We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A great hotel up on the cliffs with amazing views from all rooms. I stayed here for 2nights. The rooms are large and comfortable, however a little shabby around the edges...we had loose tiles on our floor, however they were fixed the day after we notified the hotel staff. The breakfast was good, but the views made it better. There is a free regular shuttle service down to the town centre. There is a nice pool.

The only negative I would have is that they advertise a private beach, but upon check in inform you that it is 10euro per person per day to use the beach! Also, one morning we woke up and it was raining slightly....although the rain had stopped, we were informed that the beach was closed! Very disappointing considering I had come all the way from Australia!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank livetotravel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here on a half board package arriving late at night after a very long journey. The coach trip(s) from the airport took 2 and a half hours. I guess we should consider ourselves fortunate that a meal was waiting for us. However, this consisted of an astonishing cold breadcrumbed and fried rice burger! This was served at room temperature with oiled vegetables. Yuck.
Breakfasts were delicious and consisted of buffet fare. Evening meals varied whilst pasta starters were consistently very good. The maitre d' employed a failsafe pleaser. He remembered my name as the lead passenger (and bankroller) and greeted me personally and my daughters ecstatically at every meal.
The hotel is caught in a timewarp. The last refit I would say at a guess took place mid 1970s. However, in itself this is not a problem as it lent a certain charm and atmosphere.
Out triple bedroom was very large and furnished interestingly! We had wonderful views from the balcony. In fact, balcony views throughout the hotel including public areas were uniformly beautiful.
A shuttle bus was provided to transport guests into Amalfi town. Additionally there was a local bus service. The town is charming and provides a hub to various transport links serving other places of interest.
Being a sickly old bird I spent some days at the hotel whilst my daughters went off on adventures. Not wishing to amplify my lizard like complexion this afforded me the opportunity to truly experience the public areas. All well and good except that urges for a cup of coffee had to be curbed as this involved a walk down three flights of stairs then back up again. No waiter service in the lounge areas during the daytime.
For all of this, I would say that we still had a great time. The hotel was welcoming and had a real charm. I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our family of 5 stayed here 2 nights at the end of June. Hotel is perched right up on top of the cliff overlooking Amalfi town and bay down below. There is a free shuttle bus down to the town and also hotel private beach. We were greeted by an American girl at the reception desk on arrival who was very friendly and very informative. We did have to wait for a little bit for our room to be ready but this was hardly a chore as we sat outside admiring the view and soaking up the sun. Staff in dining room were extremely friendly and helpful and good fun especially at night. Sitting outside to eat looking at the view was fantastic. Pool is not huge but we weren't really there long enough for that to be a problem. Only downside would be our room. As a family of 5 we were given one of the garden suites (2 level) a bit further away from the main building. Unfortunately we found the rooms small and the shower cavity tiny. There was a lovely little garden to sit in on the bottom level but I do think we would have probably preferred two rooms in the main hotel. Unfortunately this was probably our worst room on our whole Italy trip BUT still a beautiful hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I purchased to garden room, split level. The shower was extremely small, hard to use as you couldn't turn around in it. The tub was not clean enough to use. The bedroom was too small to even put luggage in so I had to keep it downstairs. The air conditioning made so much noise that it kept us awake the first night and the bed cover was not clean. As a result of this, we asked to be switched to a different room. The front office reception told us she would check into it and get back to us. She never did. The noise level here is very loud, making it difficult to relax. You can hear your neighbors even as they talk softly and the hallway noise was very bad. The customer service here is very poor. They never tried to resolve our situation and they handled our conversation very unprofessionally when we checked out the next day. My husband asked to speak to a manager but we never did. We booked another hotel even though we did not get our money back. I was under the impression this was a 4 star hotel. There is nothing 4 star about it except the view and the food. The view is very nice and the wait staff/food was good but not excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hotel views are great and food and food service was average. The "best" 2 story rooms were horrible as very small, shower was clogged, tub wouldn't hold water and AC made terrible noises. When we asked the first day for another room, they couldn't believe it and said they would ask manager the next AM. When we asked another person the next morning, they said we had the best room and couldn't believe we slept with AC on?! We were so unhappy after no sleep our first night, that we moved hotels and they couldn't believe it, gave us dirty looks and also gave no refund as we booked 4 nights and only stayed 1 night!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peckie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Excelsior Grand Hotel as part of a package holiday booked through Tempo Holidays. Considering the age of the hotel it is in great condition overall. Had a 1970's James Bond feel to it! The views from our room or anywhere around the hotel were fantastic and we could not fault the staff or the food. The breakfast was better than other places we had stayed in. The Hotel offers a bus down to Amalfi and the private beach throughout the day. We did not go to the private beach as it was 10 euros each, but we found the pool area was pool area was lovely and the snack bar offers a great variety of food and drinks. Unfortunately we only spent two nights there but it would be a great place if you wanted to base yourself somewhere for a few days to either explore the area or do nothing but relax and enjoy the views. Wifi was only available in the lobby and lounge areas or by the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Excelsior Grand Hotel in Amalfi exceeded all our expectations. The large comfortable rooms with elegant and generous sized bathrooms were comfortably furnished. The location is extraordinary. Perched on the hills overlooking Amalfi, the hotel is a real treat. Despite the many interesting things to see and do in the area, we couldn't resist taking one whole day to sit by the pool overlooking the magnificent seacoast. The Staff bent over backwards to be accommodating, especially the maître d' in the restaurant who, by the second day, knew everybody in our party and greeted us like old friends. Speaking of the restaurant, the breakfast was superb and very generous. We ate two dinners at the hotel and both were delicious, though I would be careful with the fish dishes, which did contain many bones. To get to the hotel, there was a shuttle bus leaving precisely on a published schedule. Otherwise, one had to take a taxi. Hotel provided beach umbrellas and cabanas free of charge, although we did not take advantage of this. There is a large and friendly bar, and ends we were there during the soccer games it was fun to meet there and watch the fans go crazy. All rooms seemed to have terraces with great views. I recommend the grand Excelsior Hotel in Amalfi.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank outtasighte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#7 of 29 in Amalfi
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#8 of 29 in Amalfi
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range: £116 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing