We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back.”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife, her sister, and I stayed at the Hotel Aurora for five nights in early May. We chose the hotel based on a reasonable price, availability, and the individual reviews (not the overall rating) on Trip Advisor. After our experience there I can hardly believe this is (currently) only the 12th favorite hotel in Amalfi, according to the reviews. It was first-rate in all respects: impeccably clean room, 180-degree views of the Italian coast (get the terrace view), excellent, substantial breakfast.

Where I think the hotel may have an advantage on the others is that it isn't right on the road, the "coastiera," which is busy with traffic of all kinds, and so it's apparently significantly more quiet than many of the hotels that are currently rated higher on Trip Advisor. Hotel Aurora is easy to miss as you're driving into (and in our case through) Amalfi, because it's accessible only by a very low harbor road that, as it happens, is very convenient to the attractive town and to boat service to the other sights on the coast. Potential guests may imagine that they'll have better views if they're "higher" on the cliffside, but I don't think you could have a much better view than one gets at the Aurora. You get the cliffside behind you and the sea coast in front of you. Possibly the higher-rated hotels are "fancier" (??).

I want to say a special word about the staff. All were very helpful and attentive during our stay, including many suggestions that made us revise, helpfully, some of our less practical ideas. Then they did us an immense favor afterward, going to considerable trouble to mail us a scarf and shoulder bag that we had left in the room and that contained a good deal of money. Everything arrived intact, very conscientiously packed, once we had sorted out how to arrange delivery.

My one hesitation in writing this review is that I'm contributing to a reputation that may make Hotel Aurora better known and more popular. There's something in me that wants to keep this find to myself. But they were really good to us and made our week in Italy very special.

By the way, if you're hesitating between staying in Amalfi and in Positano, I think it's an easy choice. Positano is SO steep that you can hardly move and SO touristy that you hardly feel you're in Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank t_martin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Martin 68
I cried for happiness when I read your comment .You have rewarded all our efforts!!!! my staff and I we could never thank you enough.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you on future visits to Amalfi.

All my best

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Had a top floor room with great sea views from the good sized terrace. All staff were very friendly and professional.
Located at the harbour end of the bay it was nicely quiet but easy to get to the towns restaurants, boats & buses.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Good evening Jillian
many thanks for taking time to share your experience on TA. I will certainly pass such a positive comment to my staff. Hope you will come back to Aurora Hotel in the future.
Many thanks again and best regards.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned after a brilliant holiday. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, gave us advice on where to eat and where to go and even booked us on two tours. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and all that we needed. Next time I would splash out and go for a room with a sea view but for those on a budget the room we had would be perfect.

Breakfast was more than I expected with cereal, fruit, cakes and a hot dish of scrambled eggs and bacon. Coffee was freshly made each time. The view from the terrace across the bay was beautiful.

The Aurora hotel is in an ideal location as the ferry leaves from Amalfi only 5 mins walk away. All tours seem to start at the town centre so no transfer from hotel and early start. The town offers lovely shops, plenty of great eating places and only 10 mins away. For those who like walking we went to the lookout high above the town and experienced amazing views.

I could not recommend the hotel more highly and if we return to Amalfi will certainly stay at the Aurora hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

good evening John T
thank you very much for the wonderful review you have given our Aurora Hotel, it is great to hear that you had such a great time in Amalfi enjoying restaurants , bars and amenities just few minutes walk from the Hotel. Your comments shall be passes onto the staff who are always happy to hear such positive responses. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Daniela carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Aurora is a fantastic place to escape to - all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful; the place is in excellent condition; the views (particularly from the upper rooms with terraces) are amazing; and eating breakfast on the terrace is a joy. The hotel is located near the marina, away from the traffic noise in the centre (five minutes slow walk). Like one or two other people, I would say the bed was on the hard side, but - also like them - this doesn't change my overall view of this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces on the upper floors have the best locations - and sunbeds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAyre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Traveller
Thank you for your review, I was pleased to see that you found the hotel to be great value, rooms comfortable, clean and breakfast to be of large variety.
Please know that I will be passing on your feedback to the rest of my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back a third time!
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The accommodations, the staff, the breakfast all all top notch! We had one of the top floor terrace rooms overlooking the ocean. It is breath-taking and we live on the water in beautiful Florida. I would love to sit out on that deck, smoke a cigar and write a book, perfect for all of that!

Room Tip: Get a top floor terrace ocean view. You will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

So pleased to see that, your stay at the Aurora Hotel was to your satisfaction so much so you gave 5 Stars!!!!! Thanks again. The team will be very happy with such positive recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your visit.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A perfect location in Amalfi close to Marina, restaurants, and transport. The staff at the Hotel were very friendly and helpful with all aspects of our stay. The breakfast was very enjoyable served on the verandah overlooking the beautiful vista of the Amalfi Coast. Thankyou to the staff for accommodating my dietary needs.
Like most of the Hotels in the area they do not have tea & coffee making facilities in your room which is a bit annoying . Terrible hair dryer supplied!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with ocean views NOT just a room with a view as the view could be of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhondaMackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your thorough and honest review. Your comments will be passed on to the team and improvements made where possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Just got back from the Amalfi Coast and an entirely satisfying stay at this hotel. We had a room with a terrace the size of some NYC apartments. The staff was exceptionally helpful--really went beyond the call when we botched a tour plan we'd made. A major benefit of this hotel is that, while it's an easy walk to town, it is just slightly out of the fray, and it was exquisitely quiet as a result. The only aspect of the stay I wouldn't rave about was the bed, which was too hard. Not enough to bump a point from my rating of this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattyBrooklyn_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Owner at Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Good evening PattyBroo

What a wonderful review, we are delighted that you have left the Aurora Hotel so happy. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit please let me know if I can assist in any way .
Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range: £118 - £876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing