

  • Liked — location and public areas
  • Disliked — small pool a steep climb down
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.7 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Convento

Property: Hotel Luna Convento
Address: 33 Via Pantaleone Comite, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna Convento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luna Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Convento Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing