We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed here for a week at the end of August booking a sea view standard room as part of a package holiday and had a wonderful time. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly - especially Andrew and Andrea and they dealt with every question and query quickly and efficiently. The spotlessly clean room we were allocated had a wonderful view of the town and the harbour which we were able to enjoy from the balcony. An excellent breakfast was served every morning on a pretty terrace that also overlooked the harbour. The hotel has its own secluded area of the beach and sun beds can be reserved at reception at a modest cost. The hotel is located a gentle 5 minute stroll from the centre of Amalfi which enabled us to enjoy the buzz and atmosphere of the lovely town squares in the evening. We will definitely return to the Aorora and highly recommend it. Peter & Debbie Maddox, Swansea.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have large terraces with sun beds. Our room was on the second floor and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for your beautiful comment! I am very happy to hear that you received a warm attention from our team and found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean. We are so pleased that you felt relaxed here enjoying the view on the bay during your daily breakfast! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Warm regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    177
    43
    12
    10
See reviews for
68
361
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family of 5 (kids ages 12, 14, and 16) stayed in the aurora residences for a very comfortable 10 days. The friendliness and warmth of the staff was so appreciated. Andrea was fabulous with his prompt communications and always available to answer any and all questions. The space, cleanliness, and hospitality truly made our stay perfect. We highly recommend Hotel Aurora when staying in Amalfi.

Room Tip: The Aurora apartments (residences) are a great large family "home base". No views, but abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyHBCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Aurora during your visit to Amalfi this year.
Apartments are suitable especially for family. It’s lovely to hear that you received a warm welcome from our team and found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean. We are so pleased that you felt relaxed here and that your stay with us set you up well for your road trip around Amalfi coast!

We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps on a future visit

Best regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked a standard room through our travel agent, the images we were shown in the brochure (and on the website) are for much better rooms. We were advised we had a mountain view not a sea view but when you opened the window it was of a brick wall! The rooms were clean and staff were friendly however noise was a real issue. When guests came back to their rooms late at night or early in the morning (2 or 3am) the noise would travel and would wake us, we could even hear the reception phone ringing one level down, I can only assume this is due to the tiled floors and all of the doors being open. The breakfast was very basic but a lovely setting. The location is perfect to walk into town (about a 10min stroll) without endless steps. A very convenient location, however I am surprised it is considered 4 stars.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher in the hotel to avoid the reception noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zickyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

I am disappointed to read about your experience at the hotel due to have had a standard room with courtyard view maybe. I’m very sorry about the inconvenient the other clients caused to come and go night and day. I apologize but we will not cover our decorated tiled floor with an impersonal carpet because ceramic of Vietri is our tradition and we are very proud of it. It could be a bit noise but how bright and colorful! I do hope I get the opportunity to contact you personally to follow up on your experience.
Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I splurged on a room with a terrace and had no regrets. The accommodations were very comfortable, the view from the terrace was amazing, the staff was wonderful and happy to recommend great hiking trails and restaurants.
We will return and would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
I very much enjoyed to read your comments and have communicated them with the Team who were delighted to hear them! I am glad that you enjoyed room with sea view, hiking trails and restaurants recommended by the staff.
Thrilled by the news that you will return to us again I can say that we are looking forward to welcoming you back with us!

Warm regards
Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Entered the hotel and room with some reservations since it was not a four star as advertised. However, the friendliness and helpfulness of staff elevated the quality of stay to four star. The hotel was a very easy walk to the main part of Amalfi, including the church and an excellent patiserrie with choc coated cherries to die for. We came away very satisfied with the hotel and particularly the excellent staff.

Room Tip: Highest floor gave best view with very large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it helps us enormously to maintain our standards. I have passed on your comments to the relevant departments regarding the maintenance and there will be improvements where necessary. We do hope we get the opportunity to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed in hotel Aurora which is very convenient for Amalfi's town centre but sufficiently far down the coast to be very quiet ( a slow ten minute walk to the centre). Large room with efficient and quiet air con and good bathroom. Immaculately clean and nice simple italian decor. Very friendly and helpful staff. Aurora serves breakfast outside when the weather is fine but no restaurant or swimming pool. Very good prices. The ideal place to stay if you want a comfortable and peaceful hotel. Lovely sea views across the bay. No steep hills to climb in the boiling sun!

Room Tip: Ask for sea view as many room have balconies or large terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us especially our location, helpful staff and cleaning. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just returned from Amalfi. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel, which speaks for itself. It is in a beautiful location, a short level walk to the town centre. It is a peaceful oasis - hotels in the town itself are constantly surrounded by noise and bustle. The rooms are spotless. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is in the beautiful garden with views of the sea framed by the bougainvillea.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not have a view - you get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuroraAmalfi, Manager at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
It is nice to know you are regular visitors with Aurora Hotel. Have you joined as a member with us? This gives you benefits such as complimentary breakfast and wifi on arrival and many other special offers. Next time you make a reservation with us, ask the reservations staff and they will be happy to give you further information. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Aurora Hotel soon!
Best regards

Daniela Carrano
Hotel Aurora Amalfi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing