We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!!”
Review of Lidomare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lidomare Hotel
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2008

we loved our stay at The Lidomare Hotel, Amalfi, we arrived late the fist night after an exhilarating coach trip along dramatic coastline. we were met by Carlos from the hotel who led us away from the drop-off point up a twisting turning route which we never believed we would find our way back from! To the hotel which was everything we had hoped for and more, we had the most gorgeous seaview with balcony, the room was huge with lovely antique furniture, the bed was superbly comfortable. And when we left the hotel to look for food that first night we found how central it actually was!! the main street just minutes away and easy to find really if you trailed a piece of string behind you!! The whole stay exceeded our expectations, Amalfi and surrounding area is breathtaking to the extreme, the weather was great, the pizzas rolled on forever, my husband was happy, what more could a girl ask for?? I would totally recommend Amalfi and The Lidomare Hotel to anyone who wants a holiday just slightly different and maybe more authentic than the Costas, etc. We will definitely be going back probably next year and to The Lidomare as long as we get the same room!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnPeelMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2007

The WORST PART about our stay in Amalfi for our honeymoon!
The staff was very kind and always waiting for you with a smile, but the room was a NIGHTMARE. Just big enough to fit a double bed and 2 suitcases, the white, scuffed-up walls looked like they hadn't been tended to in decades. There were ANTS in the bathroom and little WHITE WORMY-BUGS in the extra blankets! The hotel was booked up and wouldn't offer us another room...they just said they would take care of the ants and get us another blanket. I wanted to cry and I dreaded going back into the room. When we returned, we were smothered by the smell of RAID, our blanket was gone, and they changed our duvet cover to a grimy, STAINED, torn duvet that smelled like it came out of someone's garage. Also, they offered no discount for our trouble and only took $13 Euros off our bill when we paid in cash. NOT ANYTHING LIKE THE WEBSITE or the beautiful rooms there....stay away and find something else!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmieyHappyMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2007

We booked the Lidomare through a Thomson's package deal and were very happy.

Like other reviews posted about this hotel it is worth investing a little time beforehand in getting a sea-view room as the others that we saw in passing looked comfortable albeit a little poky.

The location is fantastic, the air-con really made a difference to our comfort and the hosts were genially accommodating. Breakfast was lavish in Italian terms but my partner found the rolls a little too stale for her liking.

Cannot fault it except the air-con tripping out in the middle of the day once or twice, otherwise we were always glad to return there from our excursions.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DarrenGarside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2007

From the moment we arrived at Hotel Lidomare we were greeted with a smile and such a friendly manner. We'd had a long journey and it was lovely to arrive to such a pleasant place. The staff were friendly and helpful all throughout our 5 day stay. The room was cool, clean and bright with an amazing view over the harbour. It was cleaned everyday by the housekeeping staff and they replaced everything down to the showercaps. The only thing upon booking. If you want a sea view room with a balcony you need to request it as some of the rooms over look the small piazza at the back. We had done so which I feel greatly enhanced our experience. I will definitely be returning to Amalfi and the Lidomare Hotel. It was a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cushlaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Lidomare for one week on our Honeymoon. Initially we were disappointed with the small room, with no view, as we know that some of the hotel's rooms are enormous. We were told that despite requesting a nice room for our Honeymoon, this is not a viable reason to be upgraded and a sea view room costs extra.

After the initial problem with the room, the rest of our stay at the hotel was lovely. The staff are efficient and friendly, our room was cleaned every day with the towels replaced and you can't beat the location.

If we were to go back to the area, which we would love to, we would stay at the Lidomare again but make sure we booked a room with a sea view....these seem to be the bigger rooms.

Lastly, if you are staying for longer than a few days you may get tired of the Continental breakfast which is exactly the same every day

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank natd09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Room offered was small dark and the furniture grubby. The breakfast lacked imagination & several members of the party including ourselves ate in local excelent cafes to add variety to the breakfast. We were there as part of a tour group and were made to feel as though we were a nuisance being there. I gather that the rooms varied in standard. Amalfi was an attractive place and well worth a visit just find another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welltravelled60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Lidomare
The hotels website makes it look as if you will enjoy a spacious room with a lovely balcony I must say the travel agent brochure suggested the same. Our room was No.52 a dark dingy room at the back of the hotel which looked onto a stone wall with run down balconies from another property. The hotel was spotless and all the advertised facilities were good. Make sure you know which room you will be occupying before you get a shock. The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Amalfi .

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank Ban HamishLondon England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#26 of 29 in Amalfi
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#29 of 29 in Amalfi
296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#14 of 29 in Amalfi
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel la Bussola
Hotel la Bussola
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#24 of 29 in Amalfi
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lidomare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidomare Hotel

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini 9, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidomare Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Lidomare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidomare Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing