We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable views, atmosphere,service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield county, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable views, atmosphere,service!”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at the Santa Caterina for 4 days as part of a longer vacation to the Amalfi Coast & Capri. We were picked up at Naples Airport by a chauffered Mercedes (140 euros), arranged by the hotel. A bit over an hour of winding hairpin curves, we arrived at this beautiful hotel.

We stayed in Room 42, direct sea view with balcony. The hotel had known it was our anniversary, and they left a bottle of champagne, fresh baked biscottis and cookies as well as a huge fruit bowl. The room was a bit small, but had beautiful Frette linens. The bathroom was spacious and their shampoo products are really great (so take them with you!) The help is very accomodating, friendly and helpful. We fell into a routine of having their delicious buffet breakfast (meats, cheeses, breads, pasteries, eggs - if you want an omlet, let them know and they will make it to order) and then relaxing on the sun deck. The sea is amazing and it is great to have stairs that lead right into the water from the bathing platform. The lounge chairs are very comfortable, and the staff goes through pains to ensure you get the chairs and view that you want to make you happy. I tiped them well to ensure I got what I wanted!

The restaurants are excellent. The outdoor casual restaurant makes wonderful pizzas
(18 euros) in their brick oven. We had pizza many times there, as well as in other places and I can tell you it is the best at the Santa Caterina.

They run a free shuttle down to Amalfi town for a period of time in the morning and the afternoon. The walk is completely do-able, but it is a bit scary since there are no sidewalks, and the cars and mopeds are going so fast. The shuttle does not run after 6 pm. so to get back to the hotel you must either walk or take a taxi (10 euros).

The hotel also makes amazing fried stuffed zucchini flowers. Stuffed with ricotta, they melt in your mouth - they are unreal. (22 euros). We had them with a bottle of wine for a late night snack overlooking the water.

Highlights include walking through their lemon groves, situated along the sea and also finding little benches and quiet places to sit in their many gardens.

It is truly a wonderful, romantic place I would go back to many, many times.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josiegirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    93
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
150
626
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My wife and i have just returned from our second vacation at this wonderful hotel.

Once again - faultless!
What sets this hotel apart from any other we have ever stayed at are the staff, from the efficient and friendly chambermaids along with the waiting staff at breakfast and lunch, via Raffaelo on the terrace through to the utterly fantastic Franco on the front desk.

We visited Le Sirenuse in Positano for lunch and for us there is absolutely no comparison to the Santa Caterina, which is much brighter and airier and has the advantage of the sun deck by the waters edge.

Just a quick note about the restaurants in town....two i would heavily reccomend are "Marina Grande Riviera" overlooking the beach and "Da Gemma", above the shops and at the beginning of the narrow walkway.

Already looking forward to a return visit next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My husband and I just returned from a glorious vacation at the Santa Caterina with our 4 teenage children. Situated on the gorgeous Amalfi coastline, the Santa Caterina provides everything you could possibly want from a luxury hotel. Inviting, sunny public spaces with incredible views, terraced gardens, delicious food and the prettiest setting for a pool/sunning area that you will ever see! The guest rooms and baths are beautiful and spacious--all decorated with the signature ceramic tiles from the Italian coast. Loved the linen sheets!! We appreciated the staff at the Caterina who could not have been more hospitable and solicitous, recommending wonderful restaurants, tour guides and transportation providers. Our five night stay came to end too quickly as we look forward to visiting the Santa Caterina again in the future. It's well worth the cost and effort to reach this paradise!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Santa Caterina is one of our favourite hotel in the Amalfi Coast. It is together with Il San Pietro and Palazzo Sasso (that i have reviewed already) one of the hotels that mantain the charm of this wonderful destination...
It is located on the top of a cliff, few hundred meters out of Amalfi (connected with a free shuttle but only at certain hours) with a fantastic view of the mediterranean sea and of Amalfi.
Having breakfast on the terrace, hearing the birds and looking at the sea, while eating home made marmellades and cakes... well, this is Italy as you have been dreaming about!
They have different room categories, i have been staying here several times and liked them all.... with ceramic tile from Vietri, balcony and sea view...flat screen even in the standard room...maybe on the small size in the entry category, but still confortable.
Very good food at the restaurants, don't be shy and ask if you want something out of the menu...we did almost every day and it was never a problem.
The people that work there, they are there since always...which give to usual guest the nice feeling to came back home and be recognised!
they do not have a beach but a platform right on the rocks that you reach trough an elevator from the hotel. Great swimming there, but deep water... on the platform they have a sea water pool as well...and just few steps up a fantastic al fresco restaurant (usually open for lunch) and a Gym with sea view.
The Spa is very little and a bit unconfortable ( i had to undress in the small room for the treatment)... but the treatments were made very well (and i'm very meticolous about massages, so my wife) and personalised on the base of my requests, which is the only thing that counts for me...
I live in Naples, so i know my way on the Coast and for sure i will continue going once in a while to the Santa Caterina if they keep going with the good job... go for it and if you want the experience of a life time ask for the special suite over the lemon threes path... it comes with a cost, but you will understand where your money go when looking out of the balcony or relaxing on your private infinity pool...
Maybe they need to improve a bit the service at the pool... good traveller are now used to get cold towel, fruit, sunglasses cleaning..etc but perfection do not exist... or it does?

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Er_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bermuda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Great location, lovely rooms, gorgeous views and exceptional service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BermudaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

The Santa Caterina Hotel in Amalfi is HEAVEN ON EARTH!!!
My boyfrirend (now husband) and I had the pleasure of staying at the Santa Caterina Hotel during two very different times of the year. Both times, we had an amazing MAGICAL experience. Not only were the rooms, staff and service superior, but the food...OH THE FOOD was out of this world delicious and the best we have ever tasted. We had the option of going outside the hotel to dine at various restaurants but instead chose to eat every meal at the hotel as it was far superior than anything around. Honestly, we are planning another trip now. Once you have experienced a stay at this hotel, the feeling you have when you are there will become a part of you and you will want to go back as often as you can. Additionally, the VALUE you have there for the service is off the charts. I fully recommend the Santa Caterina Hotel to couples, families, groups and singles traveling alone. I have never written a review before now, but as soon as you experience it yourself, you too will find yourself wanting to tell everyone about your magical experience there too!

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOVE2TRAVEL6708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

My husband and I, along with our daughter and her boyfriend, just came back from Italy. Four nights at the Santa Caterina in Amalfi were the highlight of the trip. This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in, perhaps one of the most beautiful on the Amalfi coast. There are other more glamorous hotels in Positano and Ravello, but for sheer charm and beauty, this one is my pick. It's not glitzy, just pristinely beautiful with white tiled floors, white furniture, and flowers everywhere. We had a beautiful balcony room overlooking the sea, and the king-size bed was very comfortable. A plate of fresh fruit and a vase of flowers greeted us when we entered the rooms. The exquisite pool was an elevator ride down, on a large terrace just above the water's edge. The superb breakfast was served on a terrace overlooking the sea - the pastries were often still warm when we got there, and the fresh fruit and other items were of the highest quality. The service was so friendly and helpful with everything - but never, ever intrusive - that you almost felt like you were the only people in the place.

The Santa Caterina is not actually in town (we preferred the slightly out-of-town location as it was quieter and more private.) You can walk into Amalfi, which we did - it's about a 10 minute walk - but there is also a free shuttle back and forth. If you climbed a bit up the passageways in the town, you could avoid the road. This was our second trip to Amalfi (last time we stayed at the Luna Convento, which was also lovely, but not up to the Santa Caterina.) We were there the first week in April, so we qualified for "low season" pricing, although the weather was warm and lovely every day. At those rates and considering the quality of the experience, the Santa Caterina was a bargain. We loved, loved, loved this hotel and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1.0 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Property: Santa Caterina Hotel
Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing