We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelsior Grand Hotel - Prego...the views are worth the journey:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Excelsior Grand Hotel - Prego...the views are worth the journey:)”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Amalfi coast region (even over Tuscany region) is particularily beautiful as are the views from this hotel. We had a room with balcony on the top floor approx mid building which offered an unobstructed view of the sea and coastline below. If you are prepared to be accepting of the fact this is an older hotel then do not hestitate staying here. Breakfast was on the open terrace and dinner inside overlooking Amalfi town itself..very romantic!... My wife and I drove down from Rome and were able to park at the hotel..(tip- rent a very small car- we had a Fiat 500- lovely)....staff were friendly and more than accomodating and quick to assist ....plan on taking the free shuttle into Amalfi as opposed to driving as there is very limited parking near the town or beaches. Be careful on the road; anticipate the oncoming car or bike coming around the corner on the wrong side and you'll do fine...in warmer temps anticipate long lines of cars and slower progress...We were able to travel around to Sorrento, Positano and had no problems..Took a bus to Pompei and climbed to the top of Mt Vesuvius overlooking Naples....fantastic time....should you have any questions please feel free to contact me...we will return to Italy...next time Sicily:)

Tramper

Room Tip: go with top floor corner room...pool opens later into May
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tramper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    373
    155
    72
    68
See reviews for
172
609
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

First, the view from our room's balcony was worth the cost of admission...There's nothing that I've seen that quite compares...and I've traveled extensively. The trip on the winding roads through Positano up the mountain to our hotel in Amalfi was breathtaking...although frightening at times. The bus drivers really know what they're doing there and have a great judge of distance. It was October so we didn't use the pool at the hotel but it looked amazing and was quite large...We were there three nights and the meals were nicely prepared and there was a nice variety to choose from. We loved Amalfi and are talking about going for a month when we retire. The only negative which applied to most hotels we stayed at in Italy...is that the mattresses are terribly hard. If you've got back problems you're going to feel it on those mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jojo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We traveled to Amalfi as part of a semi-escorted tour. Definitely enjoyed this hotel, even tho it had dated decor and a miniature tv, we couldn't help but get up early to watch the sunrises over Amalfi, or spend time on the outdoor terrace bar for drinks, and gaze at the sea and town before our return to Rome. Located high on the mountainside (all the old rooms without sea views have been shut down), every room has a scenic view. The front desk staff all spoke excellent English (one is an American)--extremely helpful and accomodating for extra towels and pillows; as the weather had been cold but turned warm again our room needed help to keep cool and the staff were able to locate a great fan to help us sleep at night. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom, bed comfortable, the shuttered window doors and balconies terrific. There is a free wifi internet spot near the lobby, and one free computer to use if you didn't bring a laptop.

The shuttle bus helped us do our tours of Amalfi without paying for taxis, though there are some missing hourly return times that would have been appreciated (especially on the one day it rained forever). Food was OK, but not a highlight of the hotel. We were particularly surprised one evening when we missed the early seating and were brought into the bar until supposedly a table might open up; we were kept there for at least 40 minutes while other couples in our tour group were seated as we watched them get their dinners. No explanation from the wait staff, and we felt treated like poor relatives. The following day we had a long wait before our bus came to take us back to Rome and went to sit on the terrace; when we stopped by the bar to see if they would let us have glasses with ice since we had brought some bottled water with us, they refused even though they knew we had just spent a couple of days at their hotel and restaurant.

Nevetheless, we would consider staying there again, just not eating at the restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far side of the hotel away from Amalfi do not have views as good as those closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tigerseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Hotel is in a beautiful location with stunning views.
Reception and all other staff are pleasant, helpful and professional.
It is not by any means a modern hotel; the decor is quite quirky! Everywhere is clean and tidy.
Our room was spacious and clean with a lovely L shaped balcony.
We made use of the convenient and regular shuttle bus to Amalfi and the beach.
The breakfast was fine and evening meals mostly good but only average on a couple of occasions.
We walked to the little village of Pogerola a few times for a change of scenery - this takes about 10-15 minutes.
Our holiday here was lovely and I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing break with fabulous views.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suef29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Hotel has good sized rooms ,friendly staff and excellent views of the Bay.However its a great shame its not operating to its full potential and needs improvements .We stayed at half board for 2 nights and menu was limited to ordering from menu of 3 boring choices. Quality of food was very average -had better breakfasts at cheaper 3*. As the beach is very far, small and closed in Oct, hotel could really benefit from doing small Buffets, a Fitness /suana room etc or some type of entertainment etc .Couldn't even have a soak in the bath as water was very lukewarm and complaint to reception had no results. As its far up the hills away from the town - not really ideal to go to town centre for dinner at nights as need to rush back for shuttle or risk 40 Euro taxi back !

Room Tip: Higher floors better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oct11traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel deserves a 4 star rating as service was excellent from staff at front desk to bar and restaurants. The views are spectacular from rooms facing the coast and from lounge areas.
Shuttle to and from town runs conveniently every half hour. Rooms were clean and spacious with balcony facing town and sea. Enjoyed the meals as menu had nice choices each day there was an excellent variety of wines from Amalfi coast and Sorrento area. Dinner had a few courses but main course was a little skimpy if you have a hearty appetite. Stayed here 2 days and would return. A good base to explore villages of Amalfi coast as bus service is inexpensive and allows you to enjoy the views as a driver navigates the switchback, narrow hillside roads.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from doors to stairways/elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel is 15 mins away from main amalfi market.Bus service available by hotel.Food not good at all.Rooms clean with breathtaking views.Reception staff very helpful.Except food everything above par.Also visit villa ruffalo at ravello,dont visit sorrento its waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guddi7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
985 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing