We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but needs a bit of improvement”
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Lovely hotel especially the swimming platform for the sea. Friendly and helpful staff. However there were no English speaking TV channels at all, the wi fi was not free and was incredibly slow and hit and miss., room on the small side. This compared unfavourably with the hotel we stayed in in Rome which was cheaper and had free wi fi and BBC world. The walk back to the hotel is quite a climb in hot weather and the bus service to and from the hotel is limited. Probably better off to stay nearer the town. Amalfi is expensive but not sure this hotel is great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerseylilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

we spent 3 days here , staff at reception were great very helpful and always smiling, the breakfast staff they were very slow and not helpful at all took forever to serve us coffee and tea a little disappointing, the lunch staff were nicer but the servings were quite small and pricey though , all in all the place was good and would recommend, the view of Amalfi words cant describe

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazoz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The views were outstanding from the restaurant and the hotel was a short walk from Amalfi. A bit tricky and all down hill but we did it several times and no big deal. The Hotel did offer a shuttle if required. The reception ladies were very friendly and helpful.
Restaurant staff behavior was some where between indifferent and arrogant. We were there 5 days and had dinner once and lunch once and after each meal decided to go into Amalfi for the rest of the trip. Some excellent restaurants in town. We had to put up with breakfast mainly because the view was lovely first things in the morning regardless of the food and service which was very average,
The rooms were clean and tidy but walls were thin and we had a family next to us for three nights that had a major argument for about an hour about 10.30 pm. We were also put in what I think was the smallest and poorest positioned room in the hotel on the lowest floor and it had a large plant obscuring the view of Amalfi. The Air con was very noisy and kept kicking in and made sleep difficult some nights.
Food was average and not as good as the hotel things it is.
Our only dinner experience was interesting. Before eating we sat on the balcony waiting for the waiter to offer us a drink, this did not happen and we gave up after 20 minutes and went straight into the restaurant. We arrived for an early dinner and were seated as the only persons on the balcony with 40 tables. Another couple arrived and they sat them right next to us. They were smokers and immediately started smoking which drifted across our table. We asked to be moved which did not go down very well? Then the staff started laughing and joking with the smokers. We were definitely the bad guys with just functional service. No professional restaurant would have sat tables together in the first place and they would have dealt with the smoking much more tactfully. We did notice that the restaurant staff were a lot more friendly to the Italian guests. No objection to smokers just not in my face when eating.
All in all a basic 3 star hotel living on a good view.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel and try for the higher floors. Top floor is reception and levels go down, Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Miramalfi back in May 2012 and was the last leg of an 11 day trip around Italy. We were there for 3 full days and 4 nights and really did not know what to expect aside from a cool pool area and great views.

When we first booked I anticipated a bit more of a luxurious hotel than what it actually is, however that's not to say that it isn't a nice place. We missed the boat from Salerno and had to take the bus, once we got off it was a nice little hike up the cliff to get to the hotel. Luckily the Miramalfi is in an excellent location and really only a 10-15 min walk to the center of town. Once we got there we were instantly excited to see the room; the lobby is real nice and the restaurant/bar area are cool. Everything was very clean.

We got to our room and I dont want to say I was dissapointed but was hoping for a little more. It was clean, the bathroom was nice, had a balcony with great view(as they all do), but it was just a bit plain and nothng special. So nothing bad but nothing to rave as far as rooms go. My one complaint was that the walls are paper thin and you can hear people next to you quite well.

The pool is great and the poolside service was awesome. No complaints there at all and we thoroughly enjoyed the pool area.

The restaurant was also very nice. Food was good, again nothing amazing but nothing to complain about at all. It was a very quiet restaurant which weirded me out a little as I'm used to a bit more hustle/bustle when dining out.

The staff was always helpful and very nice.

Overall I'd recommend this place for a first time visit to Amalfi, if I were to go agian I'd try to find a bit better room. The views are incredible as well as location. It made for a very nice end to our trip.

Room Tip: either a corner or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012 via mobile

The place was perfect! With a huge balcony with sun beds! The view is just amazing. They got nice employees and a private bus that takes you too the city. You can easily walk your way to the city, but the stairs and road can be a bit tiresome and sometimes dangerous. From here you can take the ferry to Capri a must see! Also the restaurant "La Perla" in the city is a great place with nice food and romantic setting! A side note, we had room number 6 this room had a superb view towards the city of Amalfi and the sea because it was located at a corner of the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvanslimming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights July 2012, situated just outside Amalfi with stunning views of the harbour area from hotels rooms, bars and restaurants. Rooftop bar which is at road level is very contemporary with regular cocktail evenings with free canapés, inside bar areas are a little more dated as is the reception and lounge area. Wifi was free in the lounge but very hit and miss during our stay. We stayed half board and unfortunately the food did not live up to previous Italian hotels in which we've stayed, breakfast was good and plentiful. Booked through Citalia our room and balcony was small but then we didn't go on holiday to sit in our room. Rooms below the restaurant appeared to have much larger terrace/balcony not sure size of rooms. Pool and sun deck accessed via lift through cliff with plenty of sun loungers available through the day, adequate size salt water pool. 10min stroll into town all down hill, hence longer more tiring hike back, although a limited bus shuttle is available. Staff are very accommodating and attentive in all areas.
Would return but only B&B next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank val-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We took a 2 week trip to Italy in September 2010. It was warm, but not too bad. We were lucky enough to stay 4 days in Amalfi and I wish we could of done the entire 2 weeks here.

Our room was just perfect for the amount of time we stayed. Not too big, not too small. Maid service was just fine, never had to call for anything. We did have a minor problem with the tub drain sticking closed so the poor maintence man had to stick his hands in my bath water. Poor guy...

As you may know, bathrooms in foreign countries are not extreme like they are in the States, so don't freak out when yours isn't 500sf. It was adequate.

We had an amazing view of the water and downtown area of Amalfi. We could leave our balcony doors/windows open and enjoy the evening breezes as well. All staff were excellent and very accomadating to helping us in English, however we always tried our best at conversing in Italian first. After all, we are visitors and its not up to them to speak English all the time. But it was a great help. Staff gave us directions and great ideas of things to do while in town.

No need for a car rental, as you can follow the path on the side of the road (as well as on the actual road itself at some points) into downtown. Make sure you have your good sandals on...flip flops might be a hazard in some spots. Explore all the nooks and crannies the streets have to offer, you don't want to miss anything. TAKE TONS OF PICTURES!! All the photos you see of the coast in this area do it no justice when you are actually there. Houses in the hillside and colors that just pop out at you.

Catch a day trip to Capri or take a bus to the small town of Ravello.

You WON'T be disappointed with this area of Italy or with this hotel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the water so you won't be disappointed. If there are any problems th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £129 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing