We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We booked this hotel for one night to break up the drive from Rome to Calabria. We arrived around 3:30PM well past check in time and we were informed that our room wouldnt be ready for another hour. Based on their website they stated they had parking. First off to get to the hotel is a nightmare. One small road packed with cars. My car was nicked in a few areas. Apparently the hotel parking is very limited and only for small cars (basically 2 doors) so they arrange for someone to pick it up and take it to a garage just ten minutes away. When we checked out we had to wait 45 minutes to get the car back. When the room was ready they told us they gave us an upgrade to a bigger room for the same price. This was a lie because the room we got was the one we had reserved in the beginning. The beach was very small and cramped with umbrellas on top of each other. The room was a decent size but it could have been cleaner. There were ants in the bathroom. Breakfast was nothing special. Would not go back here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Direttore at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Guest,

I know it is a nightmare to have a car in Amalfi! We always encourage our Guests to not use a car; Amalfi Coast road is famous to be “the road of 1001 curves”, parking places are very limited and very expensive, garages with valet service are outside of town and sometimes the parking spots they can offer are digged in the rocks!!! We usually send a pre-stay letter to our clients explaining what they have to do if they come with their own car.

We apologize for the late check in, sometimes it can happen during August which is a very busy month; if a room is not available when a new Guest arrives we always try to make him welcome and while waiting the receptionist is ready to offer a refreshing drink and makes sure that everything else is in order. It’s very difficult to grant a free upgrade in August; we just tried to accommodate you in a larger room.

Rocky beaches are one of the features of the Amalfi Coast, where mountains fell down into the sea; the landscape makes The Amalfi Coast a Unesco Heritage Site but also does not allow enough space for large and sandy beaches.

The hotel is surrounded by pine trees and pergolas of bougainvillea, lovely setting for Guests but also perfect home for ants, birds and bees!

Kind regards,

Daniela Carrano
Dir. Hotel Aurora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we had a fantastic time. Our bus trip from Sorrento to Amalfi was not the relaxing trip we thought it would be. Once we arrived at the hotel we were told that there was a better way to travel and this was by boat rather than bus. With the help and friendly advise we arranged to change our train ticket to a later time and to get a boat rather than bus. The hotel Manager arranges weekly drinks for all the hotel guests,we were very impressed,the Manager came around to all the guests and introduced herself.This made for a friendly atmosphere.we had a great time and met some lovely people.
Sue & Dave

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDhammett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Great location, even if it's the last hotel on the waterfront strip. Nice room with beautiful large deck overlooking the sea. Breakfast, and as everywhere in Italy- cappuccino, served by uniformed waiters on waterfront terrace. Very helpful staff, lovely hotel 5 min walk from town center.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

A magical holiday the Aurora is a hidden gem on the beautiful Amalfi coast. Wonderful staff so helpful. Rooms very clean and brilliant house-keeping staff. Loved breakfast on the lovely terrace. We will return

Bob and Carol ^Tomlinson.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We had 8 days at the Aurora in late April - booked a room with a deck - really really worth it. Our Room was not huge, but just fine, our deck was really large, and great to spend our evenings on - just so much happens in Amalfi Harbour. The Hotel had only just opened from its Winter break - but the staff were right into it - courteous, and seemed great with each other - I enjoyed watching them - including the lovely cleaning ladies, have a cup of coffee together before they got the day started - I enjoyed using the internet at the same time - a happy and laughing lot. Breakfast was very good, most of the time we ate it out on their pretty deck, no noise at night, situated so perfectly. The Concierge is just so accommodating, he really is very helpful, as are all the staff. We celebrated our 35th Wedding Anniversary there - the Concierge sent up a bottle of iced wine when he found out. The only thing for us, but we didn't mention it at the time, was we personally found the pillows a little hard for our liking, but again I believe had I mentioned this - that situation would have been sorted

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfbeachrobina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have just come back from a week at the Aurora and had a brilliant time. The hotel is very convenient for all of Amalfi's attractions but also for visiting other places around the coast as it is near to both the harbour (for ferries to Positano, Capri etc.) and the main bus stops (which we used for the bus up to Ravello).
The staff at this hotel really made a difference and helped to make our holiday in Amalfi a fantastic experience. When we arrived to check in we were given recommendations of places to eat. Although the hotel only caters for breakfast when we showed the cards given to us by the hotel at the recommended restaurants in Amalfi we received discount on our meals. The reception staff were always ready to offer advice and maps etc regarding transport for our excursions to Ravello, Positano and Capri. We enjoyed listening to one member of staff play great music one night in a restaurant near the hotel (Lo Smeraldino) and on our last night the night porter, who was always extremely helpful, recommended a pizzeria where we had a great meal. With the help of the team on reception and a map that they gave us we were able to plan a walk from Ravello through Scala and down to Amalfi where the views were spectacular (not suitable for anyone who dislikes walking down steps as the descent into Amalfi was taken using the most steps I have ever walked down in one go!)
We had a room overlooking the sea with a small balcony which was a lovely place to end the day with a cold glass of wine from the reasonably priced mini bar in the room (3 euros for most things). The air conditioning worked well and helped to keep us cool after the hot days. The room was always clean and restocked. Breakfast was good and served on the garden terrace which has lovely views of Amalfi, the staff at breakfast were again excellent and the choice of food and great coffee meant that we were always well set up for the day ahead.
We will definitely stay at the Aurora again. Thank you to all the staff for helping us to have a wonderful holiday in this beautiful part of the world!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

...& that's really all that matters. The Hotel Aurora is located right at sea level, no walking up and down the hills of Amalfi to get to the beach or town. Plus its position at the end of the main harbor means that you get the great views without the noisy blue buses and traffic that accumulates near the bus/ferry depot. A short 2 minute walk down the main beach promenade (great people watching spot) puts you right in the heart of town. If staying here I recommend booking a sea view room, the balconies, which overlook the harbor & sea, are tremendous and are perfect for a game of cards, a glass of wine, and a cigar. The hotel service was good and yes of course the actual hotel building, like everything else in Amalfi was old...just the way it should be. Hotel Aurora is great place to stay in Amalfi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: £129 - £958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing