We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have stayed at the Santa Caterina five different times and can never say enough about this hotel. The staff is beyond belief along with the service; they never forget your preferences from year to year; the location and the view is beyond belief. I cannot chose my favorite room/suite they have always been amazing. I love to wonder around the property and feel like I am the only person in over a 100 years to walk the steps and enjoy the lemon groves that are on the hill side. The restaurant is unbelievable - please go and enjoy a drink beforehand in the lounge with the view. The breakfast is more than you can believe with Prosecco (Italian Champagne) and the best pastries on the planet. I love this place more than any place I have every visted and can never wait to return to heaven!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    91
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
146
593
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our balcony afforded us a magnificent view of the village, the Mediterranean, and the most spectacular sunrises we've ever experienced! The staff went above & beyond to make our stay outstanding in every way! The pool area was a favorite with our sons, and the vistas from the exercise facility made our workouts something amazing! I'm so glad we didn't economize on this particular part of our trip!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

You must stay at Santa Caterina at least once in your lifetime. It is like old Hollywood glamour - white painted walls, white slipcovered furniture, waiters in starched white jackets. It just has an air that makes one feel important - like you've stepped into a movie and Cary Grant should be sitting out on the balcony. It's just a feel and setting you don't see any more. Staff that is perfect - just enough, not too much. Manicured gardens with lemon trees everywhere, views of the most beautiful scenery one can imagine. Our room had the whitest walls and headboard I've ever seen with crisp white linen sheets and wonderful Italian tile floors. The pool is reached by elevator and is very private - right on the waters edge. Breakfast was included in our rate and it is a feast - anything you want and seating is on the balcony looking out at the sun rising over the blue ocean. Try to have dinner there at least one night. It is a beautiful treat. It was a pleasure to experience this property. There are nice hotels and there are expensive hotels and every once in awhile there comes along a magical hotel. Thank you Santa Caterina!

Room Tip: If at all possible get a room that faces the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have stayed at Santa Caterina twice, once for our honeymoon and then again for our one year anniversary. Such phenomenal service. Classic unparalleled luxury. A place like this makes you feel like a celebrity but somehow still feels like home. Breakfast is a wonderful spread and is served in the sunroom overlooking the sea as grape vines grow in an around the windows. The restaurants at the hotel are also incredible. Amalfi itself is a truly magical town and we love to stay there. For us, S.Cat is the Jewel in its crown. Santa Caterina will always have a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: The views from some of the rooms are incredible. Others are peaceful and garden side. The Romeo an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrobrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, Royaume-uni
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We just spent 4 nights at this gorgeous hotel. Things started well , after a hair raising drive along the Amalfi coast and feeling a bit weary and wondering where I would put the car, the hotel porter calmly took my keys, told me he would park it and get our bags to the room. Good. Then to the check in desk where they seemed to know me already, they assured me they had upgraded our room to a suite and a lady took us down to our room in the slightly remote villa. I was almost but not quite embarrassed at the sumptuousness of the room, and then the lady showed us the balcony, a balcony with 2 loungers, a table chairs and bench and a view of the ocean to dream about. My wife and I were stunned.

Things started well and stayed in the same vein for our 5 days. The staff are delightfully caring, and the whole place oozes charm, beauty , and dare I say it a woman's touch. We met one of the 2 lady owners as she was inspecting a room that was bei g upgraded. I'd say she doesn't miss a thing, she being perhaps the reason the place is still wowing clients , and staff , 100 plus years after the family first took ownership.

Yes it's expensive but one feels perhaps almost privileged to be as it were in the fold.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STC12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We spent the last week end in this gorgeous hotel in the heart of the Amalfi coast. Everything was just perfect... Stunning view, amazing garden and lemon terracings and an exceptional private beach club accessible from the hotel with an elevetor with view. The hotel is a Liberty villa with its original ceramic and forniture. The restaurants and the room service are at a very high standard. Finally the staff is always kind and careful to meet all your requests and need. A special attention to kids has been a positive surprise. I would strongly recommend to family and friends. We were just perplexed by seing the fall of a lemon down the cliff in the beach club. It could be very harmful. It has hit my knee with no serious consequences, but it could be fatal if it would have fallen on someone's head.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I planned our trip to Italy for months. We selected the Santa Caterina for a wide variety of reasons, not the least of which was the wonderful view from the rooms to the Mediterranean Sea.

We arrived at the hotel late after a long plane ride to Rome and car trip to Amalfi. The winding roads, blaring horns and dark of night hid the treasures to be discovered in the daylight hours.
The hotel staff was expecting us as they sent the car. We arrived late and tired. The staff greeted us like family.

Upon arriving at the room we discovered a fruit and cheese platter and a bottle of champagne.
The room was a honeymoon suite with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea about 30 meters above the water. While we heard the waves on the shore, we did not fully appreciate the spectacular nature of the property and grounds............and the views.

Upon waking up the following morning we discovered breathtaking views of the Mediterranean Sea and a gorgeous sunrise. It was a harbinger of the week of treats ahead of us.

Quite simply, the Santa Caterina exceeded our expectations in every way. Many famous people have stayed there and it is easy to see why. The grounds were impeccable with blooming flowers even in October when we visited. The food and beverage service was phenomenal and the staff was not only professional but warm and hospitable.

We were close enough to walk to the city center in Amalfi and we did so on many days. We also hired a car and visited Positano and other points of interest on the Amalfi Coast. We took the ferry to Capri and then the hydrofoil to Sorrento. From there we took a bus back to the hotel, giving us the full Amalfi Coast experience..........made wonderful by the return to the hotel room and incredible views of the sea.

Not only would we recommend the hotel to any who visit this area, but we plan to return to the Amalfi Coast in the near future and would definitely stay at the Santa Caterina Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atljpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing