We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holidays Baia D'Amalfi
Ranked #40 of 43 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We arrived late at night by bus from Salerno. As people mentioned the entrance is right in a road tunnel so can be a bit daunting but we had no trouble finding it as I had google street viewed it prior to our visit - like any prepared traveller would!

lots of steps and not lift so for elderly may be an issue and you need to call the phone number on the front door to the hotel (inside, up 3 flights of stairs) to check in. They only take 5 mins from when you call but a problem if you don't have a phone. We had to call for someone who arrived as we were leaving for the day as they didn't.

Now for the best bit - spacious rooms and amazing views out over the ocean and the other side of the town. Our best view on the Amalfi coast during our visit. Rooms were dated but charming certainly well looked after for their apparent age. The family who run the hotel are lovely making us a delicious breakfast on the balcony each morning their little 3 yr old son was a delight with his cars!

The location is also great 2 min walk to the main square and easy access to buses and water taxi. Would definately stay here again if we go back and would recommend to all - its places like this that give you memories and leave you with a smile on your face every time you think of it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was fantastic. My husband and I stayed here for nearly a week and we couldn't have asked for a better place. The staff was friendly, the room was comfortable, and oh, those views! There is truly nothing like staring out your balcony out to the Mediterranean. We were even lucky enough to catch a thunderstorm one night, and it was absolutely wonderful. I can't say enough good things about our experience here! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised by Holidays Baia D'Amalfi. My husband and I spent two nights there in the middle of May 2014. It was very quiet and charming, though there is a bit of wear showing in the furniture.

The hotel is located essentially right on the water next to the bus depot, although finding the door can be a little tricky. Facing away from the buses with the tourist information office just to your left proceed forward through an archway and up a set of stairs. Immediately take the stairs to your right which lead to the main road (Via Matteo Camera). Carefully cross the road and then walk about twenty feet to your right and the door is on the left.

VERY IMPORTANT: If you book online, be sure to email or call them to set up a time for check-in. The front desk is only manned in the mornings during breakfast and so they have to know a time to come for you. There is a number on the door to call in case you forget, but its better to have these things pre-arranged.

We were given the best room in the hotel, (I believe it was called Sinestra or something along those lines) which was past the breakfast area in the back part of the hotel. There was a large, private balcony with beautiful views of the sea and the piers. The room and bathroom was decorated in hand-painted ceramic tiles. The shower was hot and powerful, though a little dark with no light shining directly in the shower.

Breakfast is included in the room rate. Fresh pastries and breads, cereal, yogurt, oranges clearly freshly picked, cheese and salami, fried eggs made to order and sausage. The lovely front-desk lady even managed to scrounge up some decaf tea for me. This is all served on a beautiful outdoor balcony facing the water. There is apparently also a shuttle service to a pool, but we did not take advantage of this while we stayed.

The service was very nice and friendly. We were even given the number of one of the ladies who works there in case we had any problems during our stay. Unfortunately, wifi only works in the reception, but that is a ten second walk from all of the rooms so it is no big deal. TV, Hairdryer, wine opener and soaps all included.

The room is on the third floor of an old building with giant stairs and no elevator. It can be a bit of a hall to carry luggage up there, but then, most of Amalfi involves climbing a lot of stairs so you should just learn to get used to it because you will be hauling that luggage pretty much regardless.

This is one of less-expensive options in beautiful, overpriced Amalfi, but is definitely a steal if you love direct views of the ocean and friendly staff. I had such a lovely time that I wished I had booked the room for longer. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Amalfi. One of the main reasons it was great was due to this hotel, Holidays Baia D'Amalfi. My wife and I spent 4 days there, and had virtually no problems. As with any hotel, there are pluses and minuses, so I'll get them out of the way. First, remember, generally most of the time you get what you pay for. We paid about 90 EUR/night for this hotel. It included parking, and breakfast. The parking was taken care of by staff who will meet you there in the roundabout area where the buses park as we did. You will then follow them about 5 minutes north towards Positano, but make one turn to the right and the parking is by the pool they offer. To retrieve your car, you simply call the guy who "takes care" of your car, and he will pick you up and take you to it. So it takes some planning. If you're in no rush, no worries. I just moved to the area so I discovered my car at the end of our trip had a nice unexplained scratch along the rear bumper. There was a nastier scratch also by my headlight and that too could not be explained. If you're just visiting here, and renting a car, it's completely different.
The location of this hotel was absolutely great. I had read earlier reviews where people complained about the flights of stairs up. And maybe that even took some of the steam off of the reality. It really didn't bother me, or us, but for those with bad knees, you might want to reconsider. The breakfast was really great. But backing up to the staff, I need to give them some credit. There were only 2 or 3 regular staff members there at any given time, and they all worked very hard, making breakfast, cleaning the rooms, and answering questions about anything. They were all so polite, and friendly. They always asked us every morning if we wanted eggs, how we wanted them done, and if we wanted espresso or cappuccino, so they could prepare it.
The room we had was great. It was spacious enough for the necessary things. Now, it's a building from the 16th century I believe, so were there some flaws in the design of the room for today? Certainly, but none you couldn't get past. One we noticed was simply the fact that our bathroom door was glass and at night all the light from the adjacent hallway came straight through another glass (top) portion of the bathroom wall shared with that hallway, and into our room. Somehow, my wife managed to fall asleep. It was probably our biggest concern.
The pool they have is at the parking area I mentioned before, and if you don't mind making the time to arrange it, you can enjoy an amazingly beautiful pool, and breathtaking views as you sunbathe.We enjoyed the hotel overall, and will definitely consider returning.

The location of

Room Tip: Ask for the room with its own balcony/book it early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurostays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Ok let's start with a couple of warnings, the hotel isn't the easiest to find as the entrance door is actually inside a busy road tunnel. Then there are the three floors with giant steps to conquer and there is no lift. But when you step out on the balcony or sip your limoncello on the breakfast area overlooking Amalfi from above all the negatives fade away and become a laughable part of the Amalfi experience. The lady who runs the place bends over backwards to help you. She even bought laundry powder for us to wash our clothes and then the cleaner hanged it all up to dry on the balcony. Thank you for giving us this breath of Italy. Ps the hotel is located a lemon squirt away from the ferry and bus terminals.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms and the room on the highest floor is very very small. Great if you're a hobbit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkadiusz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We arrived in Amalfi by bus without a booking and it was raining. Ran into a tourist agency near the bus depot and was directed to this B&B. Owner came in about 25 minutes and took us only 50 metres to entrance, up 50 steps to third floor. B&B was empty at the time and we were offered what I think is the best room, adjacent to the reception. The room had a large queen bed as well as a single which was convenient to place our cases. Bathroom was reasonable size and there was a small balcony overlooking the harbour with great views of the sea.

As well as the room, guests have access to a large room where breakfast is served and also includes the reception desk. There is an outside semi open deck area and up some narrow stairs, another higher open deck with excellent views.

Breakfast was generally good. The first day, we were offered a huge range of food including fried eggs, sausages, (both cold!!) mini pizza as well as bread, jams, cakes, fruit, juice, yoghurt, coffee and tea. Once the guy realised we did not want all the food, he cut back to what we were eating.

However....

Wifi only works in the reception area, could not get a signal in the room altho other rooms may be better.
Fridge in room does not work but we did use the large fridge in the main kitchen.
Outside deck was a bit grotty although we were there in winter and they may look after this better in other seasons.
Fittings just looking a bit faded and in need of updating.

Room Tip: Go for the room next to reception, it has a mini balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marakesh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great hotel!

The location is perfect with sweeping views of the Mediterranean, and easy asccess to the bus stop and ferry hub. There's a nice outside area where you can sit and eat breakfast, read or surf the web while watching the waves roll in. The maid was amazing, folding our clothes and hanging them up when she cleaned the room - that's something I only experience from 5 star hotels in the states! Every morning there is a delicious breakfast of coffee, juice, cold cuts and pastries.

One warning:

Warning: they don't staff the building at all times, so when you arrive there is a note on the door that tells you to call them and they'll be there in 10 min or less. This can be a problem if you don't have a european cell phone (we were lucky as I'd purchased an italian sim card in rome)

Room Tip: Room number 1 has a little balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themaffeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residenza del Duca Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Porticciolo di Amalfi
0.0 mi away
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
Hotel Croce di Amalfi
#22 of 43 in Amalfi
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holidays Baia D'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holidays Baia D'Amalfi

Address: Via Matteo Camera 5, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range: £46 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holidays Baia D'Amalfi 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holidays Baia D'Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing