We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious but not unassuming”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the aurora for 5 relaxing days and received wonderful service in a hotel without many facilities. This did not detract from the simple informality of the hotel
Service went beyond the call of duty. We forget our ipad and Andrea promptly contacted us and made sure it was at our next hotel and emailed to ensure we had received it
If you are looking for a great location superb service this is the hotel for you

Room Tip: A sea facing room but the terrace and garden will compensate
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear JamJill
I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay us. Staff is very reliable and they take care of all guests in any moment. I will be passing on your comments to them that will be pleased.
Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora - Man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aurora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

I chose this hotel because of the reviews in tripadvisor. But please do not choose it if you would like a nice room close to town. Courtyard rooms are terrible.
This hotel is very pricy and overrated. Location is not that good as you have a walk of 10 minutes to the town. And it is really pricy for just old dark rooms.
Their courtyard rooms are really dark and scary. Ours just had one window that opened to a wall. Really awful and claustrofobic!. I would not choose this hotel to stay in amalfi. Amalfi is a small town, so you can better stay in the town itself.

Room Tip: Never choose the courtyard room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingRestAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

good morning
I am very sorry you complained about your stay with us, maybe because you have booked the cheapest accomodation, I guess. You suggested to travellers to find a room in the city centre omitting that all hotel located in the centre haven't sea view because they are closed in the city walls without considering the hustle and bustle night and day! Hotel Aurora is located on the Amalfi's bay at the end of promenade just 500 metres from city centre and we correctly specify the rooms we offer in the description on our web site. Anyway, we will be very happy to offer you a superior room with terrace overlooking the sea at the same rate of our basic accomodation to appreciate services and our helpful staff.
Best regards.
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Man
dcarrano@aurora-hotel.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Wonderful holiday at hotel Aurora.staff very helpful in every way.Will return with pleasure,great location.Worth paying for superior room.Staff recommended some excellent restaurants worth trying especially Il Taro.Breakfast was always very good.Rooms and bathrooms both spotless.Nothing was too much trouble and staff always courteous.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Donna E
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Hotel Aurora. I was delighted that you enjoyed our superior room located at top floor with a stunning view on the Amalfi bay. As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to my team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora -Man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel is great because it is located at the end of the street. Book in the middle and you will not get any sleep. The air conditioning worked great, which can be inconsistent in this part of the world. The staff was the best. I have visited expensive hotels from all over the world, but chose this one because of the reviews, and I must agree with them. Our veranda over looking the ocean was bigger than our room!!! The room is typical. I am an American, and we are spoiled by large lush hotel rooms, but those cannot be found here. This room is simple, clean, perfectly maintained, and all that one could ask. I can be hard to please when cleanliness is an issue, and I was comfortable here. Hot water was readily available. The included morning breakfast was outstanding. I would stay here again with complete confidence. You should probably bring your own hair dryer. The one in my room was tired. I took this picture from our veranda so you could see the view. The size of the veranda is huge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Guest
Many many thanks for this wonderful review which we really appreciate!!! I am very very proud of our staff and I will show them this review for sure. They all work hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and it is so nice to hear when they succeed!! Thank you and please come again.
Daniela Carrano.
Hotel Aurora- Man

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I have never experienced such wonderful service in a hotel. I stayed for one night for business and found the hotel by chance at the last minute, I was only looking for a bed. Instead I found a total suprise, and from check in to check out I was overwhelmed by the service I received. The place is beautiful and wonderfully kept, the room stunning (room 32 on top floor) and breakfast was excellent too.

Room rate was very reasonable and I do not think that you could ask for a better Amalfi hotel experience. Thanks guys!!!

Room Tip: Top floor was very very quiet, but hotel is central so always some gentle noise as well as church be...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Simon F

I was so happy to read your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Aurora. I was so glad to read your kind words and that we met all of your expectations. I do hope that you will be able to come back to the hotel in the near future so we can once again ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our second visit to the Aurora and again it did not disappoint! Firstly the location can't be bettered in Amalfi, it's a five to ten minute (approximately) stroll along the harbour into town with no hills to negotiate in hot weather. This location is also ideal for catching the bus to other locations in the area (5-10 minutes walk from the hotel's front door to the Sita bus stops) and we travelled from here to Ravello, the start of the 'Footpath of the Gods' and Sorrento by bus. Ferries also leave from the harbour (5-10 minutes walk again) and we caught ferries to Capri and Positano with ease. It was great at the end of a busy day sightseeing to be so close to the hotel after stepping off from the ferry or bus. The hotel itself is staffed by a fantastic team who are always willing to help, have great local knowledge, and make you feel at home. We had one of the standard rooms with a small balcony overlooking the sea and loved to sit outside in the evening and listen to the waves and the world going by. The air conditioning in our bedroom worked well and meant that our room was always cool enough to sleep when the temperature outside was warm.The room itself was spotlessly clean with a good television, hairdryer and a well stocked mini bar. Breakfast was a good continental with a selection of hot drinks, juices, fruit, cereals, croissants, cheese, ham etc. This always set us up well for the day and meant that we would often only need one more meal. This was all eaten in a lovely outside area with views of the sea and Amalfi (possible the nicest situation of anywhere I've ever eaten breakfast). The hotel has it's own private spot on the beach and this has sun loungers, umbrellas and towels and for 12 euros per day you can hire your own spot for two! If you want a hotel with great staff, good amenities (wifi is available), lovely rooms and in one of the best locations in Amalfi then choose the Aurora. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear calchris
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words and observations following your recent stay with us at Hotel Aurora. I was delighted that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering our guests. As I always do I have passed on your lovely words to my team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the best in service.
Kind regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Fantastic hotel with a great location and all services you could wish for given the broad variety of things to do on the Amalfi coast. You won't regret choosing this hotel, especially if you go for the roof top terrace room.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_chkalov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear K_chkalov
I was pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us and you found our central location, superior rooms with top terrace and service to be of a very high standard.
Ensuring our guests a very good experience as well as great value is very important to us and something that gives us real pleasure.
Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: £123 - £885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing