We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK BUT”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Miramalfi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miramalfi Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK BUT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

It would have been extremly helpful to have a brochure in the room to explain the facilities provided eg restaurants, opening times, how TV worked and why it needed two handsets to work it, swimming pool arrangements, how to get outside line. One of the facilities (forget which) we only found out the day we left.

Their travel agent for trips hopeless. We booked one trip the day we arrived and told it was full, one other trip was not being run and one we booked was cancelled day before. Hotel then told us they could have used another firm they knew, but too late by then.

Excellent hotel with magnificent views and good food., but attitude generally was here we are providing fine views and good facilities, now you go and get on with it. ie poor customer service

More frequent shuttle bus would have been nice

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogmanLabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    218
    73
    42
    18
See reviews for
137
328
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

You cannot fault this hotel for its location, the views of Amalfi from balcony, bar, restaurant and terrace were amazing. Also the walk to and from Amalfi was not too much of a problem and I would agree with the other reviews about all of this. The rooms although dated were clean and with the view from the balcony and Amalfi and the region to explore you don't spend much time in the room. We were their on half board and unfortunately we cannot recommend the food or the service in the restaurant which is not the most organised or customer friendly we have encountered in Italy. However the restaurants within Amalfi provide the usual high standard of Italian cuisine. The service from all other areas of the hotel, bar, reception etc. were to the usual standard we expect in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Couple15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Travelled with organised tour (Page and Moy). Hotel excellent. Room comfortable. Towels changed twice a day. Food very good. Location a bit far out of Amalfi for less able walkers. (10-15 mins walk c200 steps up from the town) This is easily offset by the occassional shuttle bus and the excellent views of Amalfi and the coast - very picturesque. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, oh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

I agree with the previous post; the rooms are pretty dated but I have never been to Italy an hung out all day in my hotel room! The views from the room are great; you're right on the water, but the view from the dining room at breakfast makes it hard to leave; I don't think I'd ever get tired of it. Service was cordial. Only stayed here for two nights but no complaints. You can walk into Amalfi by squeezing along the road and it only takes about 10 minutes. Loved Amalfi!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellommg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2010

The view from the rooms is incredible, looking over Amalfi and the harbour to the north. Truly beautiful. We sat happily on the balcony as dusk fell and watched the boats returning to harbour and the lights in the town below coming on.

It's possible to walk to the centre of town in 10 minutes, though with the steps it's 15 minutes to come back and definitely not for the unfit! Otherwise, there's a bus stop directly outside the hotel to get you in to Amalfi, or even further on your way around the coast on the Sita routes.

The hotel room itself was very outdated now, with green wicker furniture and faded pictures on the wall. The television was awful with terrible picture quality - but yes, much better things to look at outside! The bathroom was similarly old, and the complimentary toiletries are a throw back to the 1970s, as photographed, with shampoo in a plastic sachet.

The room was not at all soundproofed, with noise coming from adjacent rooms above and on both sides - voices, tv/radio sound, water running and flushing, footsteps on tiled floors, and furniture being moved. The external shutters did however provide for total light blackout. The fridge had space for our own items (not the modern automated sort, obviously).

Breakfast on the terrace overlooking Amalfi is hard to beat, and helps illustrate why, despite the poor standard of accommodation, the hotel still rates so highly with us and others. The hotel's pool wasn't available when we stayed at Easter, it is only filled from May to October it seems. Dinner in the restaurant was limited to 7.30 - 9.00pm, so we ate elsewhere. Free wifi is available in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

The hotel had very low occupancy when we visited, and we were able to get a prime room with great views of town, just a short (downhill) walk along the coastal highway. No fault of the hotel, but November seems pretty clearly to fall into the off-season, with about half the town's restaurants closed, and rain a regular threat.

Our room was very spacious, albeit with a dated "50's" feel to the decor. The one area that really needed improvement was the very blah breakfast buffet -- perhaps due to the low occupancy. Coffee machine instead of staff-brewed coffee was a turnoff. Front desk and breakfast room staff nevertheless were helpful and friendly.

Transportation tips: We were without car, but the (regional) SITA bus (toward Positano) stops right outside the hotel, so that's a good alternative to 10-minute walk back up the narrow cliff-side road to the hotel after wine & dinner. (Pick up the bus at the "town square" down by the water.) The hotel's advertised free shuttle into town does not operate after October. We found that the SITA bus system worked just fine for travel to Ravello, Positano, and Sorrento, and we could have easily taken it from our arrival train station in Salerno, but instead took the hotel-contracted driver service -- Gerardo; very pleasant -- for 90 Euros. He was helpful in getting us oriented to the area, as first-time visitors. (If arriving by train, go to Salerno - much closer than Naples.)

Dining tips: Hotel restaurant was closed for the season. We really enjoyed Locanda del Marinaio, across the street from Da Gemma, in town.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

Great location, beautiful scenery and views.
Hotel staff attentive and extremely friendly.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewis151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.5 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramalfi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramalfi Hotel

Property: Miramalfi Hotel
Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramalfi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramalfi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramalfi Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing