We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful waterfront cliff-side views / good value”
Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2009

The hotel had very low occupancy when we visited, and we were able to get a prime room with great views of town, just a short (downhill) walk along the coastal highway. No fault of the hotel, but November seems pretty clearly to fall into the off-season, with about half the town's restaurants closed, and rain a regular threat.

Our room was very spacious, albeit with a dated "50's" feel to the decor. The one area that really needed improvement was the very blah breakfast buffet -- perhaps due to the low occupancy. Coffee machine instead of staff-brewed coffee was a turnoff. Front desk and breakfast room staff nevertheless were helpful and friendly.

Transportation tips: We were without car, but the (regional) SITA bus (toward Positano) stops right outside the hotel, so that's a good alternative to 10-minute walk back up the narrow cliff-side road to the hotel after wine & dinner. (Pick up the bus at the "town square" down by the water.) The hotel's advertised free shuttle into town does not operate after October. We found that the SITA bus system worked just fine for travel to Ravello, Positano, and Sorrento, and we could have easily taken it from our arrival train station in Salerno, but instead took the hotel-contracted driver service -- Gerardo; very pleasant -- for 90 Euros. He was helpful in getting us oriented to the area, as first-time visitors. (If arriving by train, go to Salerno - much closer than Naples.)

Dining tips: Hotel restaurant was closed for the season. We really enjoyed Locanda del Marinaio, across the street from Da Gemma, in town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Miramalfi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2009

Great location, beautiful scenery and views.
Hotel staff attentive and extremely friendly.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewis151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Location was magnificent. Every room has a balcony or terrace with beautiful views of Amalfi. Clean, pleasant and staff unobtrusive. Pool and sea were devine and convenient to get to from their elevator. They offer free shuttle in to town, or take the 10 minute walk. Look for the shortcut, steps going down before the first tunnel on the right. Suggest eating in town for dinner, a favorite & reasonable was San Giueseppe. Occassionaly try La Preferita across the street. Owner sings, great personallity. Loved those tamborines. Full delicious breakfast included at the hotel. When arriving by bus, stops directly in front of hotel. Inform the bus driver. Upon leaving , suggest you go in to town where the bus starts to get a seat or put your luggage on the bus. One day trip to Positano & Ravello or head to Sorrento, take bus. Have your camera ready. You do not need a car or want one on the Amalfi Coast. We enjoyed every moment at this 4 star clean hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeRubeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Small elegant hotel in great location. Fabulous views of water and harbour from balcony. Pool and sea access, just marvellous. Short walk to town, 10 minutes and hotel has shuttle bus. Ferry to Positano and Capri.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Excellent hotel with stunning views, great food and helpful staff - especially Gabrielle the barman. The position on a cliff side overlooking Amalfi is fantastic with views from every room. Food every night was excellent value (when you consider the £/euro exhange rate). All in all a great place for a relaxing holiday as well as a base to explore the Amalfi coast, Capri, Pompeii, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickxOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Miramalfi in the last few days of September. Spectacular position, just outside Amalfi (although a relatively easy walk in - or down should I say!). We had a standard double room which had spectacular views across the sea. Breakfast was good, again taken on a terrace high up overlooking the bay. There is also a lovely terrace bar overlooking Amalfi for a pre-dinner drink. All the staff were very helpful, especially the main barman who could not do enough. Great position, great views, good value.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harbottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Unbelieveable views, great restaurant and very friendly restaurant staff. The reception staff werent overally helpful but the rest of the staff were exceptional. Free shuttle to city was very useful and the pool and beach area wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family_travellerUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
648 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#18 of 29 in Amalfi
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £131 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing