We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Family of 4 (two parents, 2 teenagers) from Pennsylvania stayed for the second time in three years at the Aurora. It is our absolute favorite Hotel. It sits at the base of the mountains within walking distance of the town of Amalfi. The views and scenery from the outdoor decks, with the contrast of the azure water, white hotel, green vegetation and pink bouganvilles is just breathtaking. La Passeggiata past the fishing boats, beaches and restaurants to the Piazza Duomo in Amalfi sooths the soul. It has a private beach. The hotel is extremely clean and the staff, who know English, go out of their way to make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOMA_Italian_Market
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    170
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
67
352
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2009

My wife and I celebrated our 5th wedding aniversary in Amalfi. We spend 4 nights and we had a really good time there. We reserved a room with sea view from their website, but because of the not very high season, for the same price we got a sea view with terrace on the top floor, a must for everyone. The room was clean and very large with fournishing in old style that is giving a flavour of other ages. The bathroom had both bath and shower (separate) but the shower was a bit tiny. From the terrace we could see the Amalfi gulf, an amazing view. But the best was to see the moon mirroring in the water by night. THe breakfast was held on a terrace looking at the sea, covered by umbrellas and bougainvilleas. The breakfast itself was quite simple: you could get whatever you want (from continental to british) but with not much choice. But to tell the truth eating was the last from our holiday. The people at the hotel were always very helpful and kind. They have a garage where to keep the car at 15 euro per day (less than the 18 asked by other garage in town that are in any case not so close as the hotel one). The hotel is 10 minutes of slow walking from the center of Amalfi (the cathedral) and just 5 minutes from the bus stop and the dock where you can take the boat to Positano or Capri. Definitly a great place where to stay if you want to see the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

it was great being so close to the hub of Amalfi but far enough away for it not to feel too touristy! the hotel is located very close to the water - so it was great that you didnt have to trek 200m up a steep hill like many hotels.
you must hire a speed boat for a day - no license needed (only in Italy)!! we cruised around to positano and anchored at one of the smaller islands for lunch/swimming - it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

This was my second stay at the Aurora and foud it to excellent once again.
The location is ideal, a couple of minutes walk to the centre with the beach just opposite.
Big clean room with balcony and sea view. Pretty terrace for breakfast each morning. Very friendly staff. Reasonable rates. What more can I say?

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Our honeymoon consisted of a leisure two weeks along the Amalfi Coast. The Aurora Hotel, in Amalfi, was our first stop. The location is perfect, as it is at the end of town and down by the waterfront, offering wonderful views of the sea. Breakfast is served on the veranda, covered with a trellis of climbing flowers and lemons. There is plenty to eat and the menu is exactly as it should be for a good continental breakfast. It is absolutely incredible. The walk to town is only 5 minutes. The room had a breathtaking view of the town and sea. The staff assistance was impeccable. We loved this place and will plan to stay again. A big thanks to Andrea, Andrew and the young man who helped us find our luggage.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kashmirohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy and USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

The Aurora Hotel was a very pleasant place to stay.
They helped with making every aspect of the trip enjoyable even down to recommending very fine restuarants to eat.
I would recommend the hotel to my family and friends. It was just right for a fantastic get away with a friend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akariddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

very easy to get to and in walking distance of the town and restauraunts.. staff were very helpul and had great english.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ireland2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing