We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Marina Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

very good hotel, great view from all rooms, but especially from the roof top swimming pool.big choice of fresh breakfast things, you can have all kings of eggs, also with funghi. ear-plugs are recommended like everywhere in italy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank velmciti-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    132
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
128
465
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Absolutely lovely place. We were upgraded to a junior suite because there was something wrong with the washroom in the original room that they had for us. We didn't even ask. It was just done. We had room 78 and in my opinion it's the best one in the hotel. The breakfast every morning was fantastic. A great variety. Loved the risotto balls. Great coffee and cappucino. Eggs made to order. Friendly staff. Loved the pool and the little bar in the pool area. You could have a beer and lay in the sun and Laio (sp?) would bring you potato chips with your drink. And the view from the pool. I felt like a millionaire the whole time there. Lots of great restaurants in the town and all are very close. Da Maria Trattoria Pizzaria, La Taverna Di Masaniello are 2 that stand out in my mind for great pizza and pasta. This is honestly the 1st trip that my partner and I took where I actually feel like I'm in mourning now that I'm home. The hotel and the town were both so charming and I can't wait to come back some day. It might not be for another 10 years because travelling from Canada to Italy can be pricy but we'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 78 was heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohearnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I can’t comment on whether there are better hotels in Amalfi as the Hotel Marina Riviera is the only one I’ve stayed at; however, the experience could not have been more delightful, the room more comfortable, the view more perfect and the staff, above all, more attentive and pleasant. Located adjacent to the beach (it’s a stone beach… the tides and small waves pushing the small pebbles up to form the major part making them comfortable to walk on, the larger stones remaining grounded underwater, which can make getting in and out a bit rough on tender feet; however, the overall experience is wonderful…the water cool but pleasant and generally calm making the swimming most excellent, especially for those who enjoy an extended workout…flip flops will help when the beach heats up in the afternoon) the hotel has a special discounted arrangement (5 Euros) to a private facility next to the public access part of the beach that provides comfortable lounges, toilet access, snacks and cocktails. The hotel serves a truly wonderful breakfast that can be enjoyed inside or out on their beautiful veranda overlooking the beach, harbor and town…the attentive staff guides you to the robust buffet and then follows up with a traditional menu, coffee, etc. Most walking in Amalfi requires steps up and down and the Marina Riviera is no exception; however, there is a small lift for the disabled or those too weary to walk up the few steps to the main reception desk. They also have a small but very nice pool…too small for laps but perfect for a quick cooling off and probably a welcome addition for families with young children. A steam room is also available next to the pool. Located on their third floor this facility is well managed by an attendant who will provide free umbrellas for shade and towels, and the deck affords a wonderful view of the coast and the town of Amalfi. For those who have opted for a non-sea view, bring your cameras to the deck…great shots abound. Situated just off the beach side promenade and a short 5-minute walk into the main plaza, the hotel’s location is just perfect. In my experience many hotels can be quickly sized up by the friendliness of the staff and in this regard you will not be disappointed. While we laugh at those tourists who spend the majority of their day running from bus to boat to visit adjacent and alleged “must see” destinations instead of enjoying the simple pleasures of the town they’re staying in, if you fit this former group you will find access to all the aforementioned transportation a short walk from the hotel. Our recommendation…take a long hike high above the town instead of joining one of these cattle cars, stop in one of the minor plazas for a late lunch to avoid the constant rush past those situated adjacent to the Duomo, schedule a late dinner at one of the many excellent restaurants in town and finish the evening with a drink in the lobby of the Hotel Riviera Marina. You won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room had a nice view of the beach, harbor and town, which was all we required. The large window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great hotel ,excellent location, staff could not be more helpful. Small suggestions: More choice of fruit would be much better for breakfast (2 choices of melon does not constitute a choice of fruit)',tissues in the bedrooms essential, a ledge of some description in the shower for toiletries, soap etc. a necessity and hooks in the bathroom for the robes would be helpful. Loved it really but just short of 5 for these reasons

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room but it would appear most rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago and loved it. All the staff from the front desk to the servers to the housekeeping staff were so friendly and welcoming. We had a standard room that was very comfortable, clean and large in size. The bathroom was ok and the shower was just ok. The internet service is spotty, but much better if you go to the lobby area. The daily breakfast was included in our rate and it was very good. The location of this hotel is just a short walk to the downtown area where we enjoyed some very nice dinners and shopping opportunities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We travelled as a family to Amalfi last Summer for a wedding. Mom, Dad, a 6-month old and a 2-year old. We were at Marina Riviera for 4 days - from the moment we stepped in the door until we left, we were taken care of, and made to feel at home, every step of the way.

If we're ever in Amalfi again, although a little pricey, we will definitely stay here again. Well worth the extra $$$'s.

We had our 2 children in and out of the pool a fair bit and the water was a touch cold - that was literally the only un-enjoyable part of our stay. That, and outside of the pool, there really wasn't a lot of activities, at the hotel, for kids.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, or want to treat / stretch yourself a little, stay in the Amalfitana Suite - w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Initially we drove right past the hotel on the spectacular coast road, but after looking around properly we found it and were welcomed into the delightful entrance and the lift up into the peaceful and charming reception/lounge area. (They do offer parking in a multi-storey just up the road - get a form from the hotel first and you then pay €20/day up front at the car park itself.)

Three of us stayed in Room 86 here, which had its own small but perfectly adequate covered balcony with views out to see and into town. We arrived on the first day of opening for the season, so one or finishing touches were being applied and the pool heating wasn't up and running until the day after our arrival, but as we hadn't even known the pool was heated, that was not so much an issue, more an unexpected bonus.

The roof terrace and pool were lovely. Panoramic views, our daughter wouldn't leave the pool which with the heating can be used in mid April, and a helpful feature to have at your disposal, particularly if you're travelling with kids.

Breakfast was included and was something to look forward to. Delicious, made-to-order eggs, great breads and a different selection of fruit and pastries each day along with the usual cereals, cold meats, cheeses and some veg (e.g. roasted peppers that went a treat with mozzarella and my egg on toast). It is served on a generous terrace offering great views in three directions. You can sit inside if you prefer, and this area can be used in the evening as well, with hot and cold drinks service available at very reasonable prices (for Italy).

The room was charming, not huge, but not cramped at all with a good bathroom with bath and walk-in shower. Included a safe and plenty of storage room. TV selection limited (hardly the be all and end all, but with active days and an 8-year-old child, we enjoy putting a film on sometimes before bed). The balcony and views as mentioned above made it special. The room was probably the weakest part of the stay and it says a lot about how much we enjoyed the hotel as a whole.

The hotel's quirky structure and beautifully lit corridors and staircases added to the charm, but what I think made the difference - and made Hotel Marina Riviera such a relaxing stay - was the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff. And I say all - service was consistently given with a smile and you felt nothing was too much trouble, at any point. That said though, the location is wonderful - so close to the town yet not too busy and with wonderful views up or down the coast. It's hard to pinpoint individual factors that made us feel so warmly about the hotel - as an overall package it was just so pleasing.

All three of us loved staying here and recommend it to anyone travelling to the Amalfi coast. Of the three places we stayed in on our trip, it's this one upon which we look back most fondly.

Room Tip: Can't comment on other rooms, but our room (#86) for 3 (one double, one single bed) was what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kungfujoe98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Property: Hotel Marina Riviera
Address: Via Pantaleone Comite 19, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing