We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed at the Santa Caterina to attend a wedding, and the staff were friendly, unpretentious with great attention to detail, yet unobtrusive in their approach to ensuring one's stay was comfortable and just simply memorable.

If you want to experience service, this is the place to be. Seasoned staffers will meet your every whim with a smile. It is nice to see a hotel with service staff who've been there decades. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheNotTakenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    91
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
146
593
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after booking on Jetsetter and was concerned upon checking in when they kept asking about the Jetsetter certificate, that I was about to get the "Jetsetter room". I was right.

I booked an ocean view room which while spacious, was at best a partial ocean view. Half of the balcony view was blocked by a patio. Also, the room was right by the external elevator that goes down to the beach so the was constant noise from the elevator machinery. As other reviews note, you want to make sure that your room is above the lobby/reception floor.

I rated this hotel at average because at over $800/night, it was no better than average.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MK1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel is everything you would imagine for a visit to the breathtaking Amalfi Coast. We were upgraded to an ocean front room, and it was lovely. The bathroom is big and comfortable, the decor is just what you'd want in a luxury oceanside hotel. The restaurant features a spectacular view as well, and the food is delicious! The staff is always available to help with anything (we had a problem with our power converter, and they were very helpful). Though it was too chilly to swim or enjoy the ocean, the Santa Caterina was the perfect place for us to stay during our visit to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front if you can afford to - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights over easter. What a wonderful experience the staff were so welcoming as soon as we got out of the taxi they knew our names and always addressed us in that way. The reception staff were very helpful too, the best staff were at the breakfast, bar and dinner. I oredered a dessert/cake for my husband as it was his birthday the day we arrived what a wonderful cake they made.
I have stayed in many hotels with excellent staff but Santa Caterina is at the top of the list so far.
Thank you for the cake and making our stay very special.

Room Tip: Balcony sea facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieLondon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Santa Caterina Hotel for a few nights last May. It is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at.

The hotel grounds are immaculate and perfectly situated on the rocky Amalfi Coast. The pool was nicely situated right on the ocean. I enjoyed being able to hop in the ocean for a swim whenever I wanted.

Restaurant Santa Caterina was exquisite. The food was first class and the wine list was one of the best I've ever seen. The service was, without a doubt, the finest we experienced in Italy.

We didn't spring for one of the upgraded rooms. I would say that the normal rooms are fairly small for the price, but given the beauty of the grounds and the view from the balcony, we hardly noticed.

It felt, to me, the perfect location for a honeymoon. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMergott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Excellent hotel in all aspects. Staff are outstanding. Location is stunning. Food is excellent. Staff went out of their way to really help make the trip enjoyable. We stayed in mid-March, so slightly out of season for many local hotels and restaurants, but the big plus was the ability to get around on the narrow roads. Will definitely be heading back

Room Tip: Ocean front is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've been traveling to Amalfi for five years during Ferragosto (during one of Italy's biggest holidays where there are always fireworks at night that could be seen from the hotel's bar) (also the hotel staff make the day/night festive by having a special dinner and singer every year) and will go back this year again. Every time my family and I visit we always stay in Hotel Santa Caterina! The views, staff, accommodations, are of the highest qualities one can ever imagine. The views from every angle is breath taking, and one can make a hallmark card out of each view. The staff is SUPER friendly, knowledgeable in every question asked, they will go beyond their way to accommodate one's requests, and super fun/sweet to talk to. The accommodations that are provided by the hotel is wonderful too, the rooms are super clean (washed and scrubbed every day), anything one needs as if they are home can be found in the hotel (an actual hair dryer & real wooden hangers). Th funniest part of the hotel that it has the best wi-fi I've seen around all of Europe. This year I'll be coming back for the 6th consecutive year and will definitely stay in Santa Caterina.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashurova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.9 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 21 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Destinology, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing