We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely harbourside location”
Review of Hotel la Bussola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel la Bussola
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed here twice. Chosen for its excellent harbourside location, just 5 minutes walk from the main piazza and cathedral. Extremely clean and tidy. Good restaurant with satisfactory menu.
Most rooms overlook the harbour. I believe just one or two of the rooms face into the cliff - make sure that you don't get one of these.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamFoxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel la Bussola
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel as a part of a cycling tour. The hotel is perfectly situated right on the water with beautiful views from the balcony. The rooms are a good size and the jet shower was a real bonus, especially after a hard days riding. It's a great spot to stay if you're a cyclist, there are loads of different rides you can do straight from the hotel, although, you had better bring your climbing legs because all the roads go up!
Breakfast every morning was great with a good variety of food to cater for everyone's needs and tastes. I definitely wasn't left hungry!
The walk into the centre of Amalfi only took about five minutes, so it's very convenient.
The only negative was the noise from the street early in the morning, but that didn't bother me too much.
The staff were very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, actually, I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pato2777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hotel La Bussola is in a great location - close to the city center and harbour front - the room we had was quite large on the 3rd floor with a spectacular balcony view of harbour area - a little bit of street noise early on but didn't affect sleep - they had a parking area behind the hotel for €15 per night - breakfast was very good with large choice - staff were very friendly and helpful - the hotel is quite large and caters for tour groups - would stay there again for sure and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 369 had a great balcony view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Recently travelled by bus along Amalfi Coast and stayed one night at this hotel. Amalfi is halfway along this coast so good stopping point. This is a large hotel on the seashore and very close to bus stop so highly convenient. It was low season so hotel was not so expensive as this would be pricey in the summer. Hotel has rooms with balcony facing the sea and a large roof terrace. Rooms are very good with upgraded bathroom but they are not huge . There was lot of trouble with Tv and WiFi while we were there. The hotel was not busy so I guess they fix it for the summer. Staff were good and friendly and the breakfast was adequate. We didnt eat in the hotel.
Amalfi coast is very steep with wonderful sheltered sea and fabulous views. The Sorrento end is nicer than the Salerno end.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TropicalDepression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel was situated in a great location. Just a few minutes walk from the bus stations and town center. We had the superior double room, it came along with a balcony and the view was fantastic. There were also a lot of choices for breakfast in the morning, which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We took a long awaited tour of Europe and spent 4 days at this hotel. It was the highlight of our tour. It was excellent value for money and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, even catering specially for my wife who needs a gluten free diet. The hotel is beautiful in a traditional style and the view from our room was stunning. The drive is a little daunting but it was well worth it and we were sad to move on.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view its a really nice view and great to watch the yachts coming and going.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 21 to 24 September 2013. The shower recess is the tiniest I have been in and a person of average size and weight will struggle. On the positive side, Amalfi is an intoxicatingly beautiful part of the world. The view from our room was just stunning overlooking the sea. The staff at reception were very courteous, kind and helpful - they helped us many times with excellent suggestions. The hotel is a short walk from Amalfi town centre and an even shorter walk to boat services to get to Sorrento, Capri, Positano, Salerno, etc.. We can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evan219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Bussola

Address: Lungomare Dei Cavalieri di Gerusalemme 16, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £124 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel la Bussola 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms with balcony front sea view, air conditioning, parking, good restaurant, Meeting Rooms, American bar, lifts, roof-garden solarium. Well-positioned, in centre of Amalfi, on the Promenade, along the sea. In a quiet, panoramic location, few yards from the Cathedral Square, and the harbour from where every morning several steamers leave to Positano, Capri, Naples and Salerno. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel la Bussola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bussola Amalfi
La Bussola Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing