We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL : DREADFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL : DREADFUL”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

After reading all the reviews on this hotel: some good; some not too good, I came with an open mind.

That said, I found the view from the hotel wonderful and that was about it.

Absolutely dreadful staff.... no customer service skills whatsoever. Very aggressive if you merely mention the slightest thing. They were absolutely awful.

Pool area totally crammed...inches apart from the next lounger. Only four sun umbrellas in total. So if you want to feel like a sardine...this is the place for you.

Food: nothing to write home about. Same menu every day and wasnt that good.

As for the hotel...it was clean but in desperate need of updating. Old and tatty furniture looking aged and worn.

Would I stay here again or recommend it? Never! Dreadful place.

If the hotel ever reads these reviews please please please take note and invest in some customer service training for you staff...your staff ruined the holiday!!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    369
    155
    70
    66
See reviews for
170
602
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at the Excelsior for a great week's holiday. Antonio the head waiter was very pleasant and great for knowledge of the area. Food was excellent, swimming pool was deep and a good size for a swim. Hotel is at the top of the hill so access is via free hotel bus that runs every 45 mins or you can take the 1000 step walk down the hill to Amalfi which is fun if you like a walk. We would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChazMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

If you want the best views in Amalfi, this is the place to go. Yes it is a bit dated in places but overall this helped to create a good atmosphere. There are plenty of areas to enjoy the view, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I have notices plenty of positive comments about Antonio the Maitre Di and we have to agree. He put a smile on your face every time you arrived for a meal, and he seemed to know every guests name.
Do yourself a favour and book in for the cooking class at the nearby restaurant run by Gino and Lucia. They pick you up and drop you back after a wonderful experience of helping to prepare the meal and then enjoying it as well. Overall a good genuine experience at this spectacular hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank irwin263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was lovely I believe it is one of the highest in Amalfi, the room was basic but nice and clean with the balcony doors opening out to the view of the Mediterranean. The pool area was lovely and the dinning room very spacious. I was dissapointed with the dinner. The breakfast was very ordinary the scramble eggs were powdered shocking for a hotel. The staff were very friendly and the young gentleman on the bar downstairs was very nice and friendly. Great place to stay they really need to pick up their act on the food. The restaurant supervisor was very efficient.

Room Tip: To go into town they have a courtesy bus otherwise it would mean waiting for a bus each day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa, ontario,canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Perched high on the hill top, our first impression was amazement. The views are great from the restaurant, terraces, pool, etc. I liked the character of the hotel, with it's 70's-like furniture, it's bar, the beautiful tiles, etc. The pool was great, as it was very hot when we were there, and a swim was very refreshing!
We were on the 100 level, below the main lobby. We did have a sea-view, but a little
obscured by some trees and an elevator, which appeared to be going to a level even lower than us, but perhaps in a different building. You do hear roosters very early, the occasional dog barking, and church-bells ringing.....all very nice and relaxing!
Some of the negatives....definitely needs a refurbishment...some carpet very worn, cute lamp fixtures have no shades (2 in our room) much rust around tub and shower, etc....Both room and public areas.
A big negative was the non-existent air-conditioning in very hot weather. Many conversations with the front desk about this. Very difficult to sleep! The room was always very hot, no matter what!
Secondly, we did not enjoy the food, and although we had pre-paid for breakfast and dinner, we ended up eating dinner elsewhere at least a few times. Not much choice with the dinner menu, food often cold, vegetables very mushy, etc. The staff during the meals very friendly and attentive.
Another negative is that there is a small fridge in the room, but you cannot put anything of your own in the fridge, as the note by management says that if you do, fridge will be removed! We are in Italy, and bought a bottle of white wine for the room, always to be served warm. Also bought some extra soft drinks, but had to be strategic as to when you can put it in the fridge. Asked the bar for ice one day, but couldn't do it. It has to be through room service, at a cost of 2.5 Euros.(frustrating)
Liked the hotel shuttle bus. Like I said, as a whole, very nice, friendly staff. I don't think I would stay here again, but loved my trip to Amalfi!

Room Tip: You may not have a choice...of course the higher you are the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel and had a great time. The pool is gorgeous so we didn't even bother with the private beach. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful especially the waiting staff and bar staff under Antonio the Head Waiter who knows everyone's name! I don't agree with the negative reviews about the food either, we enjoyed all manner of fish and home made pasta dishes. The views are out of this world. Of course if you are looking for Egyptian cotton bed linen and a sunken bath and pretentious waiters then you will be disappointed; however if you just want a genuine unpretentious Italian hotel with a slightly kitsch and nostalgic air then go here - you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had garden a garden room away from the main hotel so didn't experience the rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just few words - once you decided to be in Amalfi, this is the place! Quite away from the noisy center, having a free regular connecton to it and the beach! An unforgetable view from the room, the bar terrace and the reastaurant one! Easy and regular boat service from downtown connecting Amalfi to Positano, Minori, Majori, Capri, Salerno..... What else?

Room Tip: Everyhing ending on 19!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SofiaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#11 of 29 in Amalfi
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#6 of 29 in Amalfi
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Grand Hotel

Property: Excelsior Grand Hotel
Address: Via Papa Leone X | Locality Pogerola, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amalfi
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil Hotel set in cliffside enclave surrounded by trees, directly above hotel's private beach on the rugged coast far below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Grand Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Amalfi
Hotel Excelsior Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing