We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful spot to sit in the sun--even in winter--and food was pretty good”

Il Gran Caffe e ad Amalfi
Ranked #64 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Cafe, Mediterranean, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“beautiful spot to sit in the sun--even in winter--and food was pretty good”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

During my six-day stay in Amalfi, I had lunch at Il Gran Caffe two days in a row while the weather was sunny and warmish. I got a panini both times and they were good albeit different. I also had a salad which was the best I have had so far in Italy. The service was slow but I was actually very happy to sit there in the sun for two or so hours. I would have been disappointed if they had been faster.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlippyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    48
    24
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's the view not the food”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Great place to relax. I recommend this place for only the setting. The food and service very mediocre. But the view is wonderful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try desserts!”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Nice cafe in Amalfi center. Even if it's hot outside, you can sit in shadow in Gran Caffe and enjoy the view and food. Servants are a bit slow, but if you are not in a hurry this will not bother you :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Munani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“STAY AWAY!!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My handicapped mother was asked to leave this place by the owner, because he did not like the way she looked. Completely overpriced for what they are, and the horrible service they offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful spot”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Il Gran Caffe is situated on the road to Amalfi overlooking the sea. It is a wonderful spot to have a drink and take in the amazing view.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VandaEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Gran Caffe e ad Amalfi also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Gran Caffe e ad Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing