We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Marina Riviera
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for 9 nights and loved every bit of the hotel. Were greeted on check in with a quick overview of the area which was helpful and then had drinks and fruit in the room. Views from room and hotel in general were stunning. The staff were very helpful and attentive to all needs.
Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room with balcony is worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    137
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
134
490
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Marina Riviera for 3 nights in May. It was a treat to stay at such a wonderful hotel with such friendly and accommodating staff. We stayed in a Deluxe suite and the room and bathroom were very spacious and comfortable. We also had a lovely balcony overlooking the Amalfi coast. Everything was very clean and inviting. The staff was very helpful in helping us plan our day and helping us figure out how to get to where we needed to go via bus or ferry. We also met many of the other guests, who were all very friendly. Many were repeat visitors of the hotel. The breakfast of pastries, fruit, cereals, yogurts, meats, cheeses and made to order eggs was exceptional. Our stay could not have been any better at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

First room we were in (I believe it was 81) was quite unimpressive for the money. No foyer area so bed right there when you open the door. At the end of a corridor so not much guest traffic but through the walls we could clearly hear staff chatting as they passed by. Fabric on headboard had multiple stains on it. I shudder to think what they might be from. Wifi was almost nil. 15 minutes to go from one page to another so really frustrating.

We might have resolved to tolerate the situation as the view was gorgeous and we didn't expect to spend a ton of time in the room. That said, when we saw our friends' room, which was a free upgrade to a suite, we approached the front desk with our concerns. They explained our friends were upgraded due to a plumbing issue with their original room. They did not offer us a similar upgrade despite suites being available the entire duration of our stay. We were given the option to move down the hall (room 71 I believe) once it was serviced that day. We did so. It was a big improvement; cleaner, larger, brighter than previous room, and wifi worked great. Door to room opened to a short hallway with bathroom and closet first, with bed furthest from door. Opposite design of first room. Much better, quieter, and a larger balcony which was nice. Bathroom huge by European standards. Bed comfortable and no stains on headboard!

Nice conveniences in room like robe, slippers, minibar, safe.

Breakfast was pretty good, though fruit selection was minimal. Pastries and cappuccino were wonderful.

Pool deck was lovely but access closed at 6pm. When we attempted to take elevator up after 6, it was though it was stuck at the lobby level floor. Took us a few minutes to figure out that the pool must be closed explaining why elevator wouldn't go up to pool deck. A sign to that effect would be helpful.

Absolute best feature of this hotel was the view. The property itself has the feel of a 3.5 star hotel. It's not in a good location for anyone with mobility issues as the short walk to the town centre is on a sharp curve of a narrow road without sidewalk most of the way. If that's not an issue then I'd say location is wonderful.

Staff were all really nice. Always smiled and said hello. I forgot my purse at my table one morning and the older gentleman working there came running after me to give it to me. All of the desk staff were really pleasant including the young woman who switched our rooms. However it was a disappointment not to be upgraded when our first room was unacceptable, for the inconvenience of moving, and knowing they had upgraded our friends to a suite as there was a problem with their original room. It would have been an easy thing for them to do that would have bumped up my overall rating to a 4, and my service rating to a 5. A missed opportunity from a customer service perspective.

Room Tip: Avoid room # 81 for reasons outlined in this review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelJaneRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great 4-star hotel. It faces the center of Amalfi and its nice beaches.
Breakfast is very good, especially its location - a porch at the top floor, facing the west and viewing Amalfi.
Some tips about the area:
A. Park your car and pay 20 Euros per day (the cheapest found) in parking spots near Lido Azzuro restaurant (BTW, this restaurant sits just on the sea water). Mainly for seafood lovers.
B. Try Scorzeite al Limone at Pasticceria Andrew Panza in the center of Amalfi. Home made lemon and orange, covered with chocolate. Taste just excellent.
C. Villa Cimbrone in Ravallo - A MUST visit. The porch with the statues is outstanding. Entrance fee - 11 Euros. Open 9am to sunset.
D. Sentiero degli Dei (Footpath of the Gods) - A MUST. A path at 500-600 meters/yards above sea level, of length 6.2km (~4 miles), with magnificent views. About 2 hours with no stops. Several picnic tables are located along the path, so you can bring your meal and enjoy the landscape.
Very helpful information and maps of the route can be found at www.giovis.com.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the shores of Amalfi - it has just an excellent view (a must see!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmirU71799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Spend 5 nights at the Marina Riviera this May in a deluxe room. Location of property is amazing! Deluxe room included a balcony overlooking the coast and was worth the price upgrade. Room was spacious and clean. Room included slippers, robes, safes, minibar with fridge, ample toiletries, free Wi-Fi for multiple devices, etc.

Rate included breakfast which was combination of fruit, pastries, cereals, yogurts as well as meats and cheeses and made to order eggs. Did not dine at the restaurant on site. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Very knowledgeable about area and different day trips and activities.

Pool located on roof with the same stunning Amalfi coast view. Full bar and food available for purchase with lounge chairs, sauna, shower and heated infinity pool.

Arranged car transport from the Naples hotel directly to the property via the hotel. Rate of 120 euros in a Mercedes sedan. Worth the expense. Scenery driving the 100 minutes or so from Naples is breathtaking.

Walking distance (5 minutes) to town of Amalfi with lots of shopping, restaurants and gelato as well as the ferries to other cities (including Positano and Capri) and buses. Suggest taking the ferries since the bus often are crowded. Different in price is less than 5 euro.

Highly recommend this property. Worth extra euro for the view and the balcony.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

very good hotel, great view from all rooms, but especially from the roof top swimming pool.big choice of fresh breakfast things, you can have all kings of eggs, also with funghi. ear-plugs are recommended like everywhere in italy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velmciti-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Absolutely lovely place. We were upgraded to a junior suite because there was something wrong with the washroom in the original room that they had for us. We didn't even ask. It was just done. We had room 78 and in my opinion it's the best one in the hotel. The breakfast every morning was fantastic. A great variety. Loved the risotto balls. Great coffee and cappucino. Eggs made to order. Friendly staff. Loved the pool and the little bar in the pool area. You could have a beer and lay in the sun and Laio (sp?) would bring you potato chips with your drink. And the view from the pool. I felt like a millionaire the whole time there. Lots of great restaurants in the town and all are very close. Da Maria Trattoria Pizzaria, La Taverna Di Masaniello are 2 that stand out in my mind for great pizza and pasta. This is honestly the 1st trip that my partner and I took where I actually feel like I'm in mourning now that I'm home. The hotel and the town were both so charming and I can't wait to come back some day. It might not be for another 10 years because travelling from Canada to Italy can be pricy but we'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 78 was heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohearnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.7 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Riviera

Property: Hotel Marina Riviera
Address: Via Pantaleone Comite 19, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#4 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marina Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Riviera Hotel
Marina Riviera Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing