We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Splendid Time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Excelsior Grand Hotel in Amalfi exceeded all our expectations. The large comfortable rooms with elegant and generous sized bathrooms were comfortably furnished. The location is extraordinary. Perched on the hills overlooking Amalfi, the hotel is a real treat. Despite the many interesting things to see and do in the area, we couldn't resist taking one whole day to sit by the pool overlooking the magnificent seacoast. The Staff bent over backwards to be accommodating, especially the maître d' in the restaurant who, by the second day, knew everybody in our party and greeted us like old friends. Speaking of the restaurant, the breakfast was superb and very generous. We ate two dinners at the hotel and both were delicious, though I would be careful with the fish dishes, which did contain many bones. To get to the hotel, there was a shuttle bus leaving precisely on a published schedule. Otherwise, one had to take a taxi. Hotel provided beach umbrellas and cabanas free of charge, although we did not take advantage of this. There is a large and friendly bar, and ends we were there during the soccer games it was fun to meet there and watch the fans go crazy. All rooms seemed to have terraces with great views. I recommend the grand Excelsior Hotel in Amalfi.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank outtasighte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    361
    144
    68
    63
See reviews for
164
583
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in the Amalfi area. Hotel provides a shuttle to the city centre and their private beach. Rooms are small but clean and the view is truly breath taking!! The breakfast is a little lacking and the coffee was not very good but overall acceptable. Pool area is very nice and the snack bar offers a great lunch variety..Private beach is a must at this hotel. I would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's a worry-free experience. We are seniors and having someone look for you at the airport with a drive to the hotel and back to the airport by experienced bus drivers knowing every inch of those cliffs is outstanding. The hotel provides buses all day to and from Amalfi which takes about 10-15 minutes. It's a place to meet people from around the world and from Amalfi. The staff get to know what you like, how long your going to be there, where you like to sit in the dining rooms, answer any questions about where to go and who to see to get there and do it in English. We could walk around lemon trees on the cliff, see tiny gardens growing basil outside our room balcony. We could wake up to a rooster crow or an donkey somewhere, we could not see them. We walked from the hotel one day down the 1000-1500 steps(we didn't count them but others have) steps down the cliff to Amalfi for another adventure. Saw a goat herd coming down the mountain. The 50 year old hotel is bright, clean, pretty, comfy, organized, and overlooked the sea and cliffs. The halls need some replacements, paint etc. but I wasn't living there, we just needed a safe and clean place to eat and sleep and friendly people to deal with and we got that in spades. We stayed there for a week and took tours from there. Such a wonderful part of the world to discover!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have access to the sea view but you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jack506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

spent a week here in June, we were in a garden room, I'm sat here now thinking of one bad thing i could write, and i can't, the best staff ever encountered on a holiday, lovely food, always something for everyone, yes the breakfast is the same each day , what a surprise, its like that the world over i think these people leaving bad revues better not go on a foreign holiday again , how can you complain when you wake every day to that view, oh and people saying they must ask for a sea view ALL rooms have balcony / terrace with a sea view, i think people just complain for the sake of it, hahaha glad they were not sat next to us , would definitely return

Room Tip: Any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martinbrooks40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

the hotel is situated at the top of the cliff with views from every aspect of the building. There are many stair and step, it is the Amalfi, however there is a lift which accesses all floors. It has an faded splendour which I felt added to its charm but it would benefit from a bit of a refurb. We stayed in room 109, it was very nicely furnished with quality old furniture. The balcony was more than adequate, only downside no table and the deck chairs didn't lend themselves for meals or evening drinks to soak up the views. However the staff arranged to have a small coffee table and a chair brought to the room. The courtesy bus was brilliant with regular hair raising journeys, taking you to the private beach and to Amalfi town, starting early morning until 22.45pm from town. We visited the private beach once it was clean and the coffee/snack bar had adequate menu. However the beach is pebbly, the incline into the sea was quite difficult to cope with therefore we went to the beach in town as it was flatter and sea more accessible, both beaches were the same price.One major issue is the location with regard to sun - the pool doesn't have any sun after about 4pm and the balconies similarly, therefore if going out and want to spend the last few hours of the day lazing by the pool to relax you will not have sun. The views are absolutely amazing wherever you are in the hotel and to eat dinner on the balcony each night was wonderful. The Maitre d , Antonio, makes the hotel such a pleasurable place to eat, everyone is special and he went out his way to ensure that we hade the table we wanted each night, he is the face of the hotel! Although not the owner he conducted himself as if it was his he is an amazing professional who makes the stay enjoyable. We went with Thomson's, half board and the young a la carte waiter tried to segregate us to another table as there are different sections for the types of dining. We refused on the grounds that we had paid for the holiday as in the Thomson details no mention of this discrimination, however Antonio jumped to our rescue and ensured that we had the table we wanted. Thomson rep was not aware of this and assured that she would indeed deal with this matter. Whilst there take the bus to Cetara, which isn't on the usual tourist route, it is quite delightful and has various fish restaurants, try their famous salted anchovies (alici). We ate at Aqua Pazza which was good value and great food. Take a boat journey to see the coast as it is possibly one of the most dramatic coastlines to be seen. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and I hope this review is useful.

Room Tip: Choose main building and rooms 104 - 110 as they are well placed for all amenities .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well I went here with another couple and we were given a garden suite room with two levels even though we did not request one. This hotel like many along the Amalfi coast has incredible views so that is the half star.

Pros: Views
Walking distance to cute little village of Pogerola
Hotel shuttle
Decent amount of English speaking TV stations


Neutral: Food for dinner and breakfast
Pool; not very big

Cons: Location; pretty far from Amalfi
Tiny bathrooms

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLAS313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was like another world being up so high above the township at the Excelsior, and for that reason it had a very safe feeling. The view is just stunning. You quickly adjust to the fact you need to catch a free shuttle bus to a private hotel beach ( e 10.00 each but worth it we felt) or to the township, with a beach too (but one still has to pay the same for deck chairs and umbrellas there). The decor is a bit dated as others have said , and not In a really great way , but the room and balcony were the most spacious we have found anywhere in Italy, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. One of the down sides was that the internet does not work in individual rooms, only the communal areas and they had the football on the TV in the bar a lot, which some people loved. There are all sorts of large spaces to hang out here, all with views. The pool looked fine but the sun left it from 4.30pm so that wasn't ideal either. But the breakfasts were excellent , the deserts and cakes the best ever , the evening meals were also pretty good and the waiters humorous and friendly . The restaurant is an absolutely gorgeous place to sit and eat , on the balcony so high up, overlooking the ocean and the village. A very happy restaurant situation here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing