We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the Aurora in June this year for 6 nights. 50th bday present for my lovely wife! Fantastic room with balcony overlooking the sea. The view from the balcony was wonderful. We woke up one morning and there was a cruise ship anchored just outside our room or so it seemed! King sized bed was uber comfortable. Great location to explore the town on foot and then take the Ferries to Positano, Capri, Sorrento. Easy access to the hiking trails that take you up to Ravello. Hotel staff were very friendly especially the one guy who checked us in our first night and was still there for breakfast! The setting for the breakfast was post card like, outside on a garden terrace. Easiest way to get here is Train from Rome to Salerno. Ferry from Salerno to Amalfi. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the dock for the Ferries! Very convenient for day trips. Overall a great experience will be back some day!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are best, best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffDeb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear jeffdeb20
Sounds to me like you enjoyed your time with us and that tells me we are doing our job. The team are all very proud of the hotel and we aim for a guest great experience that will ensure guests return year after year. I look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    170
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
67
353
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Hotel Aurora
Delightful little hotel located at the beginning of the Amalfi walkway, in a spectacular spot tucked in between the sea and the rocky cliffs, we favored it because of its location, conveniently far from the hustle and bustle of the town centre jammed with tourists buses at all times, but at the same time within a comfortable 10-15 min. walk from the main piazza.
This is a hidden gem, an oasis of peace, very close to a couple of seaside restaurants and the ferries dock, starting point to all the excursions to Capri Positano etc.
Because the hotel offers only breakfast, one night when we felt lazier we were able to take advantage of the closer restaurant and the concierge staff offered a few coupons to use at this same restaurant and few more in Amalfi.
An all white building with arched exterior walls, done in the local architecture that perfectly integrates with the coastal scenery, this is the equivalent of a small i would say boutique hotel that distincts itself nicely from the nearby larger hotel Gabbiano or the all redone in trendy minimalist fashion Convento dei Cappuccini. I always appreciate staying in a place that reflects the local style and personality, over an all polished appearance.
Breakfast was a joy and a happy way to start every day since it was served in the beautiful Mediterranean gardens flourishing with lemon trees, bouganvilleas, trellises all around, sipping coffee and enjoying the view. The breakfast buffet was generous and we enjoyed interacting with a wait staff member in particular, a British expat who enjoyed living and working in beautiful Amalfi -- who would not?
The interiors of the hotel, in particular the lobby, has a tasteful local decor. Our room was clean, still spacious enough with the addition of a third bed for my mother, and came with a big balcony we hardly used, but still it was nice to have it since we did not make any special request. The only minus was the bathroom had a shower, not a bath tub.
The concierge service is 24 hours, there is computer access near the lobby, and elevator to the upper floor, in other words this small hotel offers anything a larger one would have.
We definitely got what we expected and more from this 2 star hotel that after our stay was upgraded to 4 stars. A rating fully deserved.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear hanaM
thanks for this review, and thanks for taking a few moments to post it, I know a lot of our guests use Tripadvisor to choose a hotel and my staff and I really appreciate that. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Blue seas and bright red geraniums and your own piece of paradise. We chose this location due to the beautiful pictures on their website and weren't disappointed. We spent extra and enjoyed a room with a balcony and sea view and loved it. Breakfast outside in the garden terrace is priceless. The best part about this hotel is it is tucked out of the way of the busy town but is only a 5 minute stroll away, without compromising the views. They are stunning.
The staff are very helpful. Due to Andrew's suggestions we enjoyed some lovely meals, especially the restaurant right next door. He also gave us some great tips on walks. Other staff were just as lovely and especially welcoming at breakfast, always quick to serve you your own fresh pot of coffee or tea. Lovely service, clean rooms and a lovely seaside escape. Would definitely go back, if only we could!

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and get a room with a view (and a balcony of course).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear jakieH
Thank you for the positive review, we do like to keep our hotel as up to date as possible and it's good to see that the attention to detail is reflected in your opinion. We are glad to hear you will be back and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
With my best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, Ca.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had the extreme pleasure of staying four nights this past April. The hotel had just opened for the season. We got lucky!
The Aurora is situated at the end of a quiet road in the harbor just a short walk from the center of town. Perched on a small hill, the ocean views are unobstructed as we had a large patio, room was large and nicely furnished with beautiful Italian tile flooring throughout.
Service is warm, efficient and friendly! It was my boyfriends birthday and the front desk treated us to sparkling wine and snacks. Special thanks to Andreas, Walter and our server Andrew. The three of you made our stay even more special.
We were so delighted to see eggs and bacon included with the breakfast! After two weeks in Northern Italy with the usual "breakfast buffet" it was nice to have a bigger selection.
We hope to return next year and Hotel Aurora will be our choice.
Also, the outdoor gardens are a sight to see and perfect photo opp. Lemon trees, red geraniums, and various colors including tiled walkways welcome guests for coffee or just to enjoy the amazing view!
If you are planning a trip to the Amalfi Coast this is the place to stay. the hotel even offers a small apt. with kitchen for larger parties. Positano is a short busride away. Prices are higher there and it just did not have the same welcome feeling. We referred to it as the "Rodeo Drive" of Amalfi. A nice place to visit for the day, but then get out and return to Hotel Aurora.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a room with patio and ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loisp9154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good evening Loisp9154
Thank you for leaving such a glowing review of our Aurora Hotel, it is great to hear that our highly valued guests are having such positive experiences. I will pass your comment to my staff that will be so grateful.
We look forward to welcoming you on future trip to Amalfi

with my warm regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

My wife, her sister, and I stayed at the Hotel Aurora for five nights in early May. We chose the hotel based on a reasonable price, availability, and the individual reviews (not the overall rating) on Trip Advisor. After our experience there I can hardly believe this is (currently) only the 12th favorite hotel in Amalfi, according to the reviews. It was first-rate in all respects: impeccably clean room, 180-degree views of the Italian coast (get the terrace view), excellent, substantial breakfast.

Where I think the hotel may have an advantage on the others is that it isn't right on the road, the "coastiera," which is busy with traffic of all kinds, and so it's apparently significantly more quiet than many of the hotels that are currently rated higher on Trip Advisor. Hotel Aurora is easy to miss as you're driving into (and in our case through) Amalfi, because it's accessible only by a very low harbor road that, as it happens, is very convenient to the attractive town and to boat service to the other sights on the coast. Potential guests may imagine that they'll have better views if they're "higher" on the cliffside, but I don't think you could have a much better view than one gets at the Aurora. You get the cliffside behind you and the sea coast in front of you. Possibly the higher-rated hotels are "fancier" (??).

I want to say a special word about the staff. All were very helpful and attentive during our stay, including many suggestions that made us revise, helpfully, some of our less practical ideas. Then they did us an immense favor afterward, going to considerable trouble to mail us a scarf and shoulder bag that we had left in the room and that contained a good deal of money. Everything arrived intact, very conscientiously packed, once we had sorted out how to arrange delivery.

My one hesitation in writing this review is that I'm contributing to a reputation that may make Hotel Aurora better known and more popular. There's something in me that wants to keep this find to myself. But they were really good to us and made our week in Italy very special.

By the way, if you're hesitating between staying in Amalfi and in Positano, I think it's an easy choice. Positano is SO steep that you can hardly move and SO touristy that you hardly feel you're in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t_martin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Martin 68
I cried for happiness when I read your comment .You have rewarded all our efforts!!!! my staff and I we could never thank you enough.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you on future visits to Amalfi.

All my best

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
987 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights. Had a top floor room with great sea views from the good sized terrace. All staff were very friendly and professional.
Located at the harbour end of the bay it was nicely quiet but easy to get to the towns restaurants, boats & buses.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Good evening Jillian
many thanks for taking time to share your experience on TA. I will certainly pass such a positive comment to my staff. Hope you will come back to Aurora Hotel in the future.
Many thanks again and best regards.

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have just returned after a brilliant holiday. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, gave us advice on where to eat and where to go and even booked us on two tours. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and all that we needed. Next time I would splash out and go for a room with a sea view but for those on a budget the room we had would be perfect.

Breakfast was more than I expected with cereal, fruit, cakes and a hot dish of scrambled eggs and bacon. Coffee was freshly made each time. The view from the terrace across the bay was beautiful.

The Aurora hotel is in an ideal location as the ferry leaves from Amalfi only 5 mins walk away. All tours seem to start at the town centre so no transfer from hotel and early start. The town offers lovely shops, plenty of great eating places and only 10 mins away. For those who like walking we went to the lookout high above the town and experienced amazing views.

I could not recommend the hotel more highly and if we return to Amalfi will certainly stay at the Aurora hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
good evening John T
thank you very much for the wonderful review you have given our Aurora Hotel, it is great to hear that you had such a great time in Amalfi enjoying restaurants , bars and amenities just few minutes walk from the Hotel. Your comments shall be passes onto the staff who are always happy to hear such positive responses. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Daniela carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing