We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I think this is our 24th visit to The Excelsior.
Over the years the hotel has got better and better.
A friendly family run business with charming staff.
The food is very good and typically Italian. Delicious pasta with non creamy sauces and excellent meat and fish. A good choice of desserts
The swordfish, grouper, scorpion and bream were very tasty and moist. Beautiful Roast beef veal and turkey were fantastic.
Contrary to a previous report the Wi-Fi was available in reception and there is also a hotel laptop for guests to use. The courtesy bus is free and there is also a Sita bus from the hotel to Amalfi at E2.5.
The sunrises while we were there were amazing as was the pool. Refreshing after a day out in the sun with hot showers both around the pool and in the cloakroom area.
Although we went at the end of the season the hotel was still busy but never gave the impression of being crowded.
Josette our Thompson representative is the best we have ever met. She really works hard to make your holiday the best it can be in this beautiful part of Italy

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. It is a beautiful place, full of character. Every room has a fantastic view over the sea.
Our room and adjoining bathroom were well equipped, clean and comfortable. We went half board and the food was excellent both the breakfasts and the evening meals.
The staff were all very good. They were welcoming, friendly, efficient and all helped to make our stay extremely enjoyable.
I know that some people have criticised the furnishings and suggested that the hotel should be refurbished. We rather liked the furniture and, particularly, the decor and the beautiful ceramic tiles. I hope that if the owners do decide to refurbish the hotel, they keep the character of the place.
If you like a very modern hotel that looks as if it could be any hotel, anywhere in the world or if you want exactly the sort of food you would get in the UK, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you want a charming Italian hotel with good food, beautiful views and friendly, helpful staff then I would recommend the Excelsior Grand Hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JScott371987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Have recently returned from a one week stay at The Excelsior Grand Hotel Amalfi, 7th-14th October 2013. The location was breathtaking. A room with a beautiful sea view. The hotel was very clean and all the staff could not do enough for us. A special mention has to go to Giovanni the Restaurant Manager who did an excellent job and all his lovely, helpful staff. Also Antonio (Mamma Mia!) who was also very cheerful and helpful. We can understand when talking to the guests why they return year after year. Home baked bread, cakes and pastries but to name a few choices on the breakfast menu. Excellent. Hope to return again another year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Law1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The location and views from here are absolutely stunning, our room was in a sort of annex which was away from the main building. We thought this was going to be a problem, however it turned out good and we were very happy there. The staff were friendly and helpful and the dinner on the terrace was excellent. Pool area and pool were also very spacious and well set out with great views over the sea. Free scuttle bus to the town ran regularly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald and Barb... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel is located high above Amalfi town and has great views. The good news ends here. The hotel has not been renovated since the 70s? - no wifi, no entertainment, grumpy bar staff and not convenient if you miss the hotel's complimentary shuttle bus. Stay closer to Amalfi town

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently travelled to amalfi italy. We stayed at the Excelsior Grand Hotel. The staff there is amazing and couldn't do anything more to make our stay enjoyable. What a view from the rooms!! Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The spectacular view was the best part of my 4 night stay at this hotel. Continental breakfast was adequate. The room was large with a terrace. Unfortunately it must have been fly season so I was unable to take advantage of the outdoor spaces. Travel to town required taking the shuttle or city bus service. I had dinner only one night at the hotel. The food was nothing to rave about and the service was lacking.

Note~. Watch your step entering the breakfast room. For some my eyes didn't pick up the step and I almost fell. A traveller in my group did fall and the staff did not even come to assist.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the countryside and harbor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £115 - £1,060 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing