We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Amalfi but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Caterina Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2009

We have spend 10 days in the hotel. In general I must say that we have enjoyed the place and we would go back when travelling to this location. It has clearly the best location in town - up on the hill with great views but also private access to the sea. So you dont need to go out to the crowded public beach in town. The service and food is excellent but extremelly overpriced - (non-alcohholic fruit mix drink by the pool -17EUR). Service can often depend on level of tipping and its frequency. Rental of private boat trips are also extremely overpriced - prices start at 1000 EUR/day for small 5-6 seatter. Most rooms are spacious and with the sea view, however they can get pretty noisy at night if you happen to have some load neighbours or it the big cruiseships are parked righ out of hotel for the night - having a disco on the deck until late night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marimiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2009

Best location in Amalfi. The hotel is beautiful and the service is perfect.
Very good food, perfect location and amazing sea view every place you go in the hotel.
The Beach/Pool Lounge is great. Lot of sunbeds close to the ocean and a very nice pool.
The concierge service is the best ever. They are the most helpful and kind in the world.
The hotel is close to Amalfi center, 5-8 minutes walking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adribuccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Although when you enter, you may find the hotel a little aged, you soon realize that this is one of the really great hotels, with excellent service. Do charter a boat from the hotel, and visit Capri. It will be the highlight of your trip.

Restaurants both at breakfast and dinner, were very good. There is no beach at the hotel-as in most hotels in Amalfi, but a very convenient lift takes you to a deck where you can swim.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avia2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

This is one of the most beautiful properties I have been too and I have been to a few 5-star hotels/resorts.
The view will blow you away, and it is amazing from wherever you are situated!
They upgraded us to a gorgeous suite when we arrived, and the service was fantastic.
It is a very romantic and special place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarakiOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at the Santa Caterina for 4 days as part of a longer vacation to the Amalfi Coast & Capri. We were picked up at Naples Airport by a chauffered Mercedes (140 euros), arranged by the hotel. A bit over an hour of winding hairpin curves, we arrived at this beautiful hotel.

We stayed in Room 42, direct sea view with balcony. The hotel had known it was our anniversary, and they left a bottle of champagne, fresh baked biscottis and cookies as well as a huge fruit bowl. The room was a bit small, but had beautiful Frette linens. The bathroom was spacious and their shampoo products are really great (so take them with you!) The help is very accomodating, friendly and helpful. We fell into a routine of having their delicious buffet breakfast (meats, cheeses, breads, pasteries, eggs - if you want an omlet, let them know and they will make it to order) and then relaxing on the sun deck. The sea is amazing and it is great to have stairs that lead right into the water from the bathing platform. The lounge chairs are very comfortable, and the staff goes through pains to ensure you get the chairs and view that you want to make you happy. I tiped them well to ensure I got what I wanted!

The restaurants are excellent. The outdoor casual restaurant makes wonderful pizzas
(18 euros) in their brick oven. We had pizza many times there, as well as in other places and I can tell you it is the best at the Santa Caterina.

They run a free shuttle down to Amalfi town for a period of time in the morning and the afternoon. The walk is completely do-able, but it is a bit scary since there are no sidewalks, and the cars and mopeds are going so fast. The shuttle does not run after 6 pm. so to get back to the hotel you must either walk or take a taxi (10 euros).

The hotel also makes amazing fried stuffed zucchini flowers. Stuffed with ricotta, they melt in your mouth - they are unreal. (22 euros). We had them with a bottle of wine for a late night snack overlooking the water.

Highlights include walking through their lemon groves, situated along the sea and also finding little benches and quiet places to sit in their many gardens.

It is truly a wonderful, romantic place I would go back to many, many times.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josiegirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My wife and i have just returned from our second vacation at this wonderful hotel.

Once again - faultless!
What sets this hotel apart from any other we have ever stayed at are the staff, from the efficient and friendly chambermaids along with the waiting staff at breakfast and lunch, via Raffaelo on the terrace through to the utterly fantastic Franco on the front desk.

We visited Le Sirenuse in Positano for lunch and for us there is absolutely no comparison to the Santa Caterina, which is much brighter and airier and has the advantage of the sun deck by the waters edge.

Just a quick note about the restaurants in town....two i would heavily reccomend are "Marina Grande Riviera" overlooking the beach and "Da Gemma", above the shops and at the beginning of the narrow walkway.

Already looking forward to a return visit next year!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

My husband and I just returned from a glorious vacation at the Santa Caterina with our 4 teenage children. Situated on the gorgeous Amalfi coastline, the Santa Caterina provides everything you could possibly want from a luxury hotel. Inviting, sunny public spaces with incredible views, terraced gardens, delicious food and the prettiest setting for a pool/sunning area that you will ever see! The guest rooms and baths are beautiful and spacious--all decorated with the signature ceramic tiles from the Italian coast. Loved the linen sheets!! We appreciated the staff at the Caterina who could not have been more hospitable and solicitous, recommending wonderful restaurants, tour guides and transportation providers. Our five night stay came to end too quickly as we look forward to visiting the Santa Caterina again in the future. It's well worth the cost and effort to reach this paradise!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzanneNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amalfi
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
1 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
660 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Caterina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Caterina Hotel

Address: 9 SS Amalfitana, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#1 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £299 - £1,556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Caterina Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Santa Caterina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Caterina Amalfi
Hotel Santa Caterina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing