We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise is vertical”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
near London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“paradise is vertical”
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The location is wonderful - you don't need shuttle buses or to be super fit to cope with the return from town- it's flat.
The staff are great- friendly, helpful but not pushy
We paid the extra for a superior room and it was definitely worth it.
I'm a light sleeper and slept well which in Italy is unusual
Would I recommend this hotel- definitely; a three star find ( don't expect five star and you won't be disappointed and don't forget that all costs are high when you compare the Euro and the pound)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2holidaymakers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    178
    43
    12
    10
See reviews for
68
362
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Take breakfast , morning or afternoon tea on the garden terrace, ask at reception for use of PC (at nominal charge), staff very friendly and speak English, manger can arrange private limousine to points of interest, possibility of free concert tickets and other select cultural events in season - ask manager.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OztouristPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon in Italy and loved it! It's at one end of the main shopping area, not right in the middle of it, so it's nice and quiet, but only 5 minutes walk. The staff are lovely and waited up for us when we missed the first bus from Salerno and arrived close to 10pm. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious, with a fantastic balcony overlooking the water- a great place to rest in the early evening before heading out to dinner. The breakfast is lovely and comes with the best coffee I've ever tasted! I'd been waiting to taste really good coffee during our trip to Italy, and just hadn't found it- until Hotel Aurora! Smooth, rich- perfect

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalyLover2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We were upgraded to an air conditioned room which was a great relief as it was extremely hot. We had balconies overlooking the sea. Rooms and bathrooms were big. Breakfast was served on the patio overlooking the sea. There was parking outside hotel at a fee of E10. Garage Parking was E15. The private beach was just below and very clean and not crowded. It cost E12 a day for 2 beach chairs an umbrella and 2 beach towels. You booked the chairs and they were yours all day. This was cheap with other beaches in Italy. The hotel was an easy 5-10 minute walk from centre

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moree48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This is the best hotel we ever stayed in for several reasons. Firstly Andrea (the manager) and the rest of the staff go above and beyond their duty for each guest. They are so helpful and kind I can't speak highly enough of them all. The hotel itself has the best location in Amalfi - right on the water, also unlike other hotels in the area you dont have to climb steps or get a taxi from town, its 5 mins from the town walking. We looked forward to breakfast each morning as not only was the food exceptional but the view from the breakfast area was breathtaking! Finally the hotel has its own private beach across the road, literally 30seconds away and it was uncrowded even in peak season. Overall 11/10!! Thanks Andrea for a lovely stay we will certainly be back for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcginleyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed at the Aurora only one night, but could have easity stayed the whole week! When we booked two rooms for our family of 5, we were told that only one with a view of the sea was available. When we arrived, both rooms were with a sea view and terrace! The concierges were exceptionally friendly and were the most helpful of any receptions of the 6 hotels in which we stayed in Europe! The rooms were large, very clean and tastefully decorated. Bathrooms were large with double sinks, ample counter space, and stand-up showers! The breakfast on a lovely garden terrace was standard European, but especially nice due to the terrace. The staff were extremely attentive to making sure all foods were stocked, and coffe available. Breakfast is the only meal, there is no restaurant. We arrived by boat, and were able to easily walk the 1-1/2 blocks to the end of the street along the water to the hotel. The concierge recommended several restaurants, and the one we tried was excellent. (They had a fabulous white wine made in Ravello, a must to try!) Overall - don't let the Aurora's modest exterior fool you. This hotel is just fine! We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nantrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richhill
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed at the Aurora in July and the location is about 10 mins walk to the town. Rooms 13-15 have an unrestricted view of the harbour 16 -18 have sea views with restricted view of harbour & some large tree branches from a neighbouring hotel. The Breakfast area needs the hedge cut & you cant see the harbour when sitting at your table. Breakfast was ordinary - 3 cerals, ham, cheese, rolls, tea(not very hot) & coffee. The staff were friendly and courteous. The lift is great as there are about 50 steps from ground level to the 2nd floor. Rooms were cleaned every day but shower gel not always replaced. Mini bar prices were €3 for everything which was,nt bad. Nice place but would,nt pay the price they were quoting if you were booking it as an individual.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoArmaghonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Piazzale Dei Protontini 7, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Hotel is the perfect spot to spend an unforgettable holiday in Amalfi.Located nearby the Amalfi Marina, the hotel is only 500 meters from the hustle and bustle of Piazza Duomo. It is the ideal accommodation for visiting the Amalfi Coast and its picturesque villages, such as Ravello, Positano, Capri and even the Pompeii Excavation, which are all within easy reach. The bus station and the wharf are only 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. After a long day-trip, Aurora Hotel is just a short walk to downtown and the beach, and it is accessible without climbing stairs. One final recommendation from the hotel management: if you want to spend a few relaxing days in Amalfi, please check Aurora Hotel location on Google Maps and compare it with other hotels. Most of Amalfi hotels are located in the noisy old Town, accessible by climbing long stairs; some others are located on the highway to Positano, so you will need to take the bus, a taxi or your car in order to reach the city, driving down one of the busiest roads in Italy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing